We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kollenkeril Plantation Home-Stay Bungalow
Ranked #31 of 201 Munnar B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We felt as if we were guests staying with friends. Our room was beautiful with a lovely verandah and glorious views. Joseph was the perfect host and gave us a wonderful tour of the plantation. His brother, James, is an excellent cook who shared some of his secrets with me. We were very well fed and enjoyed the feeling of being so close to nature in this gorgeous spot.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BMS2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 106 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

Joseph, the property caretaker, and his crew run a beautifully kept and situated property. They are incredibly kind, and the hospitality is genuine.

When my wife and I arrived, I had picked up a pretty nasty stomach bug in Mumbai and was in a bad way. Joseph immediately made tinctures for me out of fresh ginger juice and local raw honey that helped set me toward recovery. Once I started to feel better, they made food specifically catered toward healing an ailing stomach. It's these kinds of things that go above and beyond expectations for accomodation.

If you have an interest in botany and spices, make sure not to miss Joseph's tour of the plantation. They primarily grow cardomam and robusta coffee, and also have examples of almost every spice and tropical fruit grown in the region.

Make sure not to miss beauty of this property and the excellent hospitality of the people who run it.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank ChrisBlanco2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Talk about a billion dollar view! Kollekeril is nestled next to the main highway that goes into Munnar, but far enough from the road so that you don't hear any traffic, and have a full panoramic view of the mountains--unobstructed by trees.
My wife and I arrived without having booked any tours because we just wanted to relax, and get away from the noise of a city. Mr. Joseph, and his son, Jibin, recommended plenty of activities, and sites to see, at our choosing. We were warmly welcomed by Mr. Joseph (or "Joy" as he is affectionately called) with two glasses of ginger lemon tea. He asked us when we wanted dinner (which is a nice change!), and showed us to our room.
We were gobsmacked! The room was so cozy, and overlooked the mountains. Every morning we could wake up, open our shutter doors, and take in the serene surrounding and mountain breeze blowing through our room. There was a wardrobe that had a secure lock on it too, so that we could lock away any valuables, and feel safe. The room was worth every penny!

Jibn offered to accompany us on our day trips to the different sites, and basically waited patiently for us wherever we went. He was extremely accommodating, and thoughtful. He even came with us on his day off from work to show us around!
Mr. James, Mr. Joseph's brother, is the cook--and a very passionate one at that! He is always smiling (seriously, I can't recall one moment where he wasn't smiling, or laughing!). He always asked us what we wanted to eat, and he even offered to show us how to make the various traditional dishes he cooked us (I regretfully didn't have a chance to take him up on his offer).
Finally, Mr. Joseph connected us to a man named, Rajeev ("Kuttettan" is his nickname), who took us on an unforgettable hike to the top of the mountain that overlooks Kollenkeril. Kuttettan really loves nature, and is extremely knowledgeable about the wildlife around Munnar. I very much highly recommend his hike, which is very inexpensive!

Overall, I have never met such a group of wonderful people, who are passionate about giving people a memorable experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the room overlooking the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank michaellyonsca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Our stay in this attractive house about 10 Kms from Munnar was enhanced by friendly manager Joseph, who showed us how cardamom, coffee and bananas are cultivated. The half-wild garden has its surprises: a rose arch, a grotto, a ladder leading to a bronze goat. The house is a masterpiece of traditional carved rosewood. The lawn of springy grass and an iron tower look down over the forest. The town of Munnar itself is chaotic and not attractive so we were glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Uplyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This place is very special. We spent 2 nights there in October on our 9-night Kerala tour, and it was the best. The views from the room are spectacular and very peaceful. There are mountains, clouds beneath the mountain peaks, trees, flowers, birds - a panorama of wildlife and amazing landscape. This was one advantage. The other was Joseph and his team's friendliness and hospitality. We felt not only like important guests, but like family members. The food was delicious and prepared with care and pride. I was invited by the cook to see how my favorite dish was prepared. We were also invited by Joseph for a plantation tour, saw how the spices grow and how cardamom is processed. Joseph walked with us to show us a beautiful shrine in the countryside.
The room was basic but nice, big and comfortable. We spent hours reading on the veranda, and had tea, coffe and cookies brought to us.
I wholeheartedly recommend this place for anyone who loves nature and wants to know the true spirit of Indian hospitality.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Pruszkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I only stayed here for 1 night but this is a very special place. A lovely traditional wooden house set on the edge of a hill top offering spectacular views of the hills and valleys below. Simple and basic rooms but clean and spacious. The rooms are not air conditioned but you really do not need it as the climate is a lot cooler on the Hill Station than down in the towns. The rooms do not have a TV but there is a TV in the main lounge that also has very good wi-fi access. The surrounding plantation and gardens are just lovely and I spent a really tranquil 30 minutes up in the tree house just taking in the beauty and serenity of the view. Great home style food and a very warm welcome from the owner and staff. Will come back for sure and spend a couple more nights there!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NeilBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here for a single night on a cycling trip with Kalypso Adventures (also highly recommended).
This is a lovely, authentic Indian home-stay. A warm welcome from the owner, a tour of the lovely spice garden (mind the leeches!!), and a beautiful traditional wooden house. The rooms are spacious and lovely....but we were made welcome to use the main house for the sitting room (with WiFi) . The food was some of the best we had on the trip....we were asked what we liked and how spicey we liked it. Highly recommended.
The house is about 20k from Munnar, just off the main road. For any cyclists....there is a longer, but lovely route to Munnar off the main road, through tea plantations.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spd15ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.0 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 15 in Chithirapuram
1,009 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#2 of 8 in Pothamedu
744 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sceva's Garden Home
Sceva's Garden Home
#8 of 187 in Munnar
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anna Homestay
Anna Homestay
#1 of 16 in Chithirapuram
174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Neelakurunji Luxury Plantation Bungalow
0.0 mi away
Kaivalyam Retreat
Kaivalyam Retreat
#2 of 201 in Munnar
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kollenkeril Plantation Home-Stay Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kollenkeril Plantation Home-Stay Bungalow

Address: Karadippara, Munnar 685611, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 201 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range: $92 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional Kerala style Bungalow is located right in the wilderness of Munnar hills. Its layout blended harmoniously with the local carpentry, steeply pitched tile roofs decorated with simple and neat gables, inward cut verandahs and contoured ledges forming the front facing east make Kollenkeril bungalow a very private space who loves privacy and relaxation. Welcome to Kollenkeril Plantation Home-stay Bungalow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kollenkeril Plantation Home-Stay Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing