We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visited during last week of december - very bad experience”
Review of Camelot Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camelot Resort
Ranked #50 of 97 Hotels in Munnar
bangalore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“visited during last week of december - very bad experience”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Very very poor in the way you compiled this over the last weeks..this is how I see this.

Stay : during last week of dec
Booking mode: makemytrip
Stay: 2 nights

Location:
Camelot is situated around 12 kms from Munnar town. Only 4 wheelers can take the steep plain to reach this “hill-top” resort. If you take an auto(if one agrees to take you there), you should have to get down and walk for nearly 100-200 mtrs so that the auto can steep through the slope. It is really steep, untarred road amidst the trees. Autos charge around 250-300Rs to this place from the town (1 way). Cabs around 500Rs(1 way).
Resort is nicely situated overlooking the hills. It is a very good experience to stay around the place overlooking the tea plantations and the various hills around.

Food:

We are non-vegetarians and ardent food lovers having tasted multiple cuisine. So we do have a craving for good food. Moreso, this was our first trip to kerala, so we were craving for good authentic kerala food. When we reached the resort, we were told that the resort offers the best food in Munnar. Now, this is what happened. We were provided with breakfast as a part of the package. Decent thing about it is - Food is fresh but is churned out from one small , congested , cramped kitchen. COST of the food, we just had one lunch, one dinner and one breakfast. and let me explain the food quality - Lunch had sour chappatis , onion pakoda ( 200 per plate) had bad oil . Dinner - had chicken fry. the only good about it was the plate they served and the polythene wrap it had, else, it was not chicken kabab , it was bone kabab. Rice and Dal was ok, cause people just cant spoil these dishes even if they want to. Message to friends – AVOID having food in the resort.

Rooms:

Well planned rooms. Not many as of now, reckon there around 16 of them. However I may not say it as cozy. It is cramped for space. Some rooms are situated in the right places so pick the right rooms if you got a choice. Again, depends on the rating of the room chosen (paid for). No wifi is available. No calls to outside world either. Only BSNL network works (just works in some places of the resort). Water flow is regulated although fitted with gas water heaters. Most rooms have a balcony overlooking the plantations and hills. There is sufficient space around the rooms to walk and enjoy the surround if you needby. Resort is truly Green in that way with trees, plantations around. Clean and nicely maintained by the staff.

Value for money:

There is no value for INR  Felt it is more for non-desi crowd. We paid nearly 8.5K per night but the services offered were next to nothing. Thanks to our bad planning as we booked the resort just couple of weeks before the peak xmas –NY season. We have stayed in quite a few 3,4,5 * hotels / resorts around, but this for us was too costly and expensive. Food Experience made the pinch more saltier.

Staff:

Very very nice and accommodating for the guest request always. They are very few may be handful but each staff caters for most of all the requests with smile on their face always.

Overall rating : 1.5 / 5 (for the staff and location of the resort)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sweetmotu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiero2012, Director of Sales at Camelot Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
let me thank you for your stay and the valuable time spent to write about us.we value your comments with high priority . we would certainly better the areas ,that is suggested by your good-self. We are really sorry for all inconveniences caused to you .We welcome you and your family once again to our property with more surprises
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    33
    10
    10
    12
See reviews for
54
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Probably the worst property in Munnar possible. Its far away from main Munnar. Their "Luxury rooms" are worse than a standard room in a 2 start hotel. My room was like a store room for their alchohol and food supplies etc. The waiter was randomly entering my room apologizing and making drinks for other guests in my room. Not just that, ont he second day of my stay they lost my room keys, made me wait for 2 hours in the lobby with no answers. finally they broke the window to get in. We had to sleep an open window in the cold the whole night. They would even give extra duvet. Seriously guys don't get fooled by the pictures they put online. Not to mention there is nothing to do in or around the resort, except a big chessboard. Food was also very very average. I was getting MUCH better food almost everywhere else in Munnar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NirvanaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiero2012, Director of Sales at Camelot Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
First of all let me thank you for your stay and the valuable time spent to write about us.we value your comments with high priority . we would certainly better the areas ,that is suggested by your good-self. Since one of our client had fallen sick, they had to stay back and we were sold out on that particular day, Due to this unfortunate incident we had to give u our directors room for you. We understand you were not comfortable due to this.it was really a mistake happened from our side,We are really sorry for all inconveniences caused to you .We welcome you and your family once again to our property with more surprises
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
2 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The atmosphere of the hotel as well as the surroundings was very nice. The room service, food quality was good. We really enjoyed our 2 days stay. Only one thing we suffered for, was no mobile network.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunetra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiero2012, Director of Sales at Camelot Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
it really a delight to hear about your experiences at camelot resort.we thank you for the wonderful comments and it has really motivated our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy
2 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Really enjoyed two days package provided them. I loved the cooling atmosphere and nature beauty of munnar. Food and room services were not bad. Amazing camp fire.. for two days i felt im in the lap of nature. Definitely it was a great holidays!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2012

It was a nice journey from cochin to munnar hills. Never forget those days we spent there, especially the service of resort Camelot. mountain heights, tea, cardamom plantations, sweet songs of birds... views from the balcony were amazing, also their mouth watering kerala dishes were delicious. they provide natural clear water from a nearby stream.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collins M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We are just back from a trek through the plantations around Munnar.
By chance we stumbled upon this resort and had a lovely light lunch and a great cup of tea(of course), overlooking the magnificient surrounding. The staff was very courteous and helpfull .

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

make mytrip is marketing this hotel as luxurious 4* hotel,inaitally its 3* on the paper,worth 2*
booked for 2 nights,could stay only 1 night.in the room,closed balcony there were a lot dead insects,butterflies.it wasnt cleaned before we checked in.
wardrobe: old torn luggage tags.bathroom very old,old system of hot water(gas system)
having no water pressure, very hard to take a hot shower.black gas stains on the ceiling.
very dirty bathmat ,towels with big black stains, bed sheets with holes and the color is gray(once upon a time probably it was white)
25 year old tv, only one small restaurant...kitchen is near reception( i have never see such a messed up place..everything was on the floor),restaurant table cloth with stains&dirty

also its a very cheap hotel probably ,all alone men were there drinking in the garden till the morning.

the location is -end of the world
no telephone range
not enough stuff the handle the hotel

Room Tip: dont go there...all hotel should be renovated i have all the photos and evidince this hotel made m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jermenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dileeep1, Owner at Camelot Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We are sorry to hear that we were not able to meet up with your expectations. Camelot has taken great pride in serving guests for over 11 years. Most of the reviews in TripAdvisor reflects the satisfaction of the people who stayed with us. Since ours is a resort which is located in a remote area, which gives every visitor a chance to be as close to nature as possible and as secluded, there might be small compromises regarding the facilities provided. We have always tried to give the best services to our customers, keeping in mind the serenity of the forest region around us. Camelot sincerely apologizes for any discomfort caused to you and thanks you for telling your troubles to us openly. We believe that criticism is healthy for the growth and improvement of an institution like ours. We will take your concerns into account and try to improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
2.4 mi away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
384 reviews
5.6 mi away
Season7, The Nature Resort
Season7, The Nature Resort
#7 of 14 in Chithirapuram
118 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 14 in Chithirapuram
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Tea Harvester
Tea Harvester
#6 of 14 in Chithirapuram
180 reviews
1.2 mi away
Deep Woods Resort
Deep Woods Resort
#22 of 97 in Munnar
320 reviews
4.1 mi away
Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Resort

Property: Camelot Resort
Address: Munnar P.O. | Idukki Dist, Munnar, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camelot Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awesome view point and echo point inside the property, wonderful trekking trails inside tea and coffee plantations. Situated amidst nature, away from the hustle and bustle of the town. Organic fruits and vegetables farming, shuttle badminton court, free parking and accommodation & food for drivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Camelot Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing