We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abused by a drunken Manager”
Review of Bellmount Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bellmount Resorts
Ranked #53 of 98 Hotels in Munnar
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Abused by a drunken Manager”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Christmas holidays’ trip to join family back home India was excellent. We included a two day trip to Munnar in our busy schedule. My father in law took care of booking the hotel and finalizing the places to visit. I recommended makemytrip for booking the hotels. He googled and zeroed in on Bellmount. He spoke to the Bellmount reception and confirmed the booking. As per the tourist hotel norms in India, they didn’t ask for any advance or credit card details. Our family of six members started the journey (of 4 hrs) and around midway, we got a call from Bellmount to confirm our booking. We informed them that we are already midway to Munnar from Cochin.

On arrival to Bellmount, and waiting at the reception for more than half an hour we realized that Bellmount has released our three rooms and given to other customers. We insisted on arranging some rooms in the same hotel as we didn’t want to end up in any unclean room without reading proper reviews. After 10 minutes of arguments without any help, we requested for the hotel manager and then came one Mr Rajan. We spoke to him for just less than a minute and the abusive language he used was not at all fit for a hotel manager.

He frightened us mentioning that he will beat us and won’t allow to leave Munnar in good health if we spend more time at the premises. With our families around and being in a holiday mood, we didn’t want to spoil our vacation and left the premises immediately.

Rajan might blame alcohol for his misbehaviour on the other day, but it was quite unbecoming of a hotel manager.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank shajib2w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    128
    65
    26
    24
See reviews for
140
105
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

we been here for many times but stayed for the maiden. I love the beauty of this place so much, and I chose some place that i can reach all the main tourists spots swiftly,that was the reason i chose Bellmount. All the tourist spots are in a range of 25kms. The staffs are so generous as well as friendly. The restaurant's buffet dinner was so delecious that for sure i will return for(basically am a foody). The rooms were pretty and well spread. The buffet breakfast was also good but my suggestion is that you could add some more dishes. over all am so happy with the three nights stay with bellmount and you guys do your job niece. A big hooooooooooo......

Room Tip: always choose galaxy and super deluxe rooms on higher floors, so quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anjaly1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed there for two days around Christmas

- Location : Convenient compared to other hotels similarly priced, 1-2 Kms from the main market (though main road is apparently some state highway and there are lot of vehicles, though we still managed to walk to market once or twice)

- Staff : Good, very helpful and friendly

- Cost : High compared to facilities it provide, but Munnar in general (and during the season) is costly compared to other tourist spots in Kerala

- Food : Breakfast has very limited options. Lunch and Dinner is only buffet, no À-la-carte based (at least for the days we are there, I guess they change the menu from 15th Dec onwards till New Year, due to rush). And there are no other options around the hotel except Anapurna (veg) - good food, average seating; and a 24 hours coffee shop (next hotel) - good.

- Bonus : Is a walk behind the hotel to the tea gardens! Early morning walk with picturesque views and chill in the air was a great experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khushboov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hotel is nice. It is located in old munnar, hence do not expect great views from window. Variety is breakfast is limited. Infact we were there on 31st eve and were part of Gala dinner. Variety was less. But the arrangements were good. Overall, enjoyed the party.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prafful007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

the place was a nightmare. When we checked in the bedsheet in our room was extremely dirty.there were stains everywhere. The bathroom had hair all over.
We asked the room service to clean up and they did.
The next we went for sight seeing,when we came
The house keeping had changed our bedsheet and towels. Bedsheet had food stains and long hair strands.. Towel had blood stains. Food was horrible too. Just a big no no. If you dont want to ruin your munnar stay dont stay here

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exploreandtravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranbabu, Manager at Bellmount Resorts, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest
Team BellMount is much thankful for your stay. We totally respect your review. We apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay. The points you have mentioned surely going to keep us on our toes since housekeeping was one of our strong areas as it could be find from other guests reviews .
December last week was the most peakest time of the year in terms of rush but that doesn’t justify a mistake of this magnitude. We apologize to you once again sir.
At the same time we would like to mention that we replace our laundry in every 6 months with fresh ones and follow strict measures to spread the best linen in our guest rooms. Sir,we also assure you that such issues will not occur during your next trip to bellmount.
Thanks
Amal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munnar hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed there from Dec-18 to Dec-19 . It is not a 3 Start hotel, rooms are clean ,24hrs hot water ,service was poor we had to call thrice to get the towels changed.Have the basic facilities .Restaurant is good,but they have very limited variety of items in the breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kottayam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at Bellmount Munnar on 17th December.

It was a very good experience in terms of neat and tidy room, essential supplies like power, water, bed linen, nonstop hot water, cable TV and the like. Staff support and location of the hotel are good. But you cannot expect the real lovely Munnar everywhere you look when you stay at Bellmount. It is in the town and so it has its strengths and weaknesses. It is a little close to the main road.

We must add that Bellmount restaurant is a class apart and we loved the food they dished out. The breakfast was king size and the buffet, both lunch dinner, was sumptuous and beautiful.

The management should see that the lobby looks a little more telling and speaking of the hotel. And since you are exposed to a little dust, it is advised to have a vacuuming in between so that the window sills, grooves and railings will breathe free of dust. And for holidayers, the money you pay for may look a little bigger, but finer it is if looked at it from different angles. It is of course a good place to be in many more ways. The parking space afront needs to be given a facelift to attract more high end cars. now it is giving rough tires.

Many travellers have the impression that they pay for whatever behavioral disorder that they may show in their privacy. We who stay in have the obligation to observe that the person comes to stay in next time should feel like writing a few good words about the facility they had made use of, unless the hoteliers ill-treated you or cheated you.
Fine print: You may find cockro’s, ants and flies even in five star facilities, but not in Bellmount, for sure. You can take it from us.

It is at two places food made us take our hats off. Bellmount and Neelambari at Neriamangalam.
Jaypee and Raaji Trivandrum

Room Tip: Try to get upper Galaxy rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPsukham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.6 mi away
Woodpecker Resort
Woodpecker Resort
#8 of 8 in Pothamedu
102 reviews
3.8 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#57 of 98 in Munnar
289 reviews
13.7 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Plaza Munnar
Grand Plaza Munnar
#11 of 98 in Munnar
816 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hillview Munnar
Hillview Munnar
#38 of 98 in Munnar
480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellmount Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellmount Resorts

Property: Bellmount Resorts
Address: N.H Road Old Munnar, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 98 Hotels in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bellmount Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellmount Resorts is centrally located at NH Road Munnar, transforms you with its salubrious climate and offers a world of ultimate luxury within the cradle of enchanting bliss. Built around the natural abundance and cuddled up by misty mountains, the resort allows its guests to feel the bounty of the nature. Our impeccable hospitality service starts right from the spacious reception and we are devoted to make your stay an extraordinary and treasured experience, from the moment you get in. Bellmount offers you 47 deluxe rooms to ensure that your stay with us stays what it truly should be – an experience of a lifetime. Blessed with state of the art facilities and services, each of the deluxe rooms is designed to make you feel special and pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Bellmount Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing