We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinnar Wildlife Sactuary”

Chinnar Wildlife Sanctuary
Ranked #14 of 65 things to do in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Chinnar Wildlife Sactuary”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Chinnar is about 97 kms from munnar in the Munnar-udumalpettai road . There are bus services connecting Chinnar ( munnar-udumal pettai buses) . Road is almost isolated and there are no feul stations until you reach marayur so make sure that you have enough fuel in your vehicle .Road is narrow but good till Indiara gandhi wildlife sactuary . There are many waterfalls on the way and good accommodation facility is available in Marayur ( Chandana resorts ) . Places that can be covered en route to udumalpet is Marayur and Indira Gandhi Wildlife sanctuary . As the road connecting munnar and udumalpet passes through chinnar and Indira Gandhi wildlife sanctuary , no permission required for passing through the forest area except 2 check posts at the kerala-tamilnadu border.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank sudhish_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    71
    32
    15
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Great!!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is one brilliantly green paradise where you can literally get lost for hours in serene surroundings. And yes, we did see many flora and fauna...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ajitkps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just the drive through”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Drove through the sanctuary. Bad roads so was cursing the government all through. But the time you reach the end of the sanctuary you have winding roads with the hill on one side and a deep cliff on the other. Really a drive fanatic's paradise

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kannan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Absolutely thrilled!”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We consciously took the Udumalpet-Amaravathi route to Munnar. It was absolutely worth it! Immediately after the checkpost to the Anamalai Tiger reserve, there is another check post at which you can ask for a guide and walk up to the watch tower that is inside the forest (Cost for the guide is Rs. 50 and the entrance fee is Rs. 20 per head). It is about a 300 m trek inside. The watch tower is about 200 feet high and has a good view of the surroundings. On a good day, the sightings can be exciting. We had the bad luck of going there just after a garrulous and loud group of people who definitely would have scared away any wildlife in the area! However, we saw a large sambar and several birds. The guide has no clue of the bird life or the wild life there, no knowledge of the names! How nice it would be if there was someone who knew the area and could educate people!

We continued our drive and came across several healthy groups of hanuman langur. The highlight was the sighting of a female elephant. As soon a we parked, she saw us and made straight for us. When she was about 10 feet away, we quickly went away. We saw a huge tusker too. He was a lovely healthy specimen and was contentedly muching away on his lunch! We did see quite a few birds but could not stop since it is prohibited within the sanctuary.

I have heard that there is a forest guest house where you can spend a day with permission, but we didn't do that. On the whole, we were ecstatic with our experiences there.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank GitaBhukta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Decent wildlife sightings!!”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Drove through Chinnar wildlife sanctuary during end of April. Spotted several macaques and a elephant herd on the road side. The sanctuary is partly dry during April. The bad part is there are many check-posts where you have to come out of your vehicle to register your entry and the guard there expects tip and asks outright.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleming_Joseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinnar Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

 
Munnar, Idukki District
Munnar, Idukki District
 

Been to Chinnar Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing