We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place for Nature Lovers”
Review of Camelot Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camelot Resort
Ranked #50 of 97 Hotels in Munnar
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Amazing place for Nature Lovers”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

It was beautiful and very nice eperience with camelot resort. Infact I extended my stay after looking at the place and ambience. The staffs are really loveable and caring. especially Mr&Mrs Dileep are so kind and service oriented.

The entire staff members are well trained and experienced.The personal trekking experience assisted by camelot staff is one of the most beutiful moment and lovable experience.

people who wanted to stay away from their routine life and if you are nature lover. Please don't miss this place.

Worth visiting this place if you want to stay close to nature, if you love trekking, if you love adventure, if you want to stay calm, if you want to relax with good weather condition, if you want to enjoy your personal time with your partner, if love to have good food (home made like)...etc

I wish I am going there for my next holiday. In fact my wife wanted to visit this place one more time this year. But I couldn't make it due do my tight schedule.

Memorable time spent.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sivagurukrishna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Sims, General Manager at Camelot Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your beautiful review and we are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful time at Camelot Resort Munnar. It is always an encouragement for us to read good reviews from satisfied Guests like you. We will be very happy to welcome you and family at Camelot Resort again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    33
    10
    10
    12
See reviews for
54
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed at Camelot in early January. We thought we were getting luxury accommodation due to the cost ( very expensive for India ) but unfortunately it was pretty basic. The bus arrives in Munnar and from the town its a 14km ( 30 minute and 300 rupees ) jeep or car ride to get up the mountain to Camelot. We had no idea the road would be so awful and poor to travel on so we first tried it when the bus arrived at 10pm with a rickshaw. The hotel owner usually meets you at the bottom of his 1km long drive each time apparently but we didn't know this. We got stuck halfway up due the lack of good road! The only way you can get up or down to the town is by car/jeep and your bounced around all the way and pay 300 rupees for the pleasure.
The room was very basic and cold and we were told we had to pay extra for a heater.
The breakfast was super basic compared to everywhere else we stayed for MUCH less.
If you want to add lots more money onto your trip in Munnar then stay at Camelot. Very inconvenient and not worth the cost. I recommend the EastEnd Hotel in Munnar..We went there for lunch and didn't want to leave and bump my way up the hill!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Addicted2India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Sims, General Manager at Camelot Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
At the outset we regret the inconvenience caused to you during your trip to Camelot Resort Munnar. However we would like to inform that most of the Resorts in Munnar are situated at a distance of minimum 10 to 40 kms from the town. And all the resorts have their own unique speciality. At Camelot Resort the speciality is that it is situated on one of the highest peaks in Munnar and is surrounded by tea, coffee and cardamom plantations. It is purely in Mother Nature's arms. Most of the guests visiting Camelot Resort Munnar, come by their own vehicles and those who do not, inform us in advance, for conveyance. We have already informed our Food production and Service staff regarding the remark on our food. Normally we have very good reviews about our food quality. However once again we regret the inconvenience. Suggestions and comments always makes us strive for better and quality service to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Camelot Resort is run by a husband and wife team. The resort is approx. 11 kms away from the main centre and is spread over a huge area of beautiful green land. The resort has a couple of Deluxe rooms. 4 Luxury rooms and 4 super luxury rooms. Honestly I felt the view from the Luxury rooms was the best. The super luxury rooms are near the kitchen area and it can get a little noisy at times.

The food at the resort is quite good and the rooms are nice and comfortable. Nothing too fancy but more than adequate.

My only suggestion would be to improve the speed of service. Although we were the only ones in the resort the service was very slow and everything took more than half an hour to get including basic things like toast for breakfast or coffee.

Room Tip: The luxury rooms on the higher floor have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heminbharucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Sims, General Manager at Camelot Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
We appreciate your feedback about Camelot Resort Munnar. At Camelot Resort we take all the suggestions and comments from our Guests at face value as we believe in constant improvement for quality services. We have informed our Team at Camelot Resort regarding your suggestion and we are sure to give our best service to our Guests. Our entire Team has only one motto and that is to have a happy Guest. We would like to welcome you and family to Camelot Resort Munnar again during your next visit to Kerala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This was long overdue and I wish that I possessed the eloquence necessary to describe the amazing experience that Camelot Resort Munnar, Kerala, India provided on our honeymoon from 24th to 28th January 2014. This is one of those rare occasions when there just aren't enough words to capture the beauty and magic of a place and its people.

When planning for our honeymoon, my dashing hunk fiancé, at that time, wanted to have our very first honeymoon somewhere surrounded by nature. After many research he decided that we should spend our honeymoon here in this resort. At first I was wondering where on earth is this place and is he making the right decision, this is our honeymoon we’re talking about – lots of questions were baffling in my mind. I wasn’t at all happy in the beginning but I tell you the truth everything change from the moment we arrived until the farewell it was truly remarkable. My husband and I had the most incredible honeymoon and now, we’re already talking of future visits. I’m telling you the views were out of this world--we just couldn't get enough of them!

Camelot was exactly what we were hoping to find for our honeymoon. It was a relaxing, secluded resort that was unspoiled by tourism and population which is becoming so rare these days and we got all that we wanted plus more. We even had the privilege of having some precious time with the owners, Dileep Pottamkulam and his lovely wife, Seemee Dileep in two separate occasions as they welcomed us with open hands including their staff that was so friendly and treated us as if we were royalty. It was so refreshing to be surrounded by such lovely people and an amazing, magnificent breathtaking view.

Of course, there's the food... just incredible! From the breakfast choices to exquisitely prepared lunches and dinners, exceeded our expectations. The talent and preparation in the kitchen is just superb, and you can tell that they love what they do by the quality of the food that they put out.

It was indeed a honeymoon to always be remembered and talked upon! We had a wonderful time and we know you would too. Give them a try

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoba V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Sims, General Manager at Camelot Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your beautiful feedback. It means a lot to all of us at Camelot Resort. We are delighted to learn that you had a memorable Honeymoon at Camelot Resort. Our real investment lies in wonderful guests like you. We would be eagerly looking forward to your next visit to Camelot Resort Munnar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We are a family of 4 who stayed in camelot, munnar for a day. We stayed in 2 rooms, both with a view to die for. We picked this place after going through the reviews on trip advisor and we could not have made a better choice. The staff and the owner of the place are very welcoming and friendly people and the quality of service of that we received was fabulous. This should be everybodies first choice when they are visiting munnar.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MruKamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Sims, General Manager at Camelot Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments for Camelot Resort. We would recommend that you stay minimum 2 nights to enjoy the bounty of nature. We welcome you and family at Camelot Resort again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

My girlfriend and I picked this place after we went through the reviews on trip advisor. We flew into Kochi airport and after stopping over at the travel agent closer to 2 PM, drove straight to Camelot resort. It was a good 5 hour drive through ghats and road was mix of decent and no so decent quality. We reached Munnar closer to dawn and headed towards the resort, which is pretty far from the city. Our driver wasn't really familiar with this place so he stopped few times and there are barely any houses on the way. The street was narrow, winding and it turns into pretty much wide enough for one car with two way traffic. About a kilometer from resort the street turns into gravel and steep. About half kilometer from the resort the road gets really narrow and about 40% steep which means if there is car coming down from the resort, you're completely hosed.

The resort has one building and probably about 4 independent units. We stayed in the building and the view was terrific. Mountains on all sides and one side of the building has tea plantations as far as the eye could see. They had close to 10 employees for a facility of just 16 units. I believe 2-3 guys were just taking care of the grounds. The kitchen had 2-3 guys and so on. Overall, these guys were extremely friendly and responsive. It was a memorable trip.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, pick the independent unit. If not, ask for rooms on the top floor farther away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChandraHosamane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Sims, General Manager at Camelot Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for cherishing your stay at Camelot Resort, Munnar. Your satisfaction is our delight and motivation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We traveled to the resort on 15th February,2014,as part of a trip from our college. We reached by around 7.00pm after an adventurous journey through the beautiful tea gardens of Munnar. Dinner followed. Campfire and dance and fun... after the dinner was the highlight of the night. It ended by 1.00am. Trekking was on cue early morning the next day. We could witness a beautiful sunrise in the valley covered with the chill of the place. Also, we plucked fresh strawberries right from the garden.Then we had the chance to buy goodies from the resort's own shop. Unfortunately, we had to travel back due to time limitations from college. Else, we would have loved to stay. To summarize, a beautiful place which you wouldn't want to miss,if you were in Munnar...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S6CSBeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Sims, General Manager at Camelot Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your beautiful comment and we are delighted to learn that you really enjoyed your stay at Camelot Resort Munnar. Even though there were time constraints, we also had a great time with your group, especially the morning trekking and the marvellous view from the view point. We will be much pleased to welcome you with your friends / family at Camelot Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
2.4 mi away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
383 reviews
5.6 mi away
Season7, The Nature Resort
Season7, The Nature Resort
#7 of 14 in Chithirapuram
118 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 14 in Chithirapuram
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Tea Harvester
Tea Harvester
#6 of 14 in Chithirapuram
180 reviews
1.2 mi away
Deep Woods Resort
Deep Woods Resort
#22 of 97 in Munnar
320 reviews
4.1 mi away
Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Resort

Property: Camelot Resort
Address: Munnar P.O. | Idukki Dist, Munnar, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camelot Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awesome view point and echo point inside the property, wonderful trekking trails inside tea and coffee plantations. Situated amidst nature, away from the hustle and bustle of the town. Organic fruits and vegetables farming, shuttle badminton court, free parking and accommodation & food for drivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Camelot Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing