We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Location”
Review of Swiss County

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swiss County
Ranked #6 of 181 Munnar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Location”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This was our second visit to munnar. We selected this hotel after reading all the reviews about this place. Truly, this hotel is amazing. Beautiful tea gardens are just 5 mins walk away from place. The food is excellent and always fresh. For a small hotel with just seven rooms, they have really done a great job. Will be visiting again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richag1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    118
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
173
271
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a real gem. The rooms are very modern and the location is just lovely but the real stand out here is the exceptional staff and tasty food.

The staff cannot do enough to please you, they show great warmth from the moment you step into the property and demonstrate 5 star hospitality (but not over the top!) for the entirety of your stay.

We ate in the restaurant both nights , the food was delicious! A couple of highlights were the paneer makani (so yummy!!) and aloo jeera.

One final piece I should mention is the view from the room; just magical. Everyone should visit Munnar.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kottayam, Kerala, India
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Excellent location.The resort in itself is located in an extremely scenic location. This makes it even more exceptional since you have just beauty around you. View from the rooms are breath taking. We were there with our family. The food was good and staff very courteous..A complete togetherness with self and nature...........roaming on the coutyard on sunny mornings...enjoying variety of restaurant food sitting at the restaurant...cherising wonderful picturesque through the window...a total savour of mind and intellect to rejuvenate self away from madding crowd...The rooms were very spic and span.We enjoyed our stay .People want to be close to nature i think this is the idle resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed at Swiss County Munnar in October 2012. The guesthouse has a tasteful, modern, clean decor and is extremely inviting. The staff is well trained, and genuinely helpful. They not only made us feel at home, but also helped us out in areas they didn't really need to. For example, they let us use their desktop computer for a whole night when we couldn't connect our laptops to the network. They even happily bought us some alcohol from the local store when asked. The young, polite staff are examples of what good customer service means.
The guesthouse itself is so beautiful that you wish you owned that place. All the rooms have excellent views of the mountains and the suites facing the mountains have huge balconies. The kitchen and dining area on the lower level is modern, cozy and perfect for a family lunch or dinner.
We were traveling with our parents and they were so overwhelmed at the luxury of and view from the place that it justified us staying at this higher placed guesthouse as opposed to another.
We really fell in love with this place and the service and wish we could get this deal during all our travel expeditions!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Payal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2013

we had a beautiful 3N stay at the Swiss county-16th-19th November 2013. we had booked Alpine Suite which has a sprawling 700 sq ft area with a separate drawing room, a kitchenette and a bedroom with a balcony overlooking the hills. the terrace has Alphorn restaurant which gives you a splendid view of the surrounding hills. each and every item in the hotel starting from the entrance to the rooms and the terrace has been tastefully done and is just PERFECT!! highly recommended for those who want to spend a quite holiday and specially for the ones with small kids/babies as the rooms provide ample space for them to move around and play. Special Thanks to Jolly James- Hotel manager for arranging our cab to Alleppey on a short notice!

Room Tip: Choose Alpine Suite- there are only two of them Rooms # 105 and 106.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pretti2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Tastefully done up , great location and lovely people who looked after us. However is far (about 20 minutes) from Munnar town. But our agenda was relaxation more than sight seeing, so ticked all the boxes for us. Recommend it to people who love to be away from the hustle bustle of the town. Simple homely food another plus.

Room Tip: Take a valley facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shilpalokras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The views from the suites are breathtaking and there's a tea plantation five minutes away. The suites and nicely done up and well kept - the hotel looks spanking new. The hotel by itself has nothing other than a small lobby, a rooftop restaurant and the guest rooms (not even a small lawn or garden). Unfortunately the resort is located 5-7 kms from Munnar town (almost 30 minutes in that terrain) and Munnar's main tourist attractions (museum, dam, Top Station, etc.) are all a minimum of 45 minutes away. I was a little disappointed that they didn't have a spa (probably because all the space they have has been devoted to their suites)! The food was below average (and we tried Indian, Italian and Chinese - all were bad). The staff was very courteous and helpful, and made our stay very comfortable.

Room Tip: Alpine suites have a great view - definitely worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SakshamaPuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.7 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#3 of 14 in Chithirapuram
872 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 14 in Chithirapuram
491 reviews
1.0 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#1 of 14 in Chithirapuram
949 reviews
1.0 mi away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
383 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#1 of 8 in Pothamedu
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss County

Property: Swiss County
Address: Chithirapuram PO | Pallivasal, Munnar 685565, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swiss County 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty mountains. Lush green forests. Gurgling streams. Cool Clime. It’s for all these reasons and more that the British referred to Munnar as the ‘Switzerland of India’. Here tucked away in a cozy nook is Swiss County, a small jewel in Munnar’s Crown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Swiss County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing