We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth of money.”

Punarjani Traditional Village
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Andhrapradesh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth of money.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Its really excellent... you will feel worth of each rupee.. you will get the tradition of keral here. If you want to spend money on Kathakali performance and kalaripayattu you can put that money here..

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LavanyaCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    267
    79
    25
    25
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bravo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We saw the Kathakali show (5pm)

Get there early as the seats start to fill up around 4:30 for the Drama show. You can catch them putting on their wild makeup.

There is an MC who speaks in pretty decent English, but you don't need an explanation to feel the emotion of the traditional dance.

There's some food stands next door, I had a bag of Lays Masala and Lime, they were good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CiaoMille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Kathakali dance drama and the Kalaripayattu traditional martial arts of Kerala shows are both excellent and worth watching. The quality of dance and singing were both excellent, and so was the martial arts show. My family also had a chat later with the performers - it was amazing to see their devotion to the art and the way they see God in this form of art. The martial arts person was explaining that they view this art as being above the seven chakras in the human body. To symbolise this, they have an altar in one corner of the performance hall (a pit in a sense). There are seven layers of lamps on the altar, each signifying one of the chakras. And above these, they place their shield to suggest this form of art can be used to rise above the body! One note of caution - the organisers tend to overcrowd the place on last minute bookings - there is no such thing as capacity restricted by fire safety norms. So book the tickets early, and reach early to be sure.

Attached to this is also a traditional Kerala massage centre. We tried this too, and frankly both my wife and I thought it was not as good as we expected. The price was also higher than one would pay for something similar in Mumbai, and the ambience was not as good. To me, this was a disappointment.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tn_giridhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Kathakali Show”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Kathakali Show at Punarjani is a must see. The dancers do a great job of giving a background of the art-form before the performance. The live music and singing is also pretty good.
Some tips:
Book the tickets a day in advance to get good seats, else you may be disappointed since the view from the back is not good. Look for seats before the 5th row or on the right side balcony.
Arrive at the venue atleast 30 min before the show to see the dancers get ready with face-painting.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelguru_pune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
113 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We went for Martial Arts show. and it was amaziiiiiinnnnnggg. best thing to see in munnar. performers are so talented, but unfortunately this type of talent is not recognised in our country. its so fascinating to watch them perform with different weapons and fire. we simply loved it and enjoyed every bit of it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mili821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punarjani Traditional Village also viewed

 
Munnar, Idukki District
 

Been to Punarjani Traditional Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing