We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place of our Trip”
Review of Kaivalyam Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kaivalyam Retreat
Ranked #1 of 187 Munnar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best place of our Trip”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Really, not joking or fooling. When we were leaving this Resort, we felt we could extend our stay but could not. The food was awesome, natuaral seranity was beautiful. Staff service was good. You can walk for nature, species, waterfalls nearby. It left with no complaints. It is at best location....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnilChaplot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    77
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
229
301
32
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I, my wife and our 2 year old daughter had spent for 4 nights and our experience there was really fantastic.1 Night we stayed in tree house wherein we enjoyed the ambient sounds of birds and insects which was amazing. My daughter enjoyed a lot in the arms of the pollution free nature. The resort is very neat and scenario from there was awesome. Food supplied there was amazing and it was prepared as per our taste. The rooms were spacious and private terrace, lots of space to go for walk.

Hats off to Mr. Harish and team for their extraordinary service and care.

People's travelling from Bangalore can avail bus facility as many busses are available

Room Tip: Tree house and we stayed in Room No. 202
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarvajna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

In a chat with Harish who is the manger cum amiable owner, he explained that Kaivalyam in Sanskrit means a ‘state of mind’ while Google throws up meanings as oneness, spiritual and freedom. Well, our 3N stay here was all of this!! We traveled in the 2nd week of Oct with our two kids.

Set bang in the middle of a spice plantation with eight rooms and two tree houses, it is a perfect place to unwind and enjoy the sights, smells, breeze and all that nature has to offer. We took a lower level room based on recommendations on TA, which has the best sit-outs with unobstructed views to the lush green surrounding and the misty mountains far ahead. The room was very comfortable and easily fits in an extra bed that we had asked for. Big French windows opens up to your private sit out where you can sit on the comfy bamboo chairs and have innumerable cups of tea as you read a book or one of those travel magazines that Harish’s stocks up.

The food here is 100% vegetarian and is top notch. Harish picks and chooses the dishes for the day for lunch and dinner from his expansive menu and we have options of ordering full or half-portions which is very thoughtful. I was told that the menu for the day is based on fresh vegetables available on that day. A special thanks to Mahesh and Renee who man the dinning service with a perpetual smile and a big thanks to the chef too for the delightful dishes.
We did a guided walk through the spice plantation up to the river which was a wonderful experience and a must do. Raman, our guide, was a wealth of local information. He doesn’t speak much English, but if you speak Tamil or Malayalam (which we do), you will certainly learn a few tricks on cardamom farming.

The resort is set a good 700m from the main road and you have a jeep with an experienced driver that shuttles you to/from the main road. The jeep shuttle is an experience by itself thanks to the steep road leading to the resort.

Around Kaivalyam, you can take the long tea plantation walks and the kathakali and kalari cultural shows, all which are highly recommended.

On the whole, it was an excellent stay - kudos to Harish for setting up this place which lives up to its name.

Room Tip: Lower level rooms as they offer the best views and tree house if you are a couple as the tree house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sush_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I went to munnar as a weekend gateway to escape from city life.
After checking trip advisor i have finalised to stay in kaivalyam retreat for two days.
Really the place is terrific . The resort is 7 km away from main town but that's add real beauty to the resort.
Resort located in calm / greenery location .
Dont miss the spice plantation walk to the river (really tiresome but it would be great experience).
The food served is very tasty and rooms are pristine clean. You can find the resort owner available around the clock. if you got issue , he is ready to help you always.
If possible try to go for kadhakali show near resort at 5PM.(Dont miss that ).

only -ve thing i felt is : There is no payment option using credit card. it would be great if they have card payment option while checkout.

Room Tip: Try to get luxurious bedroom and dont miss walk (trek) to river which is near resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ranjithkumar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had a lovely time at Kaivalyam. Could have done with a couple of nights more! The room was spacious, spotless and the seating area and private terrace were great for reading time. The food was delicious and very reasonable considering the quality. Did the Yoga two mornings, which was worth getting up for. Great instruction in a beautiful setting.

Took the spice plantation walk to the river and also went for a walk in the nearby tea fields. More lovely views and clean air!

The staff were terrific. One of our party was unwell when we arrived with food poisoning and they had her right within a day, with specially prepared a soup and husk drink. Thankfully she was then able to enjoy their yummy food for the remainder of our stay.

Would happily stay here again and if I find myself in Kerala in the future Kaivalyam will definitely be on the itinerary!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllieK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I spent 9 days here, and loved it despite the fact that it was pouring rain the last 6 days of my stay (of course the sun came out the day I left!).
The retreat is located in an absolutely beautiful setting, around 7 km from the town. I would definitely choose this setting over the town, which is very busy and not so charming in itself. I was surprised by how nice the rooms are; well kept, roomy, and tasteful, with a balcony overlooking the spice plantation. In the room, hot water was abundant, English language channels on TV, and a hot water kettle with tea/coffee for the room. The common area, where meals and tea are served, is roomy and comfortable. This is also where you find wi-fi. Meals were great; breakfast, which was probably the largest breakfast I have been served anywhere, (mainly Indian food which I prefer, with fresh fruit, good coffee and toast) was always excellent.
The staff was helpful, taking me on trips to town when I needed to shop, dropping me for walks through the tea plantations, and guiding me on a walk through the spice gardens.
The owner gives yoga classes at no extra charge in the lovely open air yoga pavilion.
This is one of my favorite stays in India, and I hope to go back when it isn't raining most every day!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sh1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed 2 days at this retreat, and we wished we could have stayed more. It was a fantastic retreat to a great value.

What I liked the most:
+ Excellent service - the owner was very attentive, friendly and helpful
+ Very high standard rooms for the price
+ The food was worth the trip itself - healthy and delicious Indian vegetarian food
+ Morning yoga classes in beautiful surroundings

Improvement potential:
- Nothing in particular - it was pouring down during our stay, but the retreat can hardly be blamed for that.

Overall a highly recommended experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Are K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
1.4 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 14 in Chithirapuram
883 reviews
1.2 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
1.8 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#1 of 8 in Pothamedu
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 14 in Chithirapuram
506 reviews
15.5 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
531 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#1 of 14 in Chithirapuram
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaivalyam Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaivalyam Retreat

Property: Kaivalyam Retreat
Address: Opposite Workers Recreation Center | Moolakada, Pallivasal Estate, Munnar 685612, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaivalyam Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a calm and scenic surroundings, the retreat provides a destination for visitors to indulge in learning experience of holistic lifestyle with traditional Yoga and organic way of living and dining. The place is a fusion of rustic external with smooth internal space creating luxurious facilities and natural environment to enjoy and pamper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kaivalyam Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing