We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“be careful”
Review of Green Shades

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Green Shades
Ranked #41 of 182 Munnar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
jerusalem
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“be careful”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had a very bad experience. Works of paving were going on in the place with workers, noise and lack of silence. So we decided to leave. The owner did not want us to leave without paying the full amount although we did not even use the rooms. So he locked us inside for a couple of hours without letting us go. I felt amazed at the beginning and kidnapped at the end...I had to call the police and was close to call my embassy. At the end he let us go accepting 1000 Rupie that is exactly the amount I offered him from the very beginning. Stay away from that place!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank manueljerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    27
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
25
34
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pune, Maharashtra, India
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We visited this place with our family of 8 people on 9th & 10th Feb 13. This is nice,Homely & Peaceful place to stay. Its not a hotel but homestay with good facilities,service, food etc. Services provided were nice .The Owner's were hospitable & humble.They showed there Garden's,various kind of trees,plants they planted,Overall nice homely ,peaceful stay. Care takers Manoj & Mani kandan were very nice & cooperative.
This place is 12 Kms before Munnar town

If you want nice ,peaceful stay this place is for you.

Room Tip: All room s are double bed rooms only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kranti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Enjoyed our stay here. We had brand new facilities in our room- the building must be reasonably new.
There weren't any signs posted indicating that we were at the right place, but once we figured it out it was great.

The food they provide is delicious homemade food. However they ask for time slots to serve you, as the food is prepared in advance (the later you ask for the more chance your dal is going to dry up), but still fresh-ish and tasty.
The spices/fruit/vegetables around the gardens are amazing.

Note they are about a 20-30 min drive to Munnar.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emereyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Really truly loved our time here, and regretted coming for such a short trip. The family were so hospitable and helped us out with planning and organising our trip without hesitation. The hotel is just outside of Munnar which we appreciated, and in a gorgeous location. Lovely clean modern rooms, showers with hot water was appreciated! Great food and service was impeccable. Can't recommend enough. Don't go anywhere else. Thanks George for the amazing experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catriona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodhpur City, Rajasthan, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great place to relax in calm and serene environment. Feels homely as well as luxurious in between nature. Just loved the place. Hospitality and the family was very friendly. thumps up to for Green Shades Munnar ... limited choice of food and is 10 kms away from city are the two points to be kept in mind.

Room Tip: Four room cottage is the best .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller_3183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed one night in green shades and it was the best homestay we came across. The rooms were excellent, very modern and your own hot water tank! The staff were attentive to our every need, food was great and we enjoyed home made chocolate from the owner for dessert! Around 15k from Munnar (30min Rickshaw journey) and located in a wonderful location next to a spice plantation, just stunning!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indore
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2012

From this homestay we could experience and see many facet of Nature God. We were just amazing, how fresh, green , beautiful was the nature around. We lived here in perfect combination of organic green life without compromising the comfertability,elegance and luxury. Our room was excellent and at par with the five star hotel. Food was self prepaired by the madam, have its unique hoom taste. House owner were extreamly caring and trying to make us feel at home. I would recommend , people should staty here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uktindore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
4.0 mi away
Seven Springs Plantation Resort
4.8 mi away
Woodpecker Resort
Woodpecker Resort
#8 of 8 in Pothamedu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
2.4 mi away
Green Valley Vista
Green Valley Vista
#4 of 16 in Chithirapuram
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Anna Homestay
Anna Homestay
#2 of 16 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
2.9 mi away
Avondale Luxury Cottage
Avondale Luxury Cottage
#1 of 3 in Pallivasal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gruenberg Tea Plantation Haus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Shades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Shades

Property: Green Shades
Address: Karadippara, Vattiyar Po, Munnar 685611, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Shades 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Shades plantation holidays with all the luxuries of a hotel and the peace and tranquility of a home. Set amidst 10 acres of verdant lush landscape with a marvelous view of misty hills on eastern side, and sky scraping trees on the west. The only thing that could disturb you is the lullaby of the birds. Its just 12 kms. away from Munnar town, very near to National Highway. The land is gifted with a vast variety of spice plants, fruit plants and vegetables. 6 twin accommodations are available with clay tile roofing and the clean natural mineral-rich well water is an added attraction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Green Shades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing