We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Munnar Trip”
Review of Swiss County

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swiss County
Ranked #5 of 207 Munnar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The property was amazing with an excellent view of the hills and an out of the world sunrise.
With the Tea Gardens at a walkable distance, and attractions like boat ride and childrens park nearby, the location was very nice too.

Loved the suite and the restaurant

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandeep K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 571 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

A small hotel with just nine rooms. Great view of the mountains and sunrise. Reception is up one floor from the street and has two rooms on that level, which is where we were. The restaurant is on the roof, but meals seem to be more often served in the rooms. We had dinner up there one night and it was very pleasant, the food was very good too. Staff are all very helpful and work hard to be hospitable.

The rooms are now airconditioned, but there is a surcharge for their use. We did not need to use it during our stay. The inroom internet was free.

Room Tip: The rooms on the reception level are the best ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank friday_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

I had been recommended this property from one of my friends who had stayed there and Swiss County definitely lived up to all expectations. Rooms are well maintained and garden and surrounding view is amazing. Staff is very friendly and professional and service is top notch. Food is very good as well. Overall an amazing stay at a premium property. Definitely recommended if you happen to stay in Munnar.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mesh_2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Swiss County. Its just a few kilometers away from Munnar Town, design and aesthetic is too good, The entire property is very clean and well maintained. Restaurant serves all types of food and it is located in the roof top.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PraharshRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed there for a day and I must say that it was a world class experience to stay there. Amazing hospitality, nice view, good food, cycle ride, etc made my hodiday really special. Deserves the extra bucks that you will pay here. Having traveled across the world, I certainly have a lot to write back home experience from this place.

Room Tip: I recommend you to go out on a cycle ride with your beloved amidst the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gaurav C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

When planning a holiday trip with our child aged 1 year, main criteria we look into will be hygeine. Yes, that was the reason we chose Swiss County. We(me,my husband and kid) had been to Munnar during February 2014 and stayed 2 days at Swiss County. Whole property is well maintained. Outdoor garden view was spectacular.Rooms were spacious with complimentary Wifi, staffs were friendly and completely professionals. Food was delicious and we had a pleasant memorable stay there. We recommend Swiss County to others as well.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Achu_DeepuChandran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We visited Munnar 5 days back with our family (wife and son) and stayed at Swiss County. To our pleasant surprise, we were auto upgraded to Alpine Suite even though we had booked Swiss Regalia. The staff was very friendly and helpful throughout. Our Suite had an amazing valley view and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Mainly, the food was simply superb. We had Vegetarian food and it was very very tasty. Also, the room service was prompt and awesome. My son had lot of fun and the Suite was really big for my him and his mother to play 'hide and seek' in it :-). We had a memorable stay here and strongly recommend this place to anyone planning a stay at Munnar.

Room Tip: Ask for Valley View Rooms, the Sunrise is a great treat to watch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamkumarJHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.7 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 15 in Chithirapuram
1,075 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#3 of 15 in Chithirapuram
681 reviews
1 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#2 of 15 in Chithirapuram
1,060 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Fog Resort & Spa
The Fog Resort & Spa
#1 of 15 in Chithirapuram
833 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Panoramic Getaway
The Panoramic Getaway
#5 of 15 in Chithirapuram
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss County

Address: Chithirapuram PO | Pallivasal, Munnar 685565, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 207 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range: $77 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swiss County 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty mountains. Lush green forests. Gurgling streams. Cool Clime. It’s for all these reasons and more that the British referred to Munnar as the ‘Switzerland of India’. Here tucked away in a cozy nook is Swiss County, a small jewel in Munnar’s Crown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Swiss County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing