We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding haven”
Review of Kaivalyam Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kaivalyam Retreat
Ranked #1 of 190 Munnar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We loved everything about this gorgeous retreat just before Munnar and don't think we could have chosen any better at any price.
The accommodation is spectacular - wonderfully spacious, pristine and comfortable modern rooms on two levels and a balcony looking down onto tall trees, lush greenery and the misty valley by day - a touch of exclusive alpine ski chalet about them perhaps. The only unexpected visitors were some sweet firefiles at night at our window and the odd bird.
All the staff are really kind and welcoming and go out of their way to help. We enjoyed a wonderful free guided walk through the cardamom plantations and down to a waterfall and then made our own way through the tea plantations above the hotel in the afternoon.
You will want to eat all your meals here - the food is evidently fresh and there is a new menu each day to choose from which you order ahead, with wonderful vegetarian dishes spiced to your taste.
This place must get fairly booked up. We arrived unheralded, and as luck would have it they had had a cancellation. Guests included couples and families from all over the world. It rightly describes itself as a retreat and does attract some retreaters - a morning yoga session is there is you want it - and a great introduction to the discipline and day. However this is not compulsory and those less keen will not feel left out.
The retreat is off the main road and there is a free jeep which takes you down the very steep road from Pallivasal (worth having the phone number) and back up whenever you wish, which is an outstanding service. They will happily arrange onward transport for you very reasonably, and rightly recommended the bus from the main road at Pallivasal to Munnar for some shopping, and we took a three-wheeler back to an awaiting jeep (the pilot phoned ahead for us!).

I can't fault this place and wish we could have stayed much longer than two nights. However, if you want steak and chips in a bland hotel or perhaps the hustle and bustle (and smells) of busy Munnar itself to wake up to, rather than stillness and sweet cardamom and flowers, then don't come here!

Room Tip: The rooms are fairly similar in size, though our room on the upper level and on a corner was perfect
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clemente B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (669)
There are newer reviews for Kaivalyam Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 669 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

An excellent place to stay if your lucky enough to book one of their 8 rooms or the two new tree houses they are building. We managed to book in for just one night at short notice and it vas worth it. We had some lunch while they got our room ready as both check out and check in are noon. The onion pakora where the best I have ever had. The relaxing atmosphere of the place is felt from the minute you arrive. The attentiveness of all the team is amazing. We did have some hot war issues with our room during our stay but the staff worked hard to fix it and it was fixed and perfect after that.
The morning yoga class the first time I had tired it. It was amazing in the peaceful place. Definitely worth trying if your there even if never done it before. Well explained.
The food in the evening was really good. We had a selection and when we ordered the menus in the afternoon all the dishes where explained to us. It really helped enjoying it more knowing where in India the dish was from.
The bed is one of the best beds I have ever slept in. It was extremely comfortable. There is no ac but not really needed in Munnar at night. The room does have a good fan.
The balcony or terrace to sit out in is lovely and the sitting area in the room is lovely.
I really wish I could stay here again.

Room Tip: Take time to just relax and enjoy !
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a very unique lodge. It has a personal feeling to it, as the host and hostess, Harish and Anju Chawda, are there to welcome visitors and explain the amenities. My husband and I are middle aged, independent travelers from Alaska, USA, and were traveling with a friend. The lodge was quiet, with views of the surrounding mountains. The food was excellent and was prepared individually based on what we ordered ahead of time. The rooms were clean and spacious with clean bathrooms and showers. We had two marvelous hikes, one independently along a quiet road, and one a guided hike through the spice plantation to a riverbed. We are interested in natural history and learned a lot about the plantation and the area. We also attended a Katakali performance in Munnar and it was fascinating.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 354CindyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

If you are looking forward to visit Munnar, head straight to this excellent home away from home. The rooms are no doubts peaceful and at the same well maintained and overlooks the greens of tea and spice plantation in the valley. Harish and Anju were definitely a great host and we still remember the delicious meals. Surrendering to the morning yoga, having a refreshing walk to the nearby waterfalls and spice plantation and gulping down an extra parantha is all we demanded from our trip. We found it here!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nakul_Vyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Booked this hotel after seeing the reviews on tripadvisor ..At 1st was little afraid as going to hotel just based on reviews how would it turn out to be but for our luck it turned out to be a real paradise ...A must spcialy for honymoonrs..
Now coming to hotel rooms food and hospitality are topnotch that we get a feel that we are in a 5star hotels..
Mr Harish the owner which we got to know is a gujarati were so proud that ourself being from gujarat and such a place owened by gujarati..(Hats of to gujarat)..
We had the upperlevel room which had beautiful view..Mr Harish even guided us for day tours which was very helpfull..
Travelled many places but food over here was so fresh and healthy ..
Whenever back to Munnar definately will be visiting kaivlyam again as till than they are building tree houses which will be ready very soon as they were alredy looking awesome in the counstrution time..
All n all had a gr8 2 nights hope could had stayed for more..
Spcial thanks to Mr Harish and his wife...

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank varun117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We spent an excellent time (five nights) with Anju and her husband, Harish. No doubt, it is the best place to stay at in Munnar, and one of the best in all India. Perfect hosts, beautiful house and surroundings, quiet and very comfortable rooms, excellent location outside of Munnar and last but not least: An incredible variety of most delicious meals! Wonderful! It was the perfect choice! The excursions which were perfectly organized by Harish and his crew were a fantastic add to our stay at the Kaivalyam Retreat! Thank you so much Anju and Harish for your kindness and your hospitality! It was wonderful staying with you!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilchibuela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Excellent!
Thank you, Harish & Anju, for a wonderful stay in your peaceful retreat.
The location was stunning, food was extremely delightful.
Early morning yoga classes were worth waking up for. Harish enriched our knowledge and techniques.
The service was outstanding. Harish spent half a day to get us train tickets in the last minute.
The atmosphere was magical and embracing.
This is a place to remember and come back to.
Tomer & Michal

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michali5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
1.4 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 14 in Chithirapuram
945 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#2 of 8 in Pothamedu
721 reviews
15.5 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
1.1 mi away
Rivulet Resort
Rivulet Resort
#9 of 101 in Munnar
511 reviews
3.0 mi away
KTDC Tea County Munnar
KTDC Tea County Munnar
#13 of 101 in Munnar
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaivalyam Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaivalyam Retreat

Address: Opposite Workers Recreation Center | Moolakada, Pallivasal Estate, Munnar 685612, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range: $71 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaivalyam Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a calm and scenic surroundings, the retreat provides a destination for visitors to indulge in learning experience of holistic lifestyle with traditional Yoga and organic way of living and dining. The place is a fusion of rustic external with smooth internal space creating luxurious facilities and natural environment to enjoy and pamper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kaivalyam Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing