We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mice” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaivalyam Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kaivalyam Retreat
Ranked #2 of 179 Munnar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Unfortunately I cannot rate this place higher than 2 due to the fact that the room we initially had seem to have a mouse infestation, which I know because I was able to see the mice come into the room from the ceiling. Unfortunately for us, this pretty much ruined our opinion.

However lets put that aside and otherwise its a great place. There are plenty of organised events (altough not Yoga. I know they list Yoga but when we went the Yoga chap went on holiday himself and there was no replacement). We did a hike through the tea plantations to a waterfall which I would recomend as it was very good! - take your camera as you will good some decent shots.

We also went for a massage - although this was terrible and never having had a massage before, it has damn well made certain I will never want another. The massage place was small, dirty and full of mould (infact, I should mention that this B&B does have a damn / mould issue in their rooms as well).

The location of the place is not ideal if your the type that likes to eat out. Fortunately this place does do one thing right - the food! The food is damn good and very well priced. You will not be disappointed from the food (unless your an uncompromising carnivore)

Be careful with the taxi's here as well. We used a taxi to travel from here to Fort Cochin and my gf found that she had 1000Rs stolen from her purse

Unfortunately though, knowing mice where around it made for uncomfortable sleeping and therefore I cannot recommend this place at all.

Room Tip: Rooms suffered damped issues (corners were black will mould), we had 2 rooms, 1 with mice in it and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ads1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaivalyam, Manager at Kaivalyam Retreat, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We are very much concerned that you have not liked our place. From the first instance of providing choice of 5 different rooms, you were still not satisfied with anyone.

Checking with our room service staff, we found that you did not like the place as it is non-smoking, non-alcohol and also pure vegetarian. Once a mindset is developed, then it is difficult to change it even though we provide best of services.

Regarding issue of mouse in one room, we tried our best but could not locate any. Still to our satisfaction we have again done rodent treatment of our place to make sure we do not get future problem.

Some other issues like Massage Parlor and Cabs, it is difficult to manage which is not in our domain. We have also mentioned to them about your issues and take up some corrective action. An outside Massage center may not be suitable for you however you have to judge it before taking up massage as they are not charging up-front.

For cab arrangement, we book from outside Cab Company with drivers mostly reliable. We have passed our complain to the company to not provide that particular driver next time. Still we feel that it is also your responsibility to keep valuables especially for a single drive of 4 hrs.

We understand that when you book through online travel portal, it is easy to overlook specialty of our place though it is mentioned. We again like to mention to you as well as all our esteemed guests that please book our place for its specialty of organic living and dining with personalized service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    75
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
217
290
31
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
790 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We chose this place thanks to the opinions below and recommendations from people on TA forum. And it was a bull's eye. Without exaggeration. Definitely the best place we stayed during our Kerala trip. It's few kilometres from Munnar but we didn't mind as there's a restaurant on site. Although it's strictly vegetarian, even a meat-eater like me was satisfied with the cuisine.

We got a room 104 but as it had a leak in the roof (it was a time of heavy monsoon rains at the beginning of August), the next day we were transferred to room 103 of the same standard. Both rooms were great, with lot of space, wardrobe, mirror, table, super comfortable beds and large balcony windows with a view to the garden. Great and functional bathroom with nice shower cosmetics provided. And the beatiful fragrance in the room. Fantastic job done here.

Staff was also great, helping even with small issues like charging a phone and letting us use their computer when ours broke down. The transfer to the main road is provided but you need to make a call from the road (for foreigners it's useful to have a local SIM card, no problem buying a prepaid one beforehand in cities). The road down however is so picteresque with a view to tea plantations and mountains on the horizon that we recommend to go on foot at least once. The surrounding plantation is good for some bird watching and a small walk. There's also a yoga hall and the courses are being held there. The reception and dining room are located in another nice building. As I mentioned earlier, vegetarian food is great here and the prices are very reasonable for such quality.

We spent 3 nights there and got a package for 8000 rupees that also included a drive to the waterfall road (did it - nice walk through tea plantations) and guided walk (due to the rains we didn't go for that). They also organised a cab for a trip to Top Station and a cab for our way to Kumarakom as the buses were not running from Munnar because of the landslides in the area after monsoon rains.

Would definetely stay here once again. Do yourself a favour and skip Munnar - the real deal is in the resorts outside the city. And Kaivalyam is surely one of the best places.

Room Tip: Rooms 103 and 104 were great. For more adventure go for one of the newly constructed (August 2013) t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisD_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
171 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

simply overwhelming...its really difficult to explain the beauty of the place. amidst the plantation, in the lap of nature, large and luxurious rooms, fresh and superb food, the hospitality and readiness to help, and the yoga sessions...what else can one ask for, when on vacation..we were two couples with two children, and spent two nights there...but hoped we could spend few more days there...my wife attended the yoga session by Mr Harish, and she really enjoyed the ambiance..

i left one of my pen drives there with some really important documents...the retreat staff, not only sent my stuff by courier, but also refused to have a compensation for their expenses...really heartwarming gesture..

all and all, a very pleasant stay at kaivalyam retreat..i really thank mr harish and staff for making this happen..

Room Tip: we stayed in 201, 202...superb rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nuts_medico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Kaivalyam is a hidden gem in the beautiful Munnar. Its a absolute gate away from the city life. The surrounding is tranquil and calm, its situated in middle of a hilly area. The hotel vehicle will pick you up from the main road. Its everything that one hopes for when on a holiday. We stayed there for 3 nights with our 2 daughters. The rooms are clean, big, comfortable bed, extra bed was given for the 4th occupant. The room balcony overlooks the green & serene as far as you can see. They have lots of in house activities like board games, books, spice plantation walk, yoga etc. The owner Harish is very helpful and is always around for any help or information. All the property staff are very helpful and accommodating to your requests. And a very important factor was food that made our stay very memorable. The hotel serves only vegetarian food, but our daughters relished all their dishes as they were very tasty and freshly made as per our order. This place has the calmness and peace of nature and doesn't feel like a commercial hotel. Its the best place to stay if you are looking for a tranquil environment. The room & food pricing is very very reasonable compared to the quality that they offer. Would definitely visit again if possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaishali G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiantravelbug93
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

6kms short of Munnar in the country-side, this is a beautiful , well maintained property on a hill side, a perfect natural-treat for the weary-city-traveller. Just Chill, relax in the cool serene environs and enjoy hospitality of Harish and Team who ensure that the guests are comfortable in the cosy rooms or relishing the sumptuous dishes cooked out of organic farm fresh veggies etc. Overall we found it great place to return to and value for money for sure !!
Dr.Pawan n family

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor with Balcony have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indiantravelbug93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Kaivalyam is really good.
V went there for 3 days , but I feel I could stay there for ever... hehe. .
Only suggestion is a bit more variety in breakfast would be appreciatable.
The place was very nice. Scenic. .. want to refresh n recharge then Kaivalyam is best choice. .....

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We loved Kaivalyam Retreat, it has a real charm and was a perfect place to stay in Munnar, we even tried to beg them to let us stay one more night!

Harish is a great yoga teacher, we really enjoyed going to the yoga class each morning before breakfast and the food cooked Anju cooked was wonderful, the best we had on our trip, extremely generous portions too!

We can't wait to come back one day!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy_London_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
2.5 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 13 in Chithirapuram
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
1.2 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
1.0 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#1 of 8 in Pothamedu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#1 of 13 in Chithirapuram
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Fog Resort & Spa
The Fog Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaivalyam Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaivalyam Retreat

Property: Kaivalyam Retreat
Address: Opposite Workers Recreation Center | Moolakada, Pallivasal Estate, Munnar 685612, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 179 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaivalyam Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a calm and scenic surroundings, the retreat provides a destination for visitors to indulge in learning experience of holistic lifestyle with traditional Yoga and organic way of living and dining. The place is a fusion of rustic external with smooth internal space creating luxurious facilities and natural environment to enjoy and pamper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Kaivalyam Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing