We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waste of a jewel!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camelot Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Camelot Resort
Ranked #48 of 95 Hotels in Munnar
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Waste of a jewel!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

A beautiful location, but very far and bad connecting roads. The hotel in itself was a big disappointment, for the money taken, there were no facilities. Infrastructure badly maintained. Food given was just basic. Maybe a good place for trekkers and young people who like adventure and are willing to go with very basic facilities, but definitely not for a family who has elders and children in the group. Apparently staff was also temporary and had been hired just about 15 days prior to the visit. One good thing was that the staff was very eager to serve and tried their best to make our stay comfortable within the given limitations. Would not recommend it unless the owner Mr Dileep takes control of the situation and turns the place around. Its a waste of a place which has lots of potential.

Room Tip: Don't go there unless you are ready to literally camp it out!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madee35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    30
    10
    10
    10
See reviews for
46
45
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Karur, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

I went there with friends and booked 2 rooms for 4 adults in May 2010. we had the booking for 2 nights in a deluxe room. The approach road is not good for cars I recommend to get a SUV to get to this place. We went there to watch the FIFA. But as soon as we went there the room was not clean no heaters in the room and it was raining. in the evening by 6pm the power went off the staffs promised us it will be ready in 10mins, then by 6:30pm it was dark when we asked the staff for the power they gave us a candle and again promised us it will be fine in 30mins. Then we had to stay in the dark for the whole night. Again in the next day morning it was still raining we cannot go out of the room to restaurant for breakfast, so we asked the staff to get the breakfast to our room, we got a rude reply to come to restaurant. We stayed for 2 nights without electricity. Only when we plan to check out they said their generator was not working. The staffs where too rude with us in spite of all the mistakes in their part. When we checked out we said we want to see the owner they said you can't see him so settle the bill and move. Then even we were stubborn and said if we don't see him we are not paying you. Then the owner came from the next room who was listening to all our conversation. As soon as he came he started threatening us by saying he is the president of the munnar hotels and resort associations, member in lions club and has a jewelry shop in foot hills of munnar. We told him we are not bothered after a long talk he apologized to us and we paid the bill and moved out. Please for heaven sake don't go here there are lots of good resorts in munnar.

Room Tip: none of the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Arunkarur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madurai, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

We were 6 couples who decided to take a break and headed towards Camelot. Don't trust the POI on Mapmyindia!!! This resort is on the Mankulam Road(7Km from Munnar town) and the road is pretty bad. The road up to the resort (7Km) is very steep and requires some skill to negotiate. Once there, we were welcomed by the owner Mr Dileep, a genial and friendly host and his small but enthusiastic team. The rooms are nice and clean and the hot water worked intermittently.
The general maintenance was good and food was very decent.
We had a great time and we will definitely go back!
Please buy everything you need like playing cards, booze and medicine as there are no shops anywhere around.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beboyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

Out of this world, closer to heaven. That's Camelot for you! Me and my folks planned a trip to Camelot resort in Munnar, Kerala, impressed by the images shown in their brochure and website. The moment i landed there i realized the images doesn't exactly potray the freshness and the natural beauty of the place and for me it was WAY WAY BETTER than how it looked in the brochure.

Camelot resort is about 5,000mts above sea level. It is 10km away from the now commercialized Munnar town. The way to the resort from the main road is a treat to the nature lovers. The best way to put it is it's trully the pathway to heaven. The much adventurous climb to the top to the resort is a memorable experience.

The USP of the resort is there is no mobile network! A perfect place to take a much awaited break from work. No annoying calls during vacation is something you'll love! Trust me, i loved it!

Our trip was at the end of Jan. It was hot during the day but after 6 in the evening it starts to get very cold and chilly. One look at the sky and you will be lost in the stars above. I bet you wouldn't find yourself so close to the sky anywhere else. And if it's a clear sky you get to see the innumerable shining stars! What a bliss! I rememeber lying on one of the benches in the garden at night and staring at the sky, the music from my mobile set the picture perfect atmosphere. It was B-E-A-U-T-I-F-U-L!

Morning we started our day by going for a walk through the beautiful tea estate followed by an adventurous and unforgettable trekking in the forest. From the hill we climbed, we could see the 2nd highest peak of southern India, 'Anamudi'. The leader of the pack was the much enthusiastic GM of the resort. The GM, Mr.Dileep is the one man army who showed immense courage and hardwork to make this beautiful heaven on earth. Camelot is a must visit destination in Kerala and if you miss it's your loss!

From reading a book lying on the garden, viewing the beautiful sunrise & sunset, watching the night sky dreamily while listening to songs, playing table tennis with my bro, going for a walk through the tea estate, picking up and nibbling fresh strawberries from the fruit garden and to trekking in forest. The two days i spent in Camelot resort feel like a beautiful, memorable and unforgettable dream! A dream i wish never ended!

P.s A special mention to the warmth and welcome of the staffs at Camelot resort who makes you feel at home.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imspidermonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

Read few reviews on tripadvisor, the latest review on April 15th gave me courage to book Camelot Resort Munnar, and i don't regret the choice we made. booked 3 nights thru clear trip (that was a biggest mistake i did booking thru clear trip).

The travels person told us that it would take 14 hours to reach Munnar. After 11 hours over night journey by bus from Bangalore the bus halted, i looked out of the window but the place nowhere looked like the misty Munnar, we were told we had reached Cumbum and a tempo traveler would take us thru the ghat road to Munnar. so after about 4 hours of lush green winding ghat roads which made few of the fellow travelers throw up we reached Munnar Town (luckily my wife who has a history of throwing up when traveling on winding roads didn't throw up).

Before booking the resort i had done my research and so i knew that Camelot was 8 kms from the Munnar town. Got off the TT and were surrounded by jeep and auto-rickshaw drivers wanting to take us to our resort. i was told by one driver that auto-rickshaw would cost us Rs 350 to take us to Camelot coz the road was steep and bad. i asked for Rs 150 and no one was ready to take us so i increased to Rs 200 and a few drives came forward to negotiate to 250, my wife was tired and i was in no mood to bargain and we settled at Rs 250 . few Jeep drivers told us that the auto would not be able to negotiate the steep approach road leading to the resort. but we took a chance with the auto coz the Jeep was costing us Rs 500 which i felt was way too much to cover 8 kms.

after 40 mins of bumpy auto-rickshaw ride the auto took a deviation leading to the approach road to the resort. this is a path with medium sized granite boulders and mud which had become a very steep bumpy and narrow road. The jeep drivers words had now begun to haunt me :-) but to my surprise the diesel auto-rickshaw slowly but steadly began the steep climb. there were patches of cemented path way and the auto pulled along well. we crossed a small little bridge and then began the steepest climb, the auto just gave up and the driver had to slam the breaks to hold the vehicle from rolling back down. we were asked to get off the vehicle n walk up the steep road for about 75 meters to the entrance of the resort when he drove the vehicle with our luggage. which i felt was ok considering terrain and the skill of the driver to get the vehicle so far.

So, if you take an auto to get to Camelot from Munnar town, pay not more than Rs 250 and be mentally prepared to walk up the steep road for about 75 to 100 meters. (we both were in our late 20's so it din bother us much but if you have aged parents or people on the bulkier side it can become an issue.)

We forgot all about the tiering climb when we saw the mist covered Resort and the beautiful garden with colorful flowers. it looked like the "resort in the clouds".
The reception was warm a the staff showed us to our Deluxe room which was not very big and spacious but is neat and cozy with a great view of the garden and the tea plantation below.

Room - The view from the room is awesome. Room was well furnished with a double bed (i felt the matress was a little hard) with clean sheets, a table n chair, TV with tata sky connection, 2 bed lamps, cupboard with few hangers and an extra blanket. Room room has a small sit-out with 2 cane chairs. Bath room was neat and clean, hot water available at will as the bathroom is fitted with gas geyser (shower works great). a thermos jug and an Electric jug available in the room to heat drinking water and an emergency lamp to use during power cuts which are not that frequent and does not last more that 15 mins. has goodknight liquid mosquito repellents. Room and bathroom was cleaned daily but sheets and covers were changed on alternate days (i'd prefer it to be cleaned daily)

Food - both veg and non-veg are avaliable (non veg a bit pricey), food is tasty and reasonably priced considering the distance from the town. Breakfast was complimentary serving different dishes on different days. Corn flakes, Idily, dosa, Appam, Bread toast with jam and egg omelet.

Orders for lunch and dinner have to be placed at least an hour before you would like to have them delivered. I had no complaints about the quantity, taste and pricing of the dishes we ordered for lunch and dinner. Food is served hot to your room or served in the restaurant as per your preference.

Attractions - if you are kind of person who will spend very little time in the resort and rather spend your time sight seeing, i would recommend not to check into Camelot unless you have your own vehicle (that can make the steep climb). I am person who not a big fan of going sightseeing. i was looking for a place to get away from the crowd and noise of Bangalore and trust me Camelot is the perfect getaway. But as per my wife's wishes i approached the reception for 1 day sightseeing which included a visit to a Dam, a lake (boating), Tea museum, a forest safari etc which we could not complete in a day (coz i din want to hurry and miss the beauty). According to me there is nothing too WOW about the sightseeing except for the beautiful mist covered landscape and a great driver of the indica who was more than a driver, a very humble and courteous man who also took on the role of a guide explaining things and helped us by bargaining in our shopping. he had amazing knowledge of (right from seeding to the processing) the tea plantations and other spices that grow there. The day long sightseeing burned a Rs 2100 hole in my pocket. if you ask me its better to skip it if you are a nature lover. my two cents, just stay back at the resort explore the surroundings and unwind.

You can ask Mr Dileep to take you on a trek in the morning, which i feel will be worth it. i was not able to go on a trek coz there were early morning showers and my wife was freaking out coz she had couple of leached cling to her feet when we took a walk in the tea garden after a little rain shower. (it helps to carry some salt if you plan to go on a trek) . We instead went to a water fall which is about 6 kms (need a vehicle to get there) from the resort. its more like a private water fall and there was no one around but for the two of us and the driver who went back to his car after showing us the spot. water and the surroundings were clean. we had a good time playing in the water and taking pictures.

Staff - Selva and Kumar, just to name a few from the staff were very hospitable and ready to help with any thing we needed. Mr Dileep the owner of the resort is a very friendly and helpful man.

Entertainmet - The resort has an entertainment room with a good table tennis table with good TT rackets and balls. My wife and i played TT everyday and she has become a pretty good player in a matter of 4 days :-), a carom boards (with all the pawns) a decent library furnished with sofas to sit and read a book. the views thru the huge glass windows from the entertainment room is stunning.

Overall we had a great and unforgettable getaway in the heart of nature.
im glad i chose Camelot against other resorts in Munnar. i would highly recommend this if you/your family like solitude, love nature and do nothing but kick back and unwind.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nastyhuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

I love this resort! This was our first time to Kerala and Munnar and we didn't know what to expect as it was packaged with a travel agent. When we arrived at the peak where Camelot is situated, we were stunned by the spectacular view..Rolling hills with tea plantations and low lying mist! We were very warmly welcomed by the staff and shown to our rooms which were in the "luxury" category and at the top of a slope. The rooms are very clean and large, complete with beverage facilities and a great shower system! Best of all, the balcony looks out to the hills and spectacular sunsets! At night, it's breathtaking as the grounds are transformed into a magical wonderland of fireflies twinkling.. It's really an amazing sight! The food is very good and reasonably priced so all our meals were on site and the staff are extremely attentive and obliging. The owner of the resort is a very warm and hospitable man called mr dileep n he brought us on a trek through the tea plantation where we saw pepper, coffee and various spice plants. Thank you for the experience!
We had a fabulous stay at Camelot and I would definitely visit again and highly recommend it! 

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

This is the first place I visited after my marriage and I would describe the location and Resort as marvelous. Though the resort is staying bit far from the town I would say it is best because its in the middle of the tea Gardens. There is no proper road to the resort but its worth staying there. As Munnar is famous for tea gardens, I can say you will have enjoy the tea gardens just by staying in this resort. we reached late night to the resort and the next day morning when I woke up at 6, all the tea gardens around are partially covered with snow and that was a breath taking view.

Even the staff and service is good. The food is so tasty and we enjoyed the kerala food a lot. I would surely recommend this resort to all who are planning to visit munnar.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank istamshreya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
2.5 mi away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Fog Resort & Spa
The Fog Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
3.8 mi away
Abad Copper Castle Hill Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tea Harvester
Tea Harvester
#6 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
5.6 mi away
Season7, The Nature Resort
Season7, The Nature Resort
#8 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Resort

Property: Camelot Resort
Address: Munnar P.O. | Idukki Dist, Munnar, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camelot Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awesome view point and echo point inside the property, wonderful trekking trails inside tea and coffee plantations. Situated amidst nature, away from the hustle and bustle of the town. Organic fruits and vegetables farming, shuttle badminton court, free parking and accommodation & food for drivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Camelot Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing