We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kollenkeril Plantation Home-Stay Bungalow
Ranked #32 of 181 Munnar B&B and Inns
Kent,UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in November as part of of an excellent tour arranged by Musafir tours.
Our accommodation was in one of the bungalows which gave more privacy than staying in the main house which we preferred.
It was simply furnished, a good size and clean (you had remember to switch on the water heater otherwise you had a cold/tepid shower)
The location was idyllic with wonderful views from the gardens and the tree house! A quiet, peaceful place.
Joseph is a very welcoming,friendly host and his brother James provided excellent food.
(Whilst we very much enjoyed our stay, in our view to warrant a five star rating the quality of the bed linen, towels, dining room tableware etc would need to be upgraded.)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSmithsKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
47
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

All is this place is lovely: the house, the surroundings, the view, the peace and quiet.

We stayed 2 nights with our daughters and we simply loved it. The food was very good and they even made special food for the kids. The rooms are simple, but clean and confortable and the all place exudes tranquility. We have enjoyed just siting outside with a cup of tea, while the kids have played around and watched a wonderful sunset.

We had a nice visit to the plantation lead by Joseph, which was amazing.

Overall a nice stay and highly recommend this place!

Carla

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar land,
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Excellent location on top of mountain & just gorgeous. We stayed at Kollenkeril in early Dec. It was our favorite part of our entire stay in Kerala. It was so nice, beautiful on top of mountains, weather was just right, sunny and quite. We stayed with our friends so we had the entire bungalow to ourselves. The rooms are great..clean and comfortable. Joseph and the staff work hard to make sure you are relaxed and enjoying yourself. We did some traveling in Munnar. The chef was also so sweet and made us great breakfasts...they always ask what we like and don't like to make the perfect meals. We would love to go back and even have recommend Kollenkeril to our friends..I would even skip any professional spice tours as the one Joseph gives around the property is much better than the ones outside in Munnar.

Room Tip: Whole bungalow is lot more private which has 4 bedrooms and has a separate western restroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at Kollenkeril in early Dec. It was our favorite part of our entire stay in Kerala. It was so nice, we often wanted to not even go out in Munnar just to spend more time at the home. We stayed with our entire family and friends so we had the entire bungalow to ourselves. The rooms are great..clean and comfortable. Joseph and the staff work hard to make sure you are relaxed and enjoying yourself. We did some morning yoga and he even brought us tea! The chef was also so sweet and made us great breakfasts...they always ask what we like and don't like to make the perfect meals. We would love to go back and even have recommend Kollenkeril to our friend who is visiting in late Jan. We miss it...I would even skip any professional spice tours as the one Joseph gives around the property is much better than the ones outside in Munnar..he knows his stuff!

Room Tip: If you are travelling alone I would recoommend one of the rooms outside the house...but the room ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Everything about this place is absolutely amazing. I stayed here for two nights and wish I could have stayed longer. The plantation view is breath taking and the whole property is very serene. The care taker of the property, Joey, was such a gracious host. His brother cooked us amazing food and even invited us into the kitchen to show us how a few things were made. Joey gave us a tour of the plantation which was very cool. I can only hope that I will get to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimmie415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisse
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This a beautiful traditional-style building set in a spice plantation, with an astounding view (that can even be admired from a treehouse). The manager makes you feel at home and even shows you around the plantation. I recommend the plantation view rooms (especially the one on the extreme right of the building); there is nothing like admiring the view in the morning while sipping a tea and listening to the birds! The tea gardens are only 10 minutes away by car. The only downside were a somewhat dark room (lit by neon lights), and the cuisine which was adapted to the Western palate)
Reservations need to be done via www.musafirtours.com, which by the way is an exceptional tour operator who can organize your entire trip in Kerala.

Room Tip: Plantation view room on the right of the building offers the best location and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swiss_Cheese_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

we visited kollenkeril plantation as part of a 2 night stay with musafir tours. we had 3 of the 5 bungalow rooms booked while the other 2 rooms were empty, therefore having the place to ourselves. what a dream!

from the idyllic surroundings, to the little tree house, the comfortable bedding and bath, and of course the FANTASTIC host, joey, we could not have asked for a better place to stay.

even though we had a driver through our tour operator to take us wherever we wanted, we opted to come home early on the second day so we could have as much time as possible to enjoy the property. the bungalow is situated on an incredible spice plantation which joey proudly showed us around. and we spent time in the kitchen learning a few southern indian dishes and how to make chapati. the food was incredible and i certainly ate enough of it!

i can only hope that i will get to come back to this place one day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jooliecoolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.0 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
528 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sceva's Garden Home
Sceva's Garden Home
#13 of 161 in Munnar
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anna Homestay
Anna Homestay
#2 of 16 in Chithirapuram
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kaivalyam Retreat
Kaivalyam Retreat
#2 of 181 in Munnar
658 reviews
0.0 mi away
Neelakurunji Luxury Plantation Bungalow
0.0 mi away
Windermere Estate
Windermere Estate
#4 of 8 in Pothamedu
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kollenkeril Plantation Home-Stay Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kollenkeril Plantation Home-Stay Bungalow

Property: Kollenkeril Plantation Home-Stay Bungalow
Address: Karadippara, Munnar 685611, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional Kerala style Bungalow is located right in the wilderness of Munnar hills. Its layout blended harmoniously with the local carpentry, steeply pitched tile roofs decorated with simple and neat gables, inward cut verandahs and contoured ledges forming the front facing east make Kollenkeril bungalow a very private space who loves privacy and relaxation. Welcome to Kollenkeril Plantation Home-stay Bungalow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kollenkeril Plantation Home-Stay Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing