We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
KTDC Tea County Munnar
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed November 12, 2007

Hello,
I had just 1 week to plan a 2 day holiday at Munnar, and after some online research decided to try "Tea county". I called up the reservations and was helped with one "Abhilash", who was helpful. The daily rates worked to 4500 + taxes (5150) which included bed, breakfast and dinner (for standard room).
I checked in little late 4:30 PM, and the first thing I liked was the accessibility. It's 10 min walk from the city centre - making to dining and shopping comfortable.
Negatives:
1.) Noisy room heater.
2.) Electric panel above the bed was loose (In India the mains are 220V).
3.) No ceiling fan in room.
4.) The food at the restaurant was "Pricey". They had a very poor dessert selection. Found better lunch (lunch wasn't covered in the package) options at Mahaveer - Veg restaurant opposite to tea county.
5.) Shampoo and toiletries provided weren't good.
6.) No Wifi / internet in the room.

Positives:
1.) Location
2.) Very courteous and responsive staff - slept one evening and someone from the restaurant called the room to check up whether we'd be having dinner (pleasantly surprising).
3.) View from the room - I was allotted a room on the 1st floor and the view was great ...

I traveled with my wife and we enjoyed the visit, hopefully we will stay there again.

- Kartr

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Kartr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    298
    90
    20
    12
See reviews for
319
227
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2007

KTDC government establishment. Great location, excellent reasonable restaurant with amazing view.

Good hotel, in remotish location.

Prices from basic low season 3500 INR to deluxe double 6000 INR...MAP so food included.

43 Rooms, health club, tepidarium, conference halls, restaurant, massage, billiards and other amenities.

  • Liked — Government run, lots of things to do and services, great restaurant
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lambert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2007

We stayed in Tea County in February 2007 for our honeymoon. Though we liked the location and not to forget the beauty of Munnar and the weather, the rooms provided were not too imppresive. We have booked a honeymoon package from KTDC which included Munnar, Kumarakom and Kochi. The hotel was overbooked and we were not able to change the rooms, since we had a package deal we were not comfortable in changing the hotel altogether. So I suggest one should check out the rooms before taking it. The buffet food was served cold most of the time. Overall I do not agree with the 4 star rating.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Anubhav_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2006

My husband and I just returned from India, where with 7 other family members we stayed for three days two nights at the Tea County Resort in Munnar.
It was a little oasis. Above the hustle and bustle of the town of Munnar, looking over the mountainside covered with tea plantations. Nestled in the clouds.
We stayed in a Deluxe Room, more like a small cottage room with private balcony. Sitting there sipping an early morning cup of tea, was just heavenly.
We had an all inclusive package with Lunch and Dinner. The meals were adequate, not wonderful but acceptable. Choice was limited.
The Hotel was kept very clean and the garden surrounding the Hotel with inset rose bushes was very pretty. It would have been nice if the grounds had been more spacious to allow walking.
We engaged a Driver ahead of time, which in my opinion is an essential. He took us to the Eravikulum National Park and the Mattupetty Dam and Lake where we took a short speed Boat ride.
My only negative was the 5 hour drive from Cochin which was truly awful. If only the infrastructure was improved! However this is India! If you can overlook the drive the stay at Tea County resort and discovering the sites nearby are well worth the trip.
I hope this review is helpful, I would be happy to answer any questions which come under the scope of my experience.
Barbara

Helpful?
12 Thank Beamtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
4.2 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#3 of 14 in Chithirapuram
866 reviews
3.7 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
5.6 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 14 in Chithirapuram
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
528 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#1 of 14 in Chithirapuram
945 reviews
3.6 mi away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KTDC Tea County Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KTDC Tea County Munnar

Property: KTDC Tea County Munnar
Address: Colony Road near Govt. Guest House, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Munnar
#7 Romantic Hotel in Munnar
#7 Luxury Hotel in Munnar
#8 Family Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — KTDC Tea County Munnar 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint cottages, fragrant tea gardens and mist-draped mornings are hallmarks of Munnar. For years the cool and picturesque town of Munnar was the summer retreat of the British and it still retains the charm of a colonial past. The destination is home to the only sandalwood forest in Kerala and is also famous for its exotic flora and fauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your KTDC Tea County Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ktdc Tea County Hotel Munnar
Tea County Munnar
Tea County Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing