We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem in the tea plantation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gruenberg Tea Plantation Haus
Ranked #15 of 180 Munnar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Hidden gem in the tea plantation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We really enjoyed the stay at gruenberg. Booked for 2 nights but extended to 7 nights. Waking up to birdsong and gorgeous tea mountain views from a large luxurious room and the wonderful food we had at the roof top restaurant, we will remember fondly for a long time.
We can heartly recommend this beautiful boutique hotel

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msv22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    71
    24
    0
    3
See reviews for
66
150
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

gruenberg is located in the middle of tea plantations.so it has got a fantastic view from all sides.there is also a small river nearby.the rooms are beautifully furnished and maintained.cleanliness and hospitality are very impressive.the elegant roof top restaurant and a superb library are worth mentioning.overall we had a good time in gruenberg.make sure you travel to munnar when the weather is at its best so that your stay will be an unforgettable one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanageorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Gruenberg is a beautiful and contemporary boutique hotel with all modern amenities including a strong wifi signal and blue tooth loud speaker. It is located right in the middle of rolling tea plantations. The rooms have large windows and balconies to take full advantage of the spectacular setting in the mountains. The location of the hotel, away from the main road, means all you hear is birdsong. We got a warm welcome by the manager, Anand. He and the rest of the staff is extremely service oriented, pro-active and helpful. Dilip, the cook, serves up wonderful keralan food, served on the shady roof terrace surrounded by flowers. Someone clearly cares about the visitors experience here. For us there was no question of where to stay near Munnar!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanskeDina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hotel is placed between tea plantation which makes it quite different from other hotels. Architecture is very beautifully done. Very clean and impressive ambiance. Staff was very helpful. Thanks alot Gruenberg for making our trip to Munnar a memorable one! :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anu_Ghanashyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Hotel have great location between tea plantation. Our room was spacious with beautiful view on all the green around. What a joy to arrive late and wake up to the most fantastic view of the tea plantation valley from the bed and balcony. Staff were very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Den526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here for the first few nights of our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. The location is the star at Gruenberg, no question about it. We received a warm welcome when we arrived and throughout our stay the staff were attentive and friendly. The location of Gruenberg is far from noises of city (munnar) and it is on the other side of mountain, so its very peaceful and scenic. we could see the tea plantations from the bed and balcony and it was really picturesque.

In the morning, waking up to the amazing views took our breath away. We enjoyed the food in the Teahaus restaurant, Library and the guided walk through the tea plantation

I would prefer this property to any one who wants something different

Room Tip: We stayed in Lorelei 204 which has wonderful views all around
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebjos15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Location will be going to success of this brand new boutique hotel. It is surrounded by tea plantations. They have only 5 rooms, we stayed in Lorelei which has balcony with fantastic views. We were surprised with the roof top Library and Restaurant. We had a guided tea plantation walk provided by the hotel which was worth to try. Staff were very helpful. We only stayed 3 nights and 4 days; would have loved to stayed longer. But hopefully will visit again next year

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in Lorelei which was large and clean with awesome views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anuksha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
1.8 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 13 in Chithirapuram
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
0.6 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tea Harvester
Tea Harvester
#6 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#1 of 13 in Chithirapuram
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gruenberg Tea Plantation Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gruenberg Tea Plantation Haus

Property: Gruenberg Tea Plantation Haus
Address: Chithirapuram PO, Power House Road | Dobipalam, Munnar 685565, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 180 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gruenberg Tea Plantation Haus 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with both sides view. Rooms on the first and second floors 'Lorelei' open the wonderful canvas of nature. All rooms are spacious and well furnished with balcony provides full view on both sides, of enchanting vast greenery of mountain slopes covered by flourishing Tea Plantations. Rheintal on the ground floor is a stylish and comfortable room with balcony which opens a wide vista of nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Gruenberg Tea Plantation Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing