We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in munnar”
Review of Kaivalyam Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kaivalyam Retreat
Ranked #1 of 189 Munnar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in munnar”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed in Kaivalyam Retreat for 3 nights.The food there was tasty and hygienic (they serve only vegetarian). And the rooms were excellent,the view from all the rooms will be almost same,so you need not worry about the room which they allot to you.I liked the place where this retreat is located ( 7kms away from munnar) and i am extremely impressed with its surroundings.

Dont miss the guided spice garden walk they provide if you stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santhosh_pingu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    77
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
230
302
32
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Will keep it short and simple:
-Spacious and clean rooms with great view(needn't worry about any room in particular)
-Great food ( Light and tasty)
-Great Staff
-Very well maintained
-Great location ( The fact that it is 7 kms away from Munnar is actually the USP of this place. I doubt other hotels within Munnar offer the peace and scenic beauty Kaivalyam offers)
-Liked the spice plantation walk and yoga sessions
The only thing one might've to consider is the 5 minute steep jeep ride to get to the the retreat,since the road is pretty narrow and its difficult to drive up and down. I personally thought it added to the whole experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misstravelal0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Last Oct we drove down to Munnar to visit this beautiful place called Kaivalyam. Kaivalyam is serene, picturesque and perfect place to relax. Its nice to walk around this estate. The air so fresh and pristine! Also, the landscaping is v neatly done and we can see many colorful flowers blooming daily.

1. It is managed excellently by the owner Harish and his wife. Their staff is v helpful.

2.The rooms are large, very clean and have a nice view overlooking the tall trees.

3. We visited the cardamom plantations which is part of the nature trek organised by them. It was indeed wonderful.

4.Food was v nice and being vegetarians, we were indeed pleased. Its like home food, non oily types. The breakfast is very wholesome with fresh fruits of the day, the best was the passion fruit.

5. On the whole we had nice time for 3 days.
Kaivalyam also has pick up and drop facilities to the main road. They also take you to see Kathakali dance and Kalaripayattu performance.

Its nice to walk around this estate. The air so fresh and pristine! Also, the landscaping is v neatly done and we can see many colorful flowers blooming daily.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamie0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Beautiful place to stay however a few observations:
1. The place is almost 7 km from the main city, so if you want to visit other areas you spend more money & time to reach the city first (the cab how showed us places around munnar till top-station charged us 1100 for the sightseeing and 500 bucks just for the pick-up & drop to the hotel).

2. The place mostly offers North Indian Food (which is good), but if you are looking for typical Kerala food, you have to go other places and then read my first point :)

3. This is a total vegetarian place & you are not allowed/served alcohol as well (which was not a problem for me but may be for some people touring the place)..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vpiyush03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaivalyam, Manager at Kaivalyam Retreat, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thanks for your review and observations.

We would like to add to the observation to provide better understanding for our guests.

1. Our place is 7kms from Munnar town which has its own advantage of wide space of being close to nature and also away from town noice and pollution. For travelling to town there are cheaper options like auto and public transport bus. The cab charges are high however if it is combined with sightseeing there is no extra charge to our place as we advice guest to use cab service from main road (1km) rather than calling it from Munnar town. The extra charge of Rs 500 comes in case of calling cab from town rather than from main road.

2. Regarding food, we include dishes from all over india. It has combination of north, west, south and east with different style of preparation. Again it also depends on the guests who also provide their preferences to include the dishes at dinner time.

3. We are mentioning it to all our guests by mail about the yoga theme of the place with pure veg dining, non-smoking and alcohol free. Also our website provides further details of the place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2013

After traveling through Alleppy, Kovalam & Cochin and being a bit underwhelmed by God's Own country, we were contemplating if we should make the long and ardous car journey (4 hours) to Munnar from Cochin. We decided that we should take a shot and booked a room with Harish at Kaivalyam Resort.
This probably was one of the best decisions we made during the trip.

The rooms at this place are immaculate. One of the friendliest staff I have ever seen at any resort (zero arrogance which seems to be ubiquitous now a days) and just beautiful beautiful scenary of Munnar. We even are planning to go back again and visit as we really enjoyed our stay there.

Munnar is nice, but if we had gone to one of the commercial resorts in town, we would have probably left Kerala being completely disappointed. Staying at this resort and being pampered with the excellent food, service and planning for our various trips around the area were just above and beyond our expectations.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone who plans to visit Munnnar / thekkady area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I recently stayed at Kaivalyam Retreat for 2 nights and I was super impressed by everything from the location, facilities, food. Upon arrival we were greeted with a hot spice drink and refreshing towel which we greatly appreciated. The hosts Harish and Anju are very warm and friendly and go out of their way to ensure that the guests are comfortable. We are pure veggies and that was the main reason to choose this resort. The rooms are spacious, elegant and luxurious. I found it based on the awesome reviews on TripAdvisor, and my experience was consistent with what was stated. The resort really is a hidden gem situated in an ideal location which is slightly away from the bustle of Munnar town amidst cardamom and spice plantations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PekayNoida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

What can we say?! The room was fab. Staff really helpful and friendly. Loved the walks especially to the tea garden. The food was great. The place has such a relaxing feel about it and the view is amazing. Bit of a trek to get to, but totally worth it! Highly recommend this place to stay :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jumpinjac24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
1.4 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#3 of 14 in Chithirapuram
906 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#2 of 8 in Pothamedu
708 reviews
15.5 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
2.6 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 14 in Chithirapuram
524 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rivulet Resort
Rivulet Resort
#9 of 98 in Munnar
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaivalyam Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaivalyam Retreat

Property: Kaivalyam Retreat
Address: Opposite Workers Recreation Center | Moolakada, Pallivasal Estate, Munnar 685612, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaivalyam Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a calm and scenic surroundings, the retreat provides a destination for visitors to indulge in learning experience of holistic lifestyle with traditional Yoga and organic way of living and dining. The place is a fusion of rustic external with smooth internal space creating luxurious facilities and natural environment to enjoy and pamper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kaivalyam Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing