We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of options. Good Experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Deep Woods Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Deep Woods Resort
Ranked #22 of 95 Hotels in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence
Kottayam, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Plenty of options. Good Experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Went to Munnar during on the 25th of Jan and again stayed at deepwoods. Earlier the resort was named as Pulimootil Estates and they changed the name recently. The best thing about this resort is that there are cottages of different sizes; two to five bedroom cottages are there. This time I went with a bigger group of 15 people and we took a five bedroom bungalow. We had a lot more fun bcoz we all stayed at the same bungalow. I couldn't find this kind of flexible room options anywhere else in Munnar. They also provided us a campfire(exclusively to our bungalow) along with facilities to prepare barbecue (Grill and Coal). Complimentary continental breakfast was also provided. They added a new restaurant to their infrastructure which was an issue I faced last time I went. Highly recommended for the flexible room options and the facilities they provide.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JainJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    69
    24
    18
    17
See reviews for
141
42
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Thrissur, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

in this busy life, this is what we want . the location is really deep inside the woods as the name suggests...they took me away from the rush of the town to a calm and lovely place.. the ride to the location was too good. rooms were beautiful and neat and in all ranges which we need. the reception which we got was great and the staff greeted well... the surprise came with the camp fire at the night when the temperature dropped to below 10. that was a great experience and later at night they took us into the forest for a walk with the full moon shining above us. it was totally cool.the morning was the best, with the nature as silent as never before.. the food was really tasty, thanks to the chef n the room service was always a call away. a really good place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nidhin_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

To begin with, "Deep Woods" is an apt name for this resort. Unlike many hotels and resorts in Munnar, this one is locaed deep in the woods. If you are a forest lover, or looking for sme peaceful time amidst a forest, this is the resort for you. It is quite far from Munnar town, but who expects a forest in the middle of a town. So distance from the town was not a problem for me. We had called up the reception and asked for directions and so we could drive all the way to the resort by ourwelves without much confusion. As soon as we reached the place, we were greeted warmly by the staff. This resort is more like an estate with many cottages which are quite far from one another which gives you the privacy that you need, Each cottage is different from one another in terms of number of bedrooms and also infrastructure. If you want a single room instead of a whole cottage, such rooms are also available. we went as a group and hence chose a 3 bhk cottage. Rooms were all well furnished and maintained. Another speciality here is that they have a couple here as care-takers for evry cottage. They are very down to earth and take care of all your needs. Restaurant was quite far from where we stayed but there was a jeep which took us from one place to another. We had breakfast and dinner from there. Food was really good that we could not come up with any complaints.
If you a morning person. get ready for a small trekking. They showed us the whole place around, where we also listened to mornng birds of munnar. They even took us to a nearby waterfall and a tree house. It was a wonderful experience for us. At night they arranged a campfire for us which we really enjoyed. And one more thing, there is no mobile reception at this place, hence without any disturbance from the outside world, we had a peaceful and quiet stay at deep woods. Overall we had a great time here and looking forward to visiting here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjv12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Location: One thing you must know about this hotel is that the location is as deep as it can get. The good part is the road to the hotel and surroundings are just fabulous - a treat for your eyes. The downside is you go too deep into Munnar, that getting to a city takes you 20-30 mins which means for any nearby visit one has to plan accordingly.

About the resort: Spread across a large estate, with discrete and distant cottages/ rooms. One can enjoy/ feel the calmness around

Rooms: We stayed in a cottage, the rooms were clean but average built (old construction). We had issues with water supply and heating, but the staff managed to get it sorted.

Room service/ dining: There are no nearby restaurants, thus, one has to eat at the resort. There is a dining area but it is not like a regular restaurant. While the breakfast is complementary, for lunch & dinner one has to pre order meal around 2 hrs in advance. Food quality is ok.

Staff: Staff is courteous, but sloppy. we asked for 2 additional blankets and it took them ages to get those.

Booking issue: We booked 2 rooms through an online portal, however, the hotel reception, screwed up and thought we had book only 1 room. However, they corrected for this and put us on a cottage.

Room Tip: Two things - there is no mobile network, hence, the only way to communicate is through the phone at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wild_Styln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Munnar is an amazingly beautiful place with hills and hills of tea estates.
We reached Munnar in 12 hours from bangalore. Deep woods location is excellent. Rooms are clean, food was the only area where they have room for improvement. As we were 2 families, We had a 2bhk bungalow with amazing view from the balcony.
This bunglow stay was a complete value for money. The waterfall inside the property was a lovely trek of 1.5 kms which we did with our kids.
I really loved our stay in Deep woods. Will recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Beauty281081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Go there only if you have nothing else to do in munnar and you haven't been to a good hill station earlier.
It is about 12-15 km from the main habitation and thus,cut off from other things.you are dependent for everything on the hotel staff,who are rude and very casual in their approach towards any problem, if you don't happen to be a foriegner!
the staff wasn't awre of our arrival even when i had called them on my way an hour and half in advance asking for the directions.the room was not ready.there was no hot water for bath,nothing to eat after that since the breakfast time was over and it was still time for lunch.
the housekeeping was courteous enough to ask me to a cottage supposedly for foriegners which was the only place in the whole resort where i could get hot water.in the middle of the bath i get knocked on the door and asked to come out and get back to the room where a bucket of warm water had been arranged after a long time.of course, i refuse.
Thankfully, my senior citizen parents got out of that place in a day without falling sick or otherwise. the temp at night was 10 deg cel as told by the staff and all that we were given were very flimsy and thin single blankets each.I had to get up at night and wear cashmere sweater to ward off the chill.
after having a lonnng journey reaching there,a curt and rude face asks you to gobble whatever there is as if it is a favour that is being done to us.he tells you that you are going to be charged for this ,and that this was for your information only.And believe you me,it actually felt like an obligation on to us.
The only positive thing was the person who got the bookings done through a conversation over the phone.

PLEASE don't visit this place if you have kids or old people or any other person who could be vulnerable in any manner for whom you might need to have any assisstance.

Room Tip: take a cottage only if you have to.rooms are ill provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garima23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Deep Woods Resort is located at a beautiful place, far from the madding crowd.. Its a peaceful place away from the noisy streets of Munnar town. The people there are hospitable, helpful and the quality of food is very good, so much like home made food

The resort bungalows are located in a deep green forest with excellent view. The bungalows are independent and having maximum privacy

I would suggest this resort for anyone who would want to stay away from mundane city disturbances for family weekend or honeymoon or likewise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urmila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
18.6 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
3.5 mi away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 13 in Chithirapuram
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
5.1 mi away
Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts
5.0 mi away
Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deep Woods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deep Woods Resort

Property: Deep Woods Resort
Address: Mankulam Road, Near Letchmi Tea Estate, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 95 Hotels in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Deep Woods Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deep Woods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing