We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont stay”
Review of Hillview Munnar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hillview Munnar
Ranked #37 of 103 Hotels in Munnar
Reviewed June 10, 2013

service is very poor. hot water is not coming . No place for air circulation in the room . No view from room window . You can only see hotel kitchen from your room . Even we have pre booked for body massage , they have not done any arrangement in hotel's own massage center. .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dgprajapati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillviewmunnar, Front Office Manager at Hillview Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Sir,

Thank you for your valuable feed back.Sir We have kept our hot water geezer outside it is operated by gas.because of bad weather the geezer were getting cold.And we are going to fix the diesel provision by this month

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 486 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Me and a couple of my acquintinces stayed for 4 days in this hotel. Now here are some of the plain facts about this hotel.

Location:

It is very near to Munnar Bus depot. So connectivity to various parts of the state is not a problem. Also, the market area is around 2 km from here. In short, centrally located. The aerial view from the hotel is very nice. On one side, there are good hills, and on the other side, there is a forest area.

Hotel accomodation

We had a very good offer from cleartrip, and as such, we were able to get double rooms for as low as 2125 a day (8500 for 4 days) including breakfast. In the normal case, it would have cost us 2700+ taxes (taxes are like 17 percent) for the same package. Room service was nice and the staff was courteous. Rooms were neatly maintained and properly cleaned every day. The breakfast was also good with multiple choice for cuisines. They have also arranged for cab service from a third party for us at a decent rate.

Spoliors

One of the rooms which was initially proivided to us was not exactly 'Hill view', but was facing the kitchen of the nearby building. We had to do some heavy talking to get new rooms,but that said, they promptly allotted rooms with better view the next morning. The lunch and dinner in the hotel was extremely expensive. It costed 250 per head, and was not worth that money. We took just one time from them, and every other time, we had our food from elsewhere. Also, since we made full payment in advance, the hotel had no choice but issue us rooms in that rate. That said, they tried every trick to make us pay extra, but we were sensible enough not to fall into it. The night prior to leaving, the hotel staff informed me that they would provide panjakarma treatments to us, but we politely declined. I am reasonably convinced they would have charged a bomb for it. On the final day, after taking the whole cab money, instead of arranging for a cab, they sent their own vehicle to drop us back to the airport which was 2.5-3 hours drive from munnar. It was perfectly ok with us, except that the driver didn't know two things- He didnt know where the airport was exactly, and worse of it, he didn't know how to drive properly. Somehow he managed to take us to the airport, though it took us 3.5 hours to reach there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Kannan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillviewmunnar, Front Office Manager at Hillview Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Hi sir,

When you compare with other hotels in munnar our buffet price is less.
Our menu like 1.SOUP,2 NON VEG 5 VEG 2.RICE 1.INDIAN BREAD 2.DESERTS AND ALSO SALAD CURD PICKLE PAPPAD.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I selected this hotel after browsing through trip advisor, make my trip and goibibo and i must say i m more than happy with my choice. Location was good and easy to find.Room which we got was neat with good view as it was the corner room at the second floor. Staff were very courteous and friendly. Food was good. We had a pleasant stay and would surely choose this hotel for our future visiti and very much recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maheshretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

for this price hotel could have been better they provide fridge but lock them very old hotel. food is good .bath rooms are bad very expensive rates staff treatment is biased
Would recommend only if u don't have a choice

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank syedabdulquader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I selected this hotel based on reviews on TripAdvisor for our 2nd Marriage Anniversary and directly contacted Vinod (Hotel Manager) for Honeymoon package of 2 nights / 3 days which included Food, Sightseeing and Accommodation. The hotel staff is exceptionally good and helpful. The food is really nice ( I do not love Kerala style cuisine and was bit apprehensive but the restaurant here very good). The only downside that I came across is that the furniture in the room were old and kind of damp and you would get the smell once you enter the room but the rooms otherwise are good. I would definitely recommend this hotel for Family and Couples. This hotel is barely 2 KM far from main Town and you would get Auto Rickshaw all the time from right outside the hotel so going and coming to the town is not an issue.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on 2nd Floor, as the hotel does not have a lift. Rooms like 304,305,306. Deluxe Rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priyam1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

we had an excellent stay in hill view. the room was neat and tidy. fabulous view from our room. customer service was good. the food provided was buffet which was damn tasty and had 2-3 varieties.
the hotel is at the right place. not in the rush but town just 100 mtrs away.

although ours was a short visit, the stay made us feel that we are home..!!!

kudos to hill view...!!!!!! thumps up...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catherine789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I went Munnar trip in April 2013 . Munnar is a very good place in Kerala. Firstly thanks to Clear trip and Tripadvisor site for help me to choose a good hotel in munnar.This hotel is located near to the KTDC bus depo but not in the crowed city. City is very near to this place . By auto it's take 10 min ( Rs 20 ). This hotel has really hill view rooms. From the rooms you can see the hill in all the side. And this place is very quite and less crowed. The room service are excellent in this hotel. All stuffs behavior are very good and helpful. Sight seen facility is available by hotel own car. That service also excellent with reasonable charge. The Car driver was nice behavior and helpful. Food also good in this hotel . You can get all type of food and they are not using the coconut oil for cooking. North indian ,south indian all food are available. Only problem is there is no lift in this hotel and they are not taking card for the payment.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank SUBRATA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.7 mi away
Bellmount Resorts
Bellmount Resorts
#47 of 103 in Munnar
347 reviews
1.3 mi away
Woodpecker Resort
Woodpecker Resort
#8 of 8 in Pothamedu
106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Plaza Munnar
Grand Plaza Munnar
#20 of 103 in Munnar
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
541 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts
3.2 mi away
Spice Country Resorts
Spice Country Resorts
#8 of 15 in Chithirapuram
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillview Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillview Munnar

Address: Near Blossom Hydel Park | A M Road, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 103 Hotels in Munnar
Price Range: $50 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillview Munnar 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hillview Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillview Munnar Hotel Munnar
Hillview Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing