We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect place for a perfect holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gruenberg Tea Plantation Haus
Ranked #15 of 198 Munnar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2014

i visited munnar in march 14 and booked my stay at gruenberg tea haus after reading the reviews here in tripadvisor. the place is perfect for a getaway holiday, perched amongst serene tea plantations, away from the hustle bustle of munnar town. the staff is also excellant, specially mr anand, the manager, he somehow has the knack to take care of all your needs right from a pick up from the airport to arranging transport for local sightseeing and then again drop at the airport. i would not do justice to my review if i dont mention the food here... the open terrace dining area adds to the beauty and perfectly complements the tasty food which this place has to offer. the rooms are fantastic and cozy...you may not feel to go out only.... all in all it was a perfect holiday.... kudos to team gruenberg

Room Tip: this place has 5 rooms... try to book a room in the first and second floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arijit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 308 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

I was here in Jan. 2014 with a small group of photographers in 4 rooms. I'm not sure if I can really say anything that hasn't been said before. The location was wonderful, great views from all of the rooms and the rooftop restaurant. The rooms were perfect, spacious, well designed, comfortable King size beds, nice sheets, tons of pillows, wifi music system to hook up ipods and laptops, big flat screen TV (that was never turned on). Breakfast was excellent with western and Indian choices, lots of fresh fruit and fruit juices etc. We had a few of our evening meals here too, and I usually ordered off the menu for our group. The chef was very agreeable, and came up with some great home cooked meals for us. The entire staff was fabulous, and always extremely helpful.

Negatives? Nothing really, though I have to agree with some of the other reviews that mention the loud echos throughout the hall way. It would only take a few wall hangings to sort this out.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photo_gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The hotel is surrounded with tea plantations which was an excellent view from the room.It's a very good place to relax from your busy schedule.Staff were very co-operative.Cycling experience was very good.The room was very Clean, hygienic and spacious.Rooftop terrace for meals was awesome.In one word a Wonderful stay to spend some time with your partner.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siriraju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We loved our stay in this hotel, the staff were super helpful and the room was very nice. The staff arranged for trips and taxis and the rooftop terrace for meals was a total pleasure. Breakfast included in the rate was also excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doubler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

If you are looking for a calm and serene getaway from the daily hustle bustle of a city life and want to recharge your body and soul then this is the place to be.
Located in the midst of a tea estate, it is a very well maintained property. The rooms are spacious, clean and provide a wonderful view of the tea gardens. One set of window opens towards valley having different variety of trees and plants. The birds just love this area. Early morning, you hear nothing but the chirping of various types of birds. You can spot different species of birds here. (See Pic)
Other room amenities include standard things like TV, satellite channels etc. One different thing here is the bluetooth speakers.
Food is very good and is served fairly quickly. Portion size is very generous. We asked for a lot of dishes that were not on the menu; the chef prepared all of them for us. The restaurant provides a 360 degree view of the surroundings.
The staff is very helpful and courteous. Mr. Anand helped us with cab for sight seeing.
The location is a bit difficult to find so I would suggest you call Mr. Anand on mobile and let your driver speak to him.

Room Tip: We stayed at second floor as suggested by other reviewers. I think you will get best view from highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkemkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I went to Munnar for my honeymoon in mid February, 2014. After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor I finalized Gruenberg for my stay. I had been in touch with Sherin since October and talking to him was always pleasant, in fact he advised me on my overall Kerala trip. I even changed my schedule after paying the advance and Sherin reconfirmed my booking within five minutes, He's been very prompt in replying to my e-mails. I had booked Lorelei 207 for my stay, which I think is the most beautiful room of Gruenberg.
I stayed there for 3 days (Feb 17-19) and it was an awesome experience. Anand took very good care of us and arranged for beautiful flower decoration and a cake on our arrival, that was really nice. The highlight of the trip was the Candle light dinner arranged by him on the roof top restaurant (the terrace was decorated with lamps which we call Diyas).
The food at the restaurant is better than what you can get in outside restaurants and is made to order as per your requirements.
I really had a beautiful time and would definitely recommend to all my friends. I would recommend to all the guests to do the local travelling in Auto-rickshaws ( also called tuk tuk) instead of Cars and SUVs.

Thanks Sherin and Anand for making my trip memorable.

Room Tip: Lorelei 207 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AviShri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and I spent a very nice time at the Gruenberg Tea Plantation Haus 2 weeks ago ! We arrived late in the afternoon so we appreciated very much staying in such a peaceful and quiet atmosphere around the hotel with all the tea plantations that we could see from our huge room. Very relaxing moment with a nice walk with the manager before sunset, nice talk with a nice guy. As we were on a honeymoon trip, he had prepared some local red wine in our room, very nice attention indeed !!
The staff was very helpful, they care about customers needs and that is always appreciable.
We highly recommend this hotel if you travel to Munnar !!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette60002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.5 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 15 in Chithirapuram
977 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tea Harvester
Tea Harvester
#6 of 15 in Chithirapuram
197 reviews
16.4 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#2 of 8 in Pothamedu
730 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rivulet Resort
Rivulet Resort
#9 of 103 in Munnar
533 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kaivalyam Retreat
Kaivalyam Retreat
#2 of 198 in Munnar
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gruenberg Tea Plantation Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gruenberg Tea Plantation Haus

Address: Chithirapuram PO, Power House Road | Dobipalam, Munnar 685565, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 198 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range: $56 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gruenberg Tea Plantation Haus 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with both sides view. Rooms on the first and second floors 'Lorelei' open the wonderful canvas of nature. All rooms are spacious and well furnished with balcony provides full view on both sides, of enchanting vast greenery of mountain slopes covered by flourishing Tea Plantations. Rheintal on the ground floor is a stylish and comfortable room with balcony which opens a wide vista of nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gruenberg Tea Plantation Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing