We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique peaceful experience!”
Review of Kaivalyam Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kaivalyam Retreat
Ranked #2 of 198 Munnar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We were 2 families and had visited Kaivalyam in Apr'13 for 3 nights. Had selected this place again based on the reviews seen on TripAdvisor. We had a very good experience and would surely visit again and recommend to people. This place is about a km away from the main road and down hill. You have to rely on the resort's 4x4 for going there if you have a big vehicle. Small cars can manage but you have to be very careful. However, this was not a big deterrent for us as the driver was available all the time.

Place has been conceptualized beautifully. Harish (owner) has designed this extremely well. You can take Yoga lessons in the morning, trek down to the river (helped by resort staff) and have a good relaxing time. Food is vegetarian (suits us perfectly as we are pure veg) and preparation is excellent. We loved all dishes barring a few.

Have suggested Harish to put put mesh on the kitchen door to prevent insects entering (these are galore). Only other suggestion that I can give to Harish is to create a small kids area with slide, swing, etc such that small kids can be occupied. Would highly recommend this place to people.

Room Tip: rooms at first floor provide slightly better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JainSumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 675 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

Very much enjoyed our stay here & feel confident that we made the right choice. We came as a family with a small boy & it suited all of us.

The resort is, overall, simply but thoughtfully designed. They let nature do the impressive stuff here. We liked that. It was not at all pretentious. Quite low key in fact. It is very well maintained.

Our room was spacious with a big outdoor patio. Because of the way the rooms are designed, offer very good privacy. The large patio windows looks out into nature. It was kept very clean & had good facilities such as TV, kettle, tea & coffee. Good bathroom size & layout. It had a fan but not AC (we visited in hot season & we didn't need it, but we did need the blanket!) linen & towels were good & very clean.

We ate here most of the time & the food was very tasty with good portions. It's all vegetarian but the menu is extensive. It looks likes a lot of the vegetables come from their garden so you don't get much fresher than that. Very reasonably priced too.

The included breakfast was again generous & changed every day, so it didn't get boring. It's not a buffet though but will certainly keep you going well past lunchtime.

I liked the board offering things to do, such as yoga & spice walks. These are either free or at a very reasonable price. Samantha did morning yoga every day & we really enjoyed our hike through the spice plantation. Fun & informative.

The resort is just outside Munnar central. About 15 minutes by taxi.

One thing that you might consider is that they have a strict no alcohol policy (like many places to be fair) which means that you can't get a beer & they ask you, respectfully, not to bring any in.

The owners, I believe, live on site & run it day to day. They are thoughtful, helpful & very friendly. We thank them for their hospitality.

Would I stay again. Yes indeed.

Room Tip: They were building some treehouse rooms while we were there. They look like fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TelboyofPeckham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The location of this place is very good. Good value for money. We went for our anniversary and we got a complementary cake on the eve of our anniversary. The host are great, they listen to their guests and they are not greedy. Its very close to nature and only problem is while eating you are visited by bugs and insects in the evenings since its a farm stay. Hope they find an organic way to keep them away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BharathMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Travelling as a family , and stayed for a couple of nights. Location is 7 kms before Munnar on NH 49, i.e. the Kochi Munnar NH. Nice peaceful location , good and reasonably priced food. Spacious rooms , great morning Yoga workouts, spice garden walks . Great place to just chill out. A couple of tree house are under construction and should be ready in a month...which would be an attraction.....

Word of caution for the travellers to not leave any valuables / cash in the room. I do not usually , but erred on this occassion. Happened in a very mysterious way though. Probably let my guards down due to the great Kerala Hospitality at Kumarkom and Thekaddy....

Except for this odd incidence ,stay was comfortable...and the property cannot be missed/ ignored.....

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharad_D_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaivalyam, Manager at Kaivalyam Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thanks for nice comment. We look forward to keeping high standard of facilities and services.

Just want to put our point for the incident which guest have mentioned regarding stolen monies so that the others get to know our side also. The guest had mentioned that they lost some of monies during dinner time only when they were out of room at dining area. At that time guest had the room keys with them and also there was no house-keeping going on. So we could not understand how the monies could have gone lost when the room was completely locked. Our place is having accommodation and dining in close vicinity so it is difficult to go un-noticed if any such incident takes place.

Surely we as host are going to review this incident with our staff and look forward to provide better service and remove any drawbacks into our management in securing guest's accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Kaivalyam Retreat is easily one the best places to stay for pure peace and a refreshing experience. We booked 2 rooms on upper level for 2 nights and everything went well from my first mail to check out. Harish is a very pleasant to deal with and same is with all the staff.

Rooms - They only have 8 rooms in the property. Rooms are large and clean with all necessary amenities. Bathroom was spotless and linen was fresh. Rooms are not Airconed and that did not cause any discomfort, thanks to the weather in Munnar.

Staff & Management - Harish and Anju are very approachable and personally available most of the times for any assistance. Staff are limited in no. but are very efficient providing impeccable service.

Food - Fresh and healthy, Vegetarian only. Breakfast is top class, fresh fruits combined with some traditional south and north Indian food. Lunch and Dinner has to be pre-ordered so that they can cook as per your instructions.

Location - Best part and USP! Surrounded by Tea and spice plantations which gives a very rural and rustic feel to the experience. Do not miss their complimentary spice plantation walk to the water falls.

Note - They do not accept credit/debit cards and the nearest ATM is 7 kms away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chaitanya3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We loved everything about this gorgeous retreat just before Munnar and don't think we could have chosen any better at any price.
The accommodation is spectacular - wonderfully spacious, pristine and comfortable modern rooms on two levels and a balcony looking down onto tall trees, lush greenery and the misty valley by day - a touch of exclusive alpine ski chalet about them perhaps. The only unexpected visitors were some sweet firefiles at night at our window and the odd bird.
All the staff are really kind and welcoming and go out of their way to help. We enjoyed a wonderful free guided walk through the cardamom plantations and down to a waterfall and then made our own way through the tea plantations above the hotel in the afternoon.
You will want to eat all your meals here - the food is evidently fresh and there is a new menu each day to choose from which you order ahead, with wonderful vegetarian dishes spiced to your taste.
This place must get fairly booked up. We arrived unheralded, and as luck would have it they had had a cancellation. Guests included couples and families from all over the world. It rightly describes itself as a retreat and does attract some retreaters - a morning yoga session is there is you want it - and a great introduction to the discipline and day. However this is not compulsory and those less keen will not feel left out.
The retreat is off the main road and there is a free jeep which takes you down the very steep road from Pallivasal (worth having the phone number) and back up whenever you wish, which is an outstanding service. They will happily arrange onward transport for you very reasonably, and rightly recommended the bus from the main road at Pallivasal to Munnar for some shopping, and we took a three-wheeler back to an awaiting jeep (the pilot phoned ahead for us!).

I can't fault this place and wish we could have stayed much longer than two nights. However, if you want steak and chips in a bland hotel or perhaps the hustle and bustle (and smells) of busy Munnar itself to wake up to, rather than stillness and sweet cardamom and flowers, then don't come here!

Room Tip: The rooms are fairly similar in size, though our room on the upper level and on a corner was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clemente B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

An excellent place to stay if your lucky enough to book one of their 8 rooms or the two new tree houses they are building. We managed to book in for just one night at short notice and it vas worth it. We had some lunch while they got our room ready as both check out and check in are noon. The onion pakora where the best I have ever had. The relaxing atmosphere of the place is felt from the minute you arrive. The attentiveness of all the team is amazing. We did have some hot war issues with our room during our stay but the staff worked hard to fix it and it was fixed and perfect after that.
The morning yoga class the first time I had tired it. It was amazing in the peaceful place. Definitely worth trying if your there even if never done it before. Well explained.
The food in the evening was really good. We had a selection and when we ordered the menus in the afternoon all the dishes where explained to us. It really helped enjoying it more knowing where in India the dish was from.
The bed is one of the best beds I have ever slept in. It was extremely comfortable. There is no ac but not really needed in Munnar at night. The room does have a good fan.
The balcony or terrace to sit out in is lovely and the sitting area in the room is lovely.
I really wish I could stay here again.

Room Tip: Take time to just relax and enjoy !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
1.4 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 15 in Chithirapuram
978 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#2 of 8 in Pothamedu
731 reviews
15.5 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
1.1 mi away
Rivulet Resort
Rivulet Resort
#9 of 103 in Munnar
533 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#2 of 15 in Chithirapuram
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaivalyam Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaivalyam Retreat

Address: Opposite Workers Recreation Center | Moolakada, Pallivasal Estate, Munnar 685612, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 198 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range: $84 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaivalyam Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a calm and scenic surroundings, the retreat provides a destination for visitors to indulge in learning experience of holistic lifestyle with traditional Yoga and organic way of living and dining. The place is a fusion of rustic external with smooth internal space creating luxurious facilities and natural environment to enjoy and pamper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Kaivalyam Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing