We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday at Camelot”
Review of Camelot Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camelot Resort
Ranked #55 of 97 Hotels in Munnar
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“Holiday at Camelot”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Camelot Resort :
We reached Munnar by 3pm and since this place was around 11km from Munnar, finished the lunch in East End Hotel in town and left to the resort. Road was narrow and goes through the tea plantations. The view on the way was beautiful but I was a bit impatient as it took some time to reach the resort. The last 1.5kms is not tarred and for sure a bit scary for inexperienced drivers. Though the owners have taken every effort to maintain the road, I was worried as the ground clearance of my sedan was quite low ! Finally the board came which said the resort was 600m and then the fun started. It was an uphill almost 30+ degrees with some turns. They have the boards which say to use first gear only !! Even after so many years of driving, I was scared for a moment in the last 150m as it was quite steep. At last reached the resort without any surprises(using first gear:)).
The location of the resort is very good. It is on top of a hill. I would call it a home-stay rather than a resort. The owners also stay there in a separate house. Place is clean and neat. Weather was also nice as it had rained couple of hours before. The owners were quite friendly and were taking care of all the guests. The temp was quite low around 15 or so that night. The room was in a good location and the view of the tea estate outside was nice. Was a bit disappointed with the size of the room. Ventilation was very poor. For the price paid, I expected slightly bigger room with better ventilation. For longer duration it could be a problem but since our stay was only 2 nights, we managed. The deluxe room in the website looks quite spacious but actually a lot smaller. There was a small indoor games area and there was carrom, foosball and TT. I think it is good enough for kids to spend time.

The buffet breakfast next morning was good. There were around 3 to 4 options and that should be sufficient for a south Indian :) Taste was fine. Went for a small trek to the hill top next to the home-stay with the hosts. View was awesome from the top of the hill. Hosts were again friendly and did their best to manage 3 to 4 different families. There was an echo point nearby and we went there as well with their guidance. It was a perfect trek for families. After that we went to see some places around Munnar. It did not take long to realize that we had chosen the wrong dates for the visit. There were lot of people in the town and every place was crowded due to the long weekend. Roads were narrow and vehicles were parked on the road which resulted in traffic jam in most of the places. Though we wanted to go to top station but We decided to go back to the resort and relax because of the traffic jam. Also felt that the view on the way to the resort was better than most of the tourist places ! Came back to the town and had lunch in Silver Tips hotel around 1km from Munnar town. Good buffet lunch and Was surprised at the price as it was very reasonable for a tourist place.

Came back to the resort and this time drive was not that tough :) Stopped at many places near the resort and took some photos. No traffic jams or people around to disturb. Relaxed in the room watching TV and also spent some time outside. I enjoyed sitting in nature with no disturbance of any sort. It was calm and the view of hills covered by cloud was superb. Food at night was average and service was as usual very good. Food prices were slightly more I felt, but the drinks were definitely on the higher side. May be this is how they discourage people from drinking :)

Overall a good place with nice people, service and an excellent location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi_Blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Sims, General Manager at Camelot Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for the detailed review about your stay at Camelot Resort. Your comments are nice and encouraging. We will improve the areas which needs so. Thanking you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    31
    10
    10
    11
See reviews for
47
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Camelot resort is not a resort but a homestay for it makes you feel like you are staying at home :-). This property is purely for nature lovers and not for those who want to stay close to the city. It is a beautiful place perched on the hill which offers you the most scenic views and very lovely and affectionate hosts. It was a quite comfortable stay with food being cooked fresh on our order. We completely enjoyed our stay here. Special mention to the couple Dileep and Seemed who were very kind to trek along with us to different view points and made us feel very comfortable in every possible way :-) I still remember the taste of fresh strawberry juice made from freshly plucked organic strawberries fro their garden!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spry_2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Sims, General Manager at Camelot Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Camelot Resort which is ensconced in nature's arms. You are always welcome to Camelot Resort again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2014

It was beautiful and very nice eperience with camelot resort. Infact I extended my stay after looking at the place and ambience. The staffs are really loveable and caring. especially Mr&Mrs Dileep are so kind and service oriented.

The entire staff members are well trained and experienced.The personal trekking experience assisted by camelot staff is one of the most beutiful moment and lovable experience.

people who wanted to stay away from their routine life and if you are nature lover. Please don't miss this place.

Worth visiting this place if you want to stay close to nature, if you love trekking, if you love adventure, if you want to stay calm, if you want to relax with good weather condition, if you want to enjoy your personal time with your partner, if love to have good food (home made like)...etc

I wish I am going there for my next holiday. In fact my wife wanted to visit this place one more time this year. But I couldn't make it due do my tight schedule.

Memorable time spent.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sivagurukrishna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Sims, General Manager at Camelot Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your beautiful review and we are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful time at Camelot Resort Munnar. It is always an encouragement for us to read good reviews from satisfied Guests like you. We will be very happy to welcome you and family at Camelot Resort again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed at Camelot in early January. We thought we were getting luxury accommodation due to the cost ( very expensive for India ) but unfortunately it was pretty basic. The bus arrives in Munnar and from the town its a 14km ( 30 minute and 300 rupees ) jeep or car ride to get up the mountain to Camelot. We had no idea the road would be so awful and poor to travel on so we first tried it when the bus arrived at 10pm with a rickshaw. The hotel owner usually meets you at the bottom of his 1km long drive each time apparently but we didn't know this. We got stuck halfway up due the lack of good road! The only way you can get up or down to the town is by car/jeep and your bounced around all the way and pay 300 rupees for the pleasure.
The room was very basic and cold and we were told we had to pay extra for a heater.
The breakfast was super basic compared to everywhere else we stayed for MUCH less.
If you want to add lots more money onto your trip in Munnar then stay at Camelot. Very inconvenient and not worth the cost. I recommend the EastEnd Hotel in Munnar..We went there for lunch and didn't want to leave and bump my way up the hill!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Addicted2India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Sims, General Manager at Camelot Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
At the outset we regret the inconvenience caused to you during your trip to Camelot Resort Munnar. However we would like to inform that most of the Resorts in Munnar are situated at a distance of minimum 10 to 40 kms from the town. And all the resorts have their own unique speciality. At Camelot Resort the speciality is that it is situated on one of the highest peaks in Munnar and is surrounded by tea, coffee and cardamom plantations. It is purely in Mother Nature's arms. Most of the guests visiting Camelot Resort Munnar, come by their own vehicles and those who do not, inform us in advance, for conveyance. We have already informed our Food production and Service staff regarding the remark on our food. Normally we have very good reviews about our food quality. However once again we regret the inconvenience. Suggestions and comments always makes us strive for better and quality service to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
93 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Camelot Resort is run by a husband and wife team. The resort is approx. 11 kms away from the main centre and is spread over a huge area of beautiful green land. The resort has a couple of Deluxe rooms. 4 Luxury rooms and 4 super luxury rooms. Honestly I felt the view from the Luxury rooms was the best. The super luxury rooms are near the kitchen area and it can get a little noisy at times.

The food at the resort is quite good and the rooms are nice and comfortable. Nothing too fancy but more than adequate.

My only suggestion would be to improve the speed of service. Although we were the only ones in the resort the service was very slow and everything took more than half an hour to get including basic things like toast for breakfast or coffee.

Room Tip: The luxury rooms on the higher floor have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heminbharucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Sims, General Manager at Camelot Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
We appreciate your feedback about Camelot Resort Munnar. At Camelot Resort we take all the suggestions and comments from our Guests at face value as we believe in constant improvement for quality services. We have informed our Team at Camelot Resort regarding your suggestion and we are sure to give our best service to our Guests. Our entire Team has only one motto and that is to have a happy Guest. We would like to welcome you and family to Camelot Resort Munnar again during your next visit to Kerala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This was long overdue and I wish that I possessed the eloquence necessary to describe the amazing experience that Camelot Resort Munnar, Kerala, India provided on our honeymoon from 24th to 28th January 2014. This is one of those rare occasions when there just aren't enough words to capture the beauty and magic of a place and its people.

When planning for our honeymoon, my dashing hunk fiancé, at that time, wanted to have our very first honeymoon somewhere surrounded by nature. After many research he decided that we should spend our honeymoon here in this resort. At first I was wondering where on earth is this place and is he making the right decision, this is our honeymoon we’re talking about – lots of questions were baffling in my mind. I wasn’t at all happy in the beginning but I tell you the truth everything change from the moment we arrived until the farewell it was truly remarkable. My husband and I had the most incredible honeymoon and now, we’re already talking of future visits. I’m telling you the views were out of this world--we just couldn't get enough of them!

Camelot was exactly what we were hoping to find for our honeymoon. It was a relaxing, secluded resort that was unspoiled by tourism and population which is becoming so rare these days and we got all that we wanted plus more. We even had the privilege of having some precious time with the owners, Dileep Pottamkulam and his lovely wife, Seemee Dileep in two separate occasions as they welcomed us with open hands including their staff that was so friendly and treated us as if we were royalty. It was so refreshing to be surrounded by such lovely people and an amazing, magnificent breathtaking view.

Of course, there's the food... just incredible! From the breakfast choices to exquisitely prepared lunches and dinners, exceeded our expectations. The talent and preparation in the kitchen is just superb, and you can tell that they love what they do by the quality of the food that they put out.

It was indeed a honeymoon to always be remembered and talked upon! We had a wonderful time and we know you would too. Give them a try

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoba V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Sims, General Manager at Camelot Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your beautiful feedback. It means a lot to all of us at Camelot Resort. We are delighted to learn that you had a memorable Honeymoon at Camelot Resort. Our real investment lies in wonderful guests like you. We would be eagerly looking forward to your next visit to Camelot Resort Munnar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We are a family of 4 who stayed in camelot, munnar for a day. We stayed in 2 rooms, both with a view to die for. We picked this place after going through the reviews on trip advisor and we could not have made a better choice. The staff and the owner of the place are very welcoming and friendly people and the quality of service of that we received was fabulous. This should be everybodies first choice when they are visiting munnar.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MruKamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Sims, General Manager at Camelot Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments for Camelot Resort. We would recommend that you stay minimum 2 nights to enjoy the bounty of nature. We welcome you and family at Camelot Resort again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
2.4 mi away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Fog Resort & Spa
The Fog Resort & Spa
#4 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
2.8 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#3 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Abad Copper Castle Hill Valley Resort
3.2 mi away
Tea Harvester
Tea Harvester
#6 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Resort

Property: Camelot Resort
Address: Munnar P.O. | Idukki Dist, Munnar, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camelot Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awesome view point and echo point inside the property, wonderful trekking trails inside tea and coffee plantations. Situated amidst nature, away from the hustle and bustle of the town. Organic fruits and vegetables farming, shuttle badminton court, free parking and accommodation & food for drivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Camelot Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing