We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good site to see , but long waiting in Q in both TO & FRO”

Rajamalai (Eravikulam) National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$359.00*
and up
6-Day Private Tour: Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary and Backwater Houseboat Cruise...
Ranked #7 of 66 things to do in Munnar
Attraction details
Bhiwani, India
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good site to see , but long waiting in Q in both TO & FRO”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

It was exciting to go to National park by Forest Department bus , after waiting in a very long Q , but good management at Starting. Only Forest Department Vehicle goes in park . On return there was again a long Q. Good scenic beauty. Highest mountain peak of south India ( 2965 mts) is here.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank cytec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    430
    291
    121
    94
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a nice national park. There is no rwal wild life but the place is 6000 feet above sea level and the view form the top is grand. The bus ride is nice. Only down side is that the lines are really long and there is no other option. Avoid weekends as the locals make it very crowded.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Flyingchariot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Impossible entry”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I reached mid-morning, to find a queue that was 2 hours long. Nobody warns you about this nonsense. You queue up for that long, buy a ticket and get on a bus for a short drive through this admittedly beautiful park. But its not worth the 2 hour wait. Reach really early, around 8 AM if you want to beat the line.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nitya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We lost time”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This Was the experience: we took the bus to go inside the park - paying, As Foreigners, much more Than indian tourists - and, with a 15 minutes trip among beautiful tea gardens landscapes ( the same you see outside the park) we reached the Place that should be' the park with elephants and so on. We walked up the Road, stayed there around 2 hours, we Saw a few Nilgiri Goats taking food from tourists, surely there on purpose to please the visitors, and then we cued for 45 minutes to catch the bus back. More over, the driver Was driving us back in a crazy and dangerous Way. Basically, we felt we had lost a few hours that we could have used in another Way.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank rossi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, India
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A good place to take a walk”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The place is a 3 KM walk after a bus ride up the hill. Request that people don't panic as tickets are not so complicated to get and anyway other than Niligiri Tahr nothing more can be seen. It is a great sight when you walk up the hill as the tea plantations look great from the top.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank vss_phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rajamalai (Eravikulam) National Park also viewed

Munnar, Idukki District
Munnar, Idukki District
 
Munnar, Idukki District
Munnar, Idukki District
 

Been to Rajamalai (Eravikulam) National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing