We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
KTDC Tea County Munnar
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2008

After a truly horrible drive from Cochin we were delighted to arrive at Tea County just in time for lunch. The rooms were clean and spacious, a bit tired looking, but there was a verandah overlooking the valley and well kept gardens with lots of flowers. Unfortunately we arrived on Dec 31st and although we had pre-booked through a travel agent, the staff tried to tell us we had to pay extra as it was New Years Eve. We refused and they eventually backed down.
They do not serve spirits and the wine was corked and undrinkable so we had beer and fruit juice. The entertainment that night was some people doing bhangra dancing which was actually very good but the music was SO loud we couldn't stay in the room, especially as we had young children with us. We asked if we could eat in the dining room upstairs even though we had to collect our food from the buffet downstairs and they eventually agreed. We weren't the only ones up there!
The food was OK and the staff very polite if a bit vague, and service is very slow.
It is a lovely setting and easy to walk into the town. Just avoid New Year!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magenta44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

747 - 753 of 770 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2008

We left one weeks in india and it 's the hotel only one where we were very discontented. We reserved a deluxe room and we had a room with view on a kitchen garden.We disadvise very hard.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank david13722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2007

Hello,
I had just 1 week to plan a 2 day holiday at Munnar, and after some online research decided to try "Tea county". I called up the reservations and was helped with one "Abhilash", who was helpful. The daily rates worked to 4500 + taxes (5150) which included bed, breakfast and dinner (for standard room).
I checked in little late 4:30 PM, and the first thing I liked was the accessibility. It's 10 min walk from the city centre - making to dining and shopping comfortable.
Negatives:
1.) Noisy room heater.
2.) Electric panel above the bed was loose (In India the mains are 220V).
3.) No ceiling fan in room.
4.) The food at the restaurant was "Pricey". They had a very poor dessert selection. Found better lunch (lunch wasn't covered in the package) options at Mahaveer - Veg restaurant opposite to tea county.
5.) Shampoo and toiletries provided weren't good.
6.) No Wifi / internet in the room.

Positives:
1.) Location
2.) Very courteous and responsive staff - slept one evening and someone from the restaurant called the room to check up whether we'd be having dinner (pleasantly surprising).
3.) View from the room - I was allotted a room on the 1st floor and the view was great ...

I traveled with my wife and we enjoyed the visit, hopefully we will stay there again.

- Kartr

Stayed: November 2007
4  Thank Kartr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2007

KTDC government establishment. Great location, excellent reasonable restaurant with amazing view.

Good hotel, in remotish location.

Prices from basic low season 3500 INR to deluxe double 6000 INR...MAP so food included.

43 Rooms, health club, tepidarium, conference halls, restaurant, massage, billiards and other amenities.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lambert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2007

We stayed in Tea County in February 2007 for our honeymoon. Though we liked the location and not to forget the beauty of Munnar and the weather, the rooms provided were not too imppresive. We have booked a honeymoon package from KTDC which included Munnar, Kumarakom and Kochi. The hotel was overbooked and we were not able to change the rooms, since we had a package deal we were not comfortable in changing the hotel altogether. So I suggest one should check out the rooms before taking it. The buffet food was served cold most of the time. Overall I do not agree with the 4 star rating.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Anubhav_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2006

My husband and I just returned from India, where with 7 other family members we stayed for three days two nights at the Tea County Resort in Munnar.
It was a little oasis. Above the hustle and bustle of the town of Munnar, looking over the mountainside covered with tea plantations. Nestled in the clouds.
We stayed in a Deluxe Room, more like a small cottage room with private balcony. Sitting there sipping an early morning cup of tea, was just heavenly.
We had an all inclusive package with Lunch and Dinner. The meals were adequate, not wonderful but acceptable. Choice was limited.
The Hotel was kept very clean and the garden surrounding the Hotel with inset rose bushes was very pretty. It would have been nice if the grounds had been more spacious to allow walking.
We engaged a Driver ahead of time, which in my opinion is an essential. He took us to the Eravikulum National Park and the Mattupetty Dam and Lake where we took a short speed Boat ride.
My only negative was the 5 hour drive from Cochin which was truly awful. If only the infrastructure was improved! However this is India! If you can overlook the drive the stay at Tea County resort and discovering the sites nearby are well worth the trip.
I hope this review is helpful, I would be happy to answer any questions which come under the scope of my experience.
Barbara

12  Thank Beamtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank ILdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerteac0unty, Manager at KTDC Tea County Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
4.2 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 15 in Chithirapuram
1,109 reviews
3.7 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
13.3 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#2 of 8 in Pothamedu
771 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Fog Resort & Spa
The Fog Resort & Spa
#1 of 15 in Chithirapuram
897 reviews
3.6 mi away
Misty Mountain Resort
Misty Mountain Resort
#4 of 9 in Pallivasal
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KTDC Tea County Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KTDC Tea County Munnar

Address: Colony Road near Govt. Guest House, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Munnar
#6 Family Hotel in Munnar
#7 Romantic Hotel in Munnar
#8 Spa Hotel in Munnar
#11 Luxury Hotel in Munnar
Price Range: $85 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — KTDC Tea County Munnar 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint cottages, fragrant tea gardens and mist-draped mornings are hallmarks of Munnar. For years the cool and picturesque town of Munnar was the summer retreat of the British and it still retains the charm of a colonial past. The destination is home to the only sandalwood forest in Kerala and is also famous for its exotic flora and fauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your KTDC Tea County Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ktdc Tea County Hotel Munnar
Tea County Munnar
Tea County Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing