We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of SpiceTree Munnar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SpiceTree Munnar
Ranked #1 of 108 Hotels in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Amazing situation and service! Very friendly staff who helped to organise a bird watching walk for us. The bedroom was large and comfortable. Do make use of all the complimentary activities - yoga, walks to dolmens and plantations, tea tasting :)

We liked that they were using solar power for hot water, using locally made soap and jam, not using plastic bottles - all great Eco friendly touches!

A real find!!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank egelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hybeen, Owner at SpiceTree Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Warm greetings from Spice Tree Munnar.

Thank you very much for choosing Spice Tree for your recent stay in Munnar . It was a delight to have your valuable feed back.

We are happy that your stay with us was excellent and services rendered by our team were to your expectations.

We look forward to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 490 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

Within 5 minutes of reaching the resort, we knew were in for a treat. Extremely warm welcome and the quickest check in is what you need after a long journey - and they just nailed it. Didnt even realise when we finished our check in and were in our room. Everything about the resort if just exceptional. Rooms (large, spacious, well built, private jacuzzi etc), Service (the best we have ever seen), Food - brilliant, Location - superb. With no second thoughts, this should be the on first priority when it comes to hotels in Munnar

Room Tip: They have only 14 rooms, and all are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akash A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hybeen, Owner at SpiceTree Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

It is heartwarming to read your kind words of endorsement of the features and services at Spice Tree . We all feel motivated reading your holiday experience, which you have shared. Hope to serve you again in the near future. Thank you once again!,,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

It's difficult to over-praise this world-class resort: the location, on the side of the hill overlooking a beautiful valley, is unbeatable (though a little hard to reach), the service impeccable, the accommodations truly delightful and the food, dear god, the food....
We made good use of the morning yoga, the massage services, and the hot tub in the room. We learned about Keralan food via a complimentary cooking class given by the extremely accommodating chef and his staff, about tea via a daily tea tasting. And a side trip to the neighboring tea museum was fun and interesting.
Our room, #103, had a good view of the valley below and a terrific view of a mountain to one side. As the morning sun came up, the mountain seemed to light up as if with a spotlight. It was breathtaking.
We spent three nights and were very reluctant to leave. This is the nicest place we've stayed at in all of India and among the nicest places we've visited anywhere.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have good views and excellent amenities. Our room, #103, seemed especially wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elija7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hybeen, Owner at SpiceTree Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

We all at Spice Tree are grateful to you for sharing your experience at Spice Tree. We all feel honoured and motivated reading your candid words of appreciation and pats. Your review about our facilities and food is indeed a warm welcome to many readers who would visit us in the future !! Thank you and looking forward to see you again! Cheers!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We went on a short Weekend trip to India to get away from it all.
The Spicetree Munnar was the perfect choice.
A very spacious room with terrace, great views and Jacuzzi! All very clean and new!
The staff was very attentive and friendly. We were taken on two of the numerous activities the Hotel has to offer, accompanied by knowlegeable hotel staff. Always in good hands.
Great surrounding with Tea plantation....and sooooooo green.
Food in the hotels Restaurant was delicious and had all you could ask for!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars_Anja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hybeen, Owner at SpiceTree Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for writing a great review about your holiday experiences!!.your accolades about our team is indeed motivating. We hope to see you again, cheers!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We concluded our 2-week trip around Southern India with a 2-night stay in this beautiful place. Wow! It was like being in a tree house when we were in our room (# 102).
We loved the fact that it was a small resort (only 14 rooms - if I remember correctly) so it wasn't busy and teeming with lots of people. it was quiet, felt secluded and just so very peaceful.
Our room was most luxurious and spacious. Our bathroom had a big shower as well as a jacuzzi tub right under the window so you could enjoy the most wonderful view down into the valley and beyond.
The food was most delicious and plentiful and the staff was very friendly and prompt.
I got to enjoy two different kinds of their spa treatment with Rakhi, a most delightful young woman practitioner.
I'd definitely would love to go back to this resort. It might be a little out of the way but it's so worth it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosieLie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hybeen, Owner at SpiceTree Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

We all at Spice Tree are greatful to you for recommending our facilities and staff services. We would be delighted if we could host you in the near future. We thank you once again for your accolades with personal touch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed at Spice Tree Munnar recently and I must say it was an enjoyable experience. The location is beautiful, the staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The resort also has a lot of activities that you can participate in, including tea plantation and sunset walks. We stayed there for 2 nights, but we felt we should have stayed longer. Keep up the good work!

Kind regards,
Nikita

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niksrajput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hybeen, Owner at SpiceTree Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

It is heartwarming to read your kind words of endorsement of the features and services at Spice Tree . Thank you for recommending our staff services and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Kindest regards.
Hybeen Thomas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We'd Booked 3 rooms there for 3 nights and e could not be more happy with the staff, the hotel and the owner Hybeen Thomas! All our activities were just awesome, Arjun who accompanied us on all our hikes and excursion was simply amazing. Each and every person at the hotel was equally helpful, wish I could remember everyone's names and give then our thanks for making our vacation so special!! We will be going back there in 2 years....

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Bhavesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hybeen, Owner at SpiceTree Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Our entire team is overwhelmed by your heartfelt words of appreciation . We are glad that you have such high appreciation for our services and activities . We would like to express our bouquet of gratitude for remembering all of us by our names. Looking forward for hosting you again. Thank you once again.
Hybeen Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
8.7 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
8.6 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 15 in Chithirapuram
1,076 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Fog Resort & Spa
The Fog Resort & Spa
#1 of 15 in Chithirapuram
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#2 of 8 in Pothamedu
762 reviews
8 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#2 of 15 in Chithirapuram
1,060 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#3 of 15 in Chithirapuram
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpiceTree Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpiceTree Munnar

Address: Muttukad - Periakanal Road | Chinnakanal, Munnar 685618, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 108 Hotels in Munnar
Price Range: $209 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SpiceTree Munnar 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the most pristine mountain ranges of Kanan Devan and Bison Valley Hills, Munnar, the charming chalets of Spice Tree offer the perfect tranquility for a genuine 'mountain retreat' with incredible views of the verdant valleys below. Here, you will feel a positive transformation and a well- being that cannot be described in words. Your inner voice will keep reminding you how invaluable peace of mind can be. Your memory bank will absorb images that will remain with you for the rest of your life. The constant cool and fresh breeze comes blended with the scent of wild forest flowers and the spicy mist adorned aroma of leaves and bark. You will begin to feel a spontaneous and inseparable oneness with the elements of nature which evokes a spirituality that you may not have experienced before. Activities to indulge in include: plantation walks, tea garden treks and jeep safari, hiking, spa sessions, yoga, Jacuzzi and swimming pool, bird watching, cooking sessions, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your SpiceTree Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing