We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Green View Holiday Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Munnar
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveler rating
86
78
17
11
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
78
17
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsday trekrooftop terracehot watergreen woodthe cottageshis wifegreat trekwonderful guideeating breakfastnoisy at nightother guestsstayed nightstrekking guidemunnar towntea plantationfood cookedbus station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 205 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We arrived in Munnar with no accommodation arranged and took a place at a terrible hotel in town as the bus wouldn't stop for us at the first bus stop as you come in to Munnar (make sure they let you get off!). We decided to go check out Green View as its mentioned in Lonely Planet and as soon as we walked in and were showed the available room we took it even though we'd already paid for one, we just could not stay at the first. The staff at Green View were friendly and gave us a cheaper rate because of our initial debacle which was really nice of them. Its only a 10 minute walk into town and to be honest its much nicer staying out of Munnar city centre, its easy to get a rickshaw if you dont want to walk. There is an internet cafe nearby and small places to get food. The hotel itself is very clean with a roof top. They organise hiking tours and have a laundry service which is cheap. They only have 6 rooms so we were lucky to get one without booking. We stayed 2 nights and really wanted to stay a 3rd but they didnt have any more rooms when we asked that morning. The owner came up to our room as we were packing and told us some people had cancelled their booking so we could stay another night, we were so happy!

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the side where the road is you get a nice view of the tea plantations but there is a little bit of light and noise at night time.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noa91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I can't really share the enthusiasm on this page about the hotel.. rate is cheap, but rooms are grubby as well, bed was smelly.. we paied like 600rps but our room had the size of a bigger bathroom. rooms to the front side of the house are very loud, big windows so it gets very very cold at night. the young guys of the staff are really nice and helpful, the owner seems to be a bit less motivated and rude... trecking packages of the hotel looked expensive to me.. We stayed at much better places during our holidays and we were not sad to leave this place.. the only hotel were we had to pay in advance.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marketwizard11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel is run by a very engaged and young team. They organise beautiful hiking tours in the area with qualified guides, who are able to give detailed informations regarding the history and contemporary situation. Our guide 'Srijee' was just great.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlaaubry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place is just out of town (about a 20 min walk), near the main bus stand - but be aware that the bus will stop at the bus stand and then carry on quite quickly so be ready to get out!
The lobby is clean and pleasant and we were greeted by the quite but friendly owner Deepak.
The room was on the 3rd floor which meant it had a great view out to the tea fields. The room itself was compact but comfortable, with a clean bathroom and a tv.
They also organise treks which looked quite fun but we didn't end up doing them, instead we went on a trip (with an autorickshaw) around the area - this was a great day out.
We stayed 3 nights here and felt comfortable and relaxed (bed was a bit hard but that seems to be common all over india....)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anja777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the Green View Holiday Inn in Old Munnar and one night at their small cottage outside of Munnar.

The hotel in Munnar is a good place, taking into account that Munnar itself is a little bit grubby. It is in Old Munnar near the state bus stand and appr. 20 min per foot into town. We had a large room for 800 Rs. on the top floor that actually accommodates 4 persons and was absolutely okay and very clean. The other rooms I saw where very small, however. What is great is the level of service, the owner/manager provides you with an informative map at the beginning. We also did a whole day trekking tour which was absolutely great, although our bodies hurt afterwards :)

The cottage at Aranchal is absolutely lovely and appr. 10 km outside of Munnar in the green mountains. A room there is 750 to 1000 rs. and worth every rupee. It is run by a local Family that also provides an amazing breakfast and dinner for you on request. As they only have 4 rooms, the atmosphere is very personal and you get contact to other guests easily. It is a great place for relaxing or short walks in the surrounding mountains. However, if you want to stay closer to the action/shops/restaurants, this is probably not your place as a rickshaw to munnar costs around 180 Rs and takes 20 minutes. I would have loved to stay longer.

Both places are often fully booked, so try to book in advance: greenview_munnar@sify.com

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stina_berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews