We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gruenberg Tea Plantation Haus
Ranked #16 of 180 Munnar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Munnar has a lot of hotel/resort options and for two months I was going thru a whole lot of websites planning for a perfect holiday. And I found Gruenberg on trip advisor and fell in love with the location, And our experience of gruenberg was great. The rooms were excellent, the views were awesome, the food was great and the service was excellent. Though the access road was a little bumpy the hotel was well worth it. The staff were warm and very helpful. On the whole it was well worth the money spent and a great holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank praveenaspts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    71
    24
    0
    3
See reviews for
66
150
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

After reading lot of reviews in Trip advisor, we finally zeroed on Gruenberg. We had planned for 4 days / 3nights stay. Initially we had few apprehensions but everything was cleared once we landed there. The hotel’s manager had sent a cab to pick us up. The hotel just looks like a cute little toy house from some fantasy world. It is situated right in the center of a lovely tea plantation and is surrounded by beautiful hills / tall trees. After having a tiring journey we were welcomed by a much needed cool welcome drink which was so relaxing. The room and bathroom were very clean and well kept. The view from the room was absolutely stunning and breathtaking. The food was just amazing and very authentic (be it south indian or north indian).The hospitality we received was very, just felt like home. The manager even guided us on the places to visit and arranged cab for site seeing. Good news for ardent readers, they do have a small library which is just like an icing on the cake. In the morning we were woken up by the chirping/squealing of birds which was like music to ears (which is very rare in our mechanical world). The environment was so peaceful, serene and tranquil. Would surely cherish these beautiful memories and an amazing experience.

Room Tip: Choose room - Lorelei –Amazing and breathtaking views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krishnasb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pushkar, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

After hours searching trip advisor for a hotel in munnar, we decided on Gruenberg. It was a great choice, the hotel is located away from any main roads, about 10km before Munnar town. It overlooks the tea plantations and is peaceful. It is brand new, with clean modern rooms- wifi, tv, kingsize bed and hot water. The rooftop is a open air restaurant and library which is great for views. At night you eat your dinner and watch the fireflys or a nearby storm.

The manager Anand is very helpful and can organise anything you need, such as day trips around munnar. he also included a guided walk through the tea plantations where we got a good look at the area and some great photos. The rest of the staff are so friendly and provided great service and amazing indian food. Our time here was very relaxing.

We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have big windows that overlook the tea plantations. We stayed in room 109 which was the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ianmel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My friend found this place on the internet and I was quite impressed with the photographs although I thought it could just look attractive to promote the place. Believe me ! It's even more beautiful than what you see on photos from their website . We initially planned to stay for 5 days which we extended for another 2 days and after which we still wanted to extend, sad that we had to stay in another place for 2 days since they were full, It was such a great relief and excitement when we got back to Gruenberg. The accomodation was well beyond what I expected. Surrounded by Lush green tea estates with lovely views from the sit outs/balcony from the rooms was one of the main highlights of Gruenberg. Waking up with birds chirping and singing ( please look at the video I posted), The Roof top restaurant with 360 degrees view of nothing but lush green mountains added just more to the lovely food offered. The staff were very very polite and helpful who always offered their services with a warm smile made us feel at home. Rooms were designed with keeping the theme on mind , Very clean , King sized beds, bathroom fitted with best quality fittings and also big and clean. The bluetooth speakers, Quality television connection and internet had us connected to the outer world while still enjoying the green forests. Anand the manager, was a nice man who looked after us with great care and attention. My friend accidentally put her mobile phone with bed sheets and sent it to the laundry and we still got it back. The food was delicious and cooked with varieties. They also cooked food that we asked for which was not listed on the menu card.To conclude I Would give it 10 stars although Tripadvisor has only 5 to rank. Thanks to all @ Gruenberg and especially Anand. Keep up the Good work.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bsbenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Booked our stay at Gruenberg after reading the good reviews here. After seeing the tiny road to Gruenberg, we were skeptical. But Gruenberg surprised us. The rooms were clean, comfortable and aesthetically designed. The view of the tea estate is a feast to the eyes. You can spend the entire day at the balcony, taking in the nature around you. The rooftop restaurant with the colorful, tiny garden and the book shelf has a charm of its own.

Gruenberg is located about 10 kms before Munnar town and in the middle of a tea estate. So, you can enjoy a calm and peaceful holiday, far from the maddening crowd.

The service is prompt and good. Food is tasty, though it is a little overpriced.

There are five rooms spread across two floors. The rooms on the second floor have the best view. The restaurant is on the third floor.

My guests (of senior citizens), loved the rooms and view so much that they decided to forget the inconvenience of climbing the stairs.

Overall, it was just the kind of break we needed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malini B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

A great overall experience. Everything was pretty good for the price, only few things...
the Service is TOO much around you, it is not a complain but just to be aware that they stick around your table when your eating , standing straight in front of you, staring at you eating. a bit unconfortable and especially not our culture.

Apart from that, i recommend this hotel, very nice place to chill and forget the crazy noisy cities for few days. ;)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maarine_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SherinVarghesee, Owner at Gruenberg Tea Plantation Haus, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thanks for the review. We are so happy that you enjoyed the stay at Gruenberg. We apolologize for the inconvenience you faced at our restaurant (different people different taste we know that), but will try our best to make everybody happy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Had a wonderful time at gruenberg - so much so that I extended my stay by 1 extra day. Fantastic location (close enough to munnar but far enough away to be peaceful), amazing room with big comfortable bed and brand new bathroom, friendly and helpful staff ( the manager Anand collected me at the bus stop) and the food - oh the food - yum :-) Highly recomend it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waveydaveydesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
1.8 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 13 in Chithirapuram
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
0.6 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tea Harvester
Tea Harvester
#6 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#1 of 13 in Chithirapuram
5.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gruenberg Tea Plantation Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gruenberg Tea Plantation Haus

Property: Gruenberg Tea Plantation Haus
Address: Chithirapuram PO, Power House Road | Dobipalam, Munnar 685565, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 180 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gruenberg Tea Plantation Haus 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with both sides view. Rooms on the first and second floors 'Lorelei' open the wonderful canvas of nature. All rooms are spacious and well furnished with balcony provides full view on both sides, of enchanting vast greenery of mountain slopes covered by flourishing Tea Plantations. Rheintal on the ground floor is a stylish and comfortable room with balcony which opens a wide vista of nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Gruenberg Tea Plantation Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing