We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views, tranquility and outstanding hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kollenkeril Plantation Home-Stay Bungalow
Ranked #31 of 198 Munnar B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This place is very special. We spent 2 nights there in October on our 9-night Kerala tour, and it was the best. The views from the room are spectacular and very peaceful. There are mountains, clouds beneath the mountain peaks, trees, flowers, birds - a panorama of wildlife and amazing landscape. This was one advantage. The other was Joseph and his team's friendliness and hospitality. We felt not only like important guests, but like family members. The food was delicious and prepared with care and pride. I was invited by the cook to see how my favorite dish was prepared. We were also invited by Joseph for a plantation tour, saw how the spices grow and how cardamom is processed. Joseph walked with us to show us a beautiful shrine in the countryside.
The room was basic but nice, big and comfortable. We spent hours reading on the veranda, and had tea, coffe and cookies brought to us.
I wholeheartedly recommend this place for anyone who loves nature and wants to know the true spirit of Indian hospitality.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Pruszkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 105 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

I only stayed here for 1 night but this is a very special place. A lovely traditional wooden house set on the edge of a hill top offering spectacular views of the hills and valleys below. Simple and basic rooms but clean and spacious. The rooms are not air conditioned but you really do not need it as the climate is a lot cooler on the Hill Station than down in the towns. The rooms do not have a TV but there is a TV in the main lounge that also has very good wi-fi access. The surrounding plantation and gardens are just lovely and I spent a really tranquil 30 minutes up in the tree house just taking in the beauty and serenity of the view. Great home style food and a very warm welcome from the owner and staff. Will come back for sure and spend a couple more nights there!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NeilBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here for a single night on a cycling trip with Kalypso Adventures (also highly recommended).
This is a lovely, authentic Indian home-stay. A warm welcome from the owner, a tour of the lovely spice garden (mind the leeches!!), and a beautiful traditional wooden house. The rooms are spacious and lovely....but we were made welcome to use the main house for the sitting room (with WiFi) . The food was some of the best we had on the trip....we were asked what we liked and how spicey we liked it. Highly recommended.
The house is about 20k from Munnar, just off the main road. For any cyclists....there is a longer, but lovely route to Munnar off the main road, through tea plantations.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spd15ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We loved Munnar, it was our favourite part of India, and this was a nice place to stay there.
We felt very welcome by Joseph and his team. At the time, we were the only guests staying there, and we felt very safe and well attended to.
The building itself is quite beautiful, but the view you wake up to every morning, overlooking the hills is spectacular.
You will sleep beautifully, there's no noise to wake you up.
The accomodation itself is on the basic side, it's a historic building afterall. But there were little niggling problems like running our of hot water ( this happened most places in India though), a few ants in the bathroom and when I asked to borrow a hairdryer unfortunately it too was full of ants. I think they could do with a bit of fumigating.
This was not enough to put us off though, it really was a nice place to stay.
The food is wonderful. We had both the breakfast and the dinner and they give you such a wonderful tasty array to choose from, you will be very satisfied.
Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was a great place to finish our holiday, as an end of holiday treat we spent more than we did elsewhere but we are glad we did.

Joseph and his family are super friendly. He showed us around the plantation, we met his wife (amazing flowers) and we helped with some of cooking (rolling chapatis).

The view is simply incredible, probably the most picturesque cu of tea I've ever had!

It was just us and a very friendly Indian family staying there during our stay which was nice as it was very quiet.

Great place,

Finn & Anna

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FinnClaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Me and my wife in Kollenkeril for a couple of nights in late March and thoroughly enjoyed it. The property itself is wonderful and has some spectacular views. Joseph and his staff were exceptional. It's also conveniently located, so exploring the Munnar was fairly easy. The best part was that we were the only guests.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the property that faces the valley. It's a great place to sit and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mr G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Warm welcome, comfortable rustic rooms, excellent home cooked food and superb views. This area is very beautiful and the terrace is a perfect spot to enjoy the scenery, the birds and the spice garden. Mr Joey is very keen for guests to learn about the plantation and to sample as much as possible of the local food. We were booked in here by the excellent Musafir Tours which seems to have a special arrangement. Would love to go back and spend more time there.

Room Tip: The end rooms are more private although the one nearest the kitchen is a little less peaceful in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xirned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.0 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
541 reviews
0.0 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 15 in Chithirapuram
978 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sceva's Garden Home
Sceva's Garden Home
#9 of 180 in Munnar
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Neelakurunji Luxury Plantation Bungalow
0.0 mi away
Anna Homestay
Anna Homestay
#2 of 16 in Chithirapuram
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kaivalyam Retreat
Kaivalyam Retreat
#2 of 198 in Munnar
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kollenkeril Plantation Home-Stay Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kollenkeril Plantation Home-Stay Bungalow

Address: Karadippara, Munnar 685611, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 198 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range: $92 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional Kerala style Bungalow is located right in the wilderness of Munnar hills. Its layout blended harmoniously with the local carpentry, steeply pitched tile roofs decorated with simple and neat gables, inward cut verandahs and contoured ledges forming the front facing east make Kollenkeril bungalow a very private space who loves privacy and relaxation. Welcome to Kollenkeril Plantation Home-stay Bungalow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kollenkeril Plantation Home-Stay Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing