We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kaivalyam Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kaivalyam Retreat
Ranked #2 of 180 Munnar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Our stay at kaivalyam was fantastic.....harish, anju and their staff all together put up a great show....they are truly amazing at making their guest feel special and at home in all ways....we had an amazing candle light dinner arranged by harish...and their food is...to die for....
thank you!kaivalyam....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shabbsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    75
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
222
292
32
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

The 15-minutes turf road drive (with jeeps constantly running up and down from the main road) is really worth doing. Kaivalyam is located on a secluded spot on a mountain slope, in the middle of nature, far from the noisy village of Munnar.

Our room was huge and featured a balcony with a wonderful view. Kaivalyam offers yoga classes and walks that provide a nice complement to a peaceful stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

My stay at Kaivalyam has been sheer joy, peace and bliss. Set on a hillside admist lush green forest and tea plantation, this is a place is trully tranquil. The owners are a nice, humble couple. While there are yoga classes and the workers can take you on guided walks, this is a place to just chill and do absolutely nothing; enjoy the birds chirping and cool fresh air. Meals are vegetarian, made from fresh organic produce from surrounding farms and taste awesome.

Room Tip: You can see the property from the road. It's a steep drive or walk downhill, so it's best to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buffybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

After my 2 night stay at Kaivalyam Retreat I'm pleased to agree with many of the reviews already written on this site. Its position set in the hills amongst the spice/tea plantation coupled with the wonderfully mannered and polite staff leave you feeling nothing but relaxed and cared for. The room; incredibly clean and very well finished (especially for India). The food; simply delicious... and wonderful value. The staff; polite and helpful when needed as well as incredibly calming!
If you are after a base for a few days in which to sample what is wonderful about Munnar, stay here. It's outside of the town by a few km (a good thing) and all your needs will be catered for.

Worth noting, I didn't do the yoga available as my body would probably have failed completely! and another reviewer commented on the ayurvedic massage (in Munnar Town) that was booked for them by the host. We too did this, and yes the setting in which the massage was done was like a butchers basement (its no exaggeration) but the massage treatment itself was very good. Its not something I gave much thought to until I read it here.

Room Tip: All as good as each other to be honest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobJung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanuku
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

i have been there with my family for pongal 2012, a group of 12 members from andhra pradesh,. it was a memorable experience from the start, this place is wayy better than what i have seen in the pics,

1. the travel from the main road to the retreat place.
2. the friendly staff
3. the serene atmosphere, the rooms are very neat and they mix well with the surrounding atmosphere.
4. the food - Mr. Harish and his wife take very good care of the restaurant and the food, though they dont serve non-veg in here, kind of ecofriendly place - but trust me- the veg food is made very tasty - all kinds of food - and also the complimentary breakfast - very good too..
5. the management - mr. harish being an educated person and has lot of affection towards nature and thats how - you get mixed into the surroundings for your stay there - its all suitable even for family trips and also for honeymoon couples.

advice it for all kinds of people, groups and couples - a definite 5 stars to them.

Room Tip: all rooms have a balcony and nice view and privacy, so dont bother about the room choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumanth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Spent magical six days in God’s own country – Kerala , It is surely beyond expectation

Anything from Ayurvedic Massages to Resorts , Food to People , Fish to Prawns , Magical Mountains to Mystic Backwaters , High Speed Boating to watching Kath kali , Houseboats to Homestays , Kerala has everything you desire for .

Our stay at this resort in Munnar was starting of our trip and we spent 2 Nights, 3 Days at this place , First of all the place is only a year old and is neat and clean , Owner of the place Harish takes care of everything himself . They take care of your every need with full interest and don’t leave any stone unturned in making your vacation a memorable one . We were with our 18 Month old Daughter , They took care of her food specially and she also enjoyed a lot playing with them. Good Food and Great masala tea

We enjoyed the serenity, calmness, organic food and friendly environment of this place . This place is surrounded by huge spice plantation and is lush green

This place gives you a feel of both Homestay and a resort and that’s the beauty of it .
We were with our two year old daughter and she also had a great time here .
Thanks Harish for everything , we would Love to come back soon

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sachin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and whist I agree that it is very clean and has luvley food, I am not sure what all the hype is about. My partner found this place and he ADORED our stay but I was simply satisfied. I think the difference is that he does Yoga and enjoys lectures on Yoga and the lifestyle associated with Yoga whereas I just occasionally do some yoga. ;)

The rooms were large, clean and had a very nice seating area and terrace. The food was generous and delicious. The hosts seemed peaceful and kind, although not overly friendly. The location is remote and pretty, but one of the mornings loud music was coming from a nearby temple starting at about 5AM. There was also some construction going on that involved hydraulic machinery during the day. Not a huge deal, but not the paradise that some of the previous reviewers made it out to be.

After reading the glowing reviews, I expected more.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CA_expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
1.4 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 13 in Chithirapuram
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
1.2 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#1 of 13 in Chithirapuram
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#1 of 8 in Pothamedu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
1.1 mi away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaivalyam Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaivalyam Retreat

Property: Kaivalyam Retreat
Address: Opposite Workers Recreation Center | Moolakada, Pallivasal Estate, Munnar 685612, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 180 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaivalyam Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a calm and scenic surroundings, the retreat provides a destination for visitors to indulge in learning experience of holistic lifestyle with traditional Yoga and organic way of living and dining. The place is a fusion of rustic external with smooth internal space creating luxurious facilities and natural environment to enjoy and pamper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaivalyam Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing