We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Deep Woods Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Deep Woods Resort
Ranked #22 of 95 Hotels in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence
Alappuzha
1 review
“average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

room was good.... ....break fast was good.....but the scenic view from the room is not at all good......For reaching deep wood is miserable in night.....it is 10 km away from old munnar...................................

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Rajeev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    69
    24
    18
    17
See reviews for
141
42
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

The perfect place to land for a relaxing time. Tucked away from Munnar town (10 kms away) the drive to the place is as green as it gets and when you land in Pulimoottil its another world that comes calling for you.

This place is for people who want all the privacy in the world and be cut out from it. There is not mobile network and absolutely no internet...so basically my type of place to relax. In case you need to call someone head to the reception landline.

Stayed here for 2 nights and a day before heading out to Gavi and honestly regretted why did we head to Gavi instead of spending the rest of the 2 days here. You can just idle around in the estate and head out to the waterfall (not sure on which months the water is there).

We were a group of friends and were at Bungalow 1, the estate gave us our own cook for the bungalow, a great barbecue, rain played spoil to the campfire and most importantly you have your own space.

Yeah the restaurant is bit of a walk from Bungalow 1 but am not complaining. Lunch and dinner does get delivered to your bungalow. If you want a full menu restaurant, this is not the place for you.

Also if you expect to be treated like a resort, well you will need to look at a different option. This place is for stretching out your legs and relaxing cut out from the rest of the world.

Note: Deep Woods Resort and Pulimoottil Estate are one and the same.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajashekaran_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man , UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Location:

The resort was about 20 mins drive from the town center. If you don’t have a car it’s difficult to get to this place because as the name suggest its deep inside the forest – very peaceful, quiet and surrounded by nature.

When we reached the resort, there was a guy in the reception who showed us our rooms. Initial impression - all of us were very happy with the rooms. The resort has both cottages and rooms and we had booked 3 double bedrooms. There is no lift in this building and since its deep in the woods there is n wi-fi either :)

Room
The room was quite big, could have been easily converted to a studio - Big double bed, tv, wadrobe space, misc furnitures. The weird thing about the top floor room was that it was surrounded by windows and covered with screens. The room wasn’t remote, so not like you could actually keep the curtains open and enjoy the view. Bed was very comfortable.

Room service
They offer tea/coffe in the morning. While they say it can be offered at any time, you will get it only after 7 – that’s when their restaurant opens. We learnt this after our first day when we asked for tea at 6am

Help with sight-seeing
Very good. They were very helpful and also the other drivers in the resort helped our driver with routes and where we could go

Restaurant:
The restaurant is a long way from the room (atleast 10 mins walk). When you come back from the restaurant its uphill walking. We used our car but I think the resort also had their own van for taking people to the restaurant.

The breakfast consisted of Idly, dosa, upma, bread, butter, jam, juice and coffee. It was a decent breakfast. – my only gripe was that the plates weren’t very clean. They have a buffet dinner everyday. It was 250 Rs and had quite a decent spread.

Cons:
1. Our main issue was with the bathroom. Once we started using it, everyday in the morning while we were using the bathroom, it was sinking. It was quite disgusting. We complained to the person in the reception but not much was done. Sadly only our room had this problem

2. My parents door was not locking properly and they dint fix it till the last day. Since it was a short trip we dint have any valuables with us, but doesn’t speak well about their customer service.

3. My father’s cell phone charger was missing, he was pretty sure he had left it in the power point. When we dint find it anywhere in the room we asked the reception and they took from inside and gave it to us – which was shocking. The charger was not left in a public place for them to take it and keep it, it was actually taken away from the room. They offered no explanation and just mumbled something.

4. Breakfast and dinner plates weren’t clean. My breakfast plate the first day was actually stinking.

5. On our last day there were songs being played very very loudly somewhere in the resort. We found out it was in a cottage near the restaurant and we could hear it even inside our room (they had huge speakers and were having a party). So we went to the reception and asked them if they could request who ever was playing the music so loudly to reduce the volume as there were other people staying in the resort as well. To our surprise the resort said they couldn’t do anything about it as it was a private property (in the middle of the resort). Later we found out that they had supposedly sold some cottages to private owners.

6. There was hardly any house keeping everyday. We had to go ask for fresh towels everyday, because they took away the used ones from he room but never replaced them with fresh ones.

We’ve stayed in many hotels in India and this one has a lot of work to do in terms of their service and cleanliness.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank capri_kra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We been here last month, it's Good Resort to be in..

1. Nice Location : Deep inside woods almost 14 Kms from City Center
2. Taxi 400/ & Rickshaw 200/- one way
2. Nice & clean Rooms
3. Room Services are good
4. Charge 250/- for unlimited Lunch / Dinner -- Good Food but Less Variety and no other option . need to travel 15 Km back to city..
5. No Mobile Network -- Air tel, Vodafone doesn't works.. Got land-line need to call reception for any external calls.. Some time its good to be disconnected from outside world :-)..

I would Seriously recommend to come by your own vehicle!! else,can enjoy Bumpy ride on Diesel Rickshaw :-) .. If you travelling in night Get Taxi or Rick only from Hotel..

I Enjoyed my Stay.. It was nice. .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akottari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Deep Woods give you the best of what Munnar has to offer;pristine location, meditative tranquility and comfortable stay. Clubbed with the cordial and ever helpful staff, Deep Woods is the best you can get at Munnar.
Situated in the depth of montane forests, the property is arguably the closest to nature as you have always wanted to see it. Clean and spacious rooms and prompt service makes it even more better. My everlasting memory of my stay over here would be the jungle trek organised by the staff and the barbecue night with campfire. The three days that i spent here were three days of my life well lived and i hope it would be the same for everyone coming to visit this slice of paradise.

Eric Paul

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thodupuzha, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I've been staying for 3 days at the Deep Woods Resort. The stay was really nice and so are the staff, in the end I was almost sorry to leave.
Entering the room, it was clean and quiet (couldn't hear a noise). The bathroom is also spacious and very clean. The shower seems to be bigger than my house.

Very rich and tasty breakfast, I love scrambled eggs, and I found the best around. We enjoyed our breakfast which kept us full to skip our lunches most of the days we stayed there.
It is a great starting point for nice walking tours. Having stayed in City centre hotels this was a great break. Have been recommending to most people I know. Hospitality, Food quality and the environment are great. Very beautifully maintained and run.

These are the things that made me enjoy my stay at this hotel, but my warmest congratulations to the hotel for their choice of personnel. They know how to really make you feel at home, and if you need anything it is like asking a family member. Congratulations from the heart, you were fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ram4u25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kottayam, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Went to Munnar during on the 25th of Jan and again stayed at deepwoods. Earlier the resort was named as Pulimootil Estates and they changed the name recently. The best thing about this resort is that there are cottages of different sizes; two to five bedroom cottages are there. This time I went with a bigger group of 15 people and we took a five bedroom bungalow. We had a lot more fun bcoz we all stayed at the same bungalow. I couldn't find this kind of flexible room options anywhere else in Munnar. They also provided us a campfire(exclusively to our bungalow) along with facilities to prepare barbecue (Grill and Coal). Complimentary continental breakfast was also provided. They added a new restaurant to their infrastructure which was an issue I faced last time I went. Highly recommended for the flexible room options and the facilities they provide.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JainJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
18.6 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
3.5 mi away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 13 in Chithirapuram
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
5.1 mi away
Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts
5.0 mi away
Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deep Woods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deep Woods Resort

Property: Deep Woods Resort
Address: Mankulam Road, Near Letchmi Tea Estate, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 95 Hotels in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Deep Woods Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deep Woods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing