We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite place in Kerala!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kaivalyam Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kaivalyam Retreat
Ranked #2 of 180 Munnar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favorite place in Kerala!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

We toured various cities and sights in Kerala and we both agreed this was one of our favorite places to stay. We had some of the best food we have had in India there as well. It was very fresh, homemade, and well thought out. Anju and Harish were very welcoming and had great recommendations. We enjoyed the quiet location with morning yoga in the outdoor setting. They recommended and set us up with an experienced and friendly hiking guide. We loved the environmentally conscious yet very comfortable stay. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Godux22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    75
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
222
292
32
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyd, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

This is a secluded retreat, set amongst the trees, about 5km from Munnar town. It is not easy to reach, a steep path leads down to Kaivalyam of the main road. However, the retreat provides a jeep service.

The interiors are of a high standard and the rooms large and spacious.

A couple, originally from Pune, run the place, having visited here 3 years back and deciding to stay. The food is home-cooked and of an excellent quality. The breakfast spread in particular is fantastic (fruits, tea/coffee, toast with fresh jams, one south Indian and one north Indian dish).

It is themed as a yoga retreat so yoga classes are an added bonus for those so inclined. However, it is a great place to stay even sans yoga.

Note that it is a vegetarian only kitchen, and an alcohol-free retreat.

Free internet is also provided though the speed is generally slow and largely unreliable. If internet access is critical, this is not the best bet.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agmudaliar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at this wonderful retreat during a lovely trip to Kerala. It is amazing place with amazing host and staff and we would highly recommend it to anyone going to Kerala. Our rooms were immaculate, the surroundings beautiful, the food also very nice vegetarian. The rates were very reasonable.
This retreat is set in a tea and cardamon plantation and lovely walks around to a waterfall.
I can't say enough great things about this retreat.
Getting to the retreat at present requires a transfer by Jeep which the retreat provides. The tranquility at the end is worth it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ebow10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

Kaivalyam Retreat was a fantastic experience and we stayed for four nights. Our particular highlights were:

The room: recently built, large and comfortable, with a patio area and a nice view. All in all a great space to relax in.
The food: home cooked, delicious, and very accommodating -even with a spice-sensitive-gluten-intolerant in tow!
The yoga: There are two classes a day (morning and afternoon). Classes are really enjoyable; challenging yet relaxing, and a great way to start the day! Each class included a mix of breathing exercises and asanas with modifications for your level of experience.
The environment: set on a lush hill side,near a spice plantation, and close to Munnar. We went on a great walk in the immediate area, which had beautiful views and huge rocks in the valley to scramble over - very fun!

It’s was definitely one of the nicest places we stayed in Kerala. This review may seem a little one sided but that’s because we had such a great time! The unique selling point is Anju and Harish's personalised approach, which makes it difficult to compare Kaivalyam Retreat to anywhere else as we felt so welcomed and at home.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandeep722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

The retreat is situated amidst tea and cardamom plantations. Not only do the plantations provide a great morning walk, the fragrance of the plantations is just a therapeutic as the walk it self. A walk down to the river is a must, if you’re lucky you might catch a glimpse of a monkey or two.

The retreat is spread over two major buildings. The restaurant has a delightful home feeling and the food is, if your own mother had flown out to Munnar and cooked for you! Great food!

The room was very spacious and had all the amenities one needs, the rooms are kept to a high standard. On top of this all rooms have amazing views of the plantations.

The newly built yoga hall provides the space and tranquillity that one needs to reconnect with themselves.

Staff provide the perfect atmosphere, very helpful and very efficient. I could not have asked for more.

If your looking for a place to relax and rejuvenate. Look no further!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinnie0002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

I went to this place with my wife in the month of Feb-11. The place is as amazing as the people who run this beautiful quite resort. I booked this hotel by calling Harish and he arranged everything thereafter. If you are looking for peace and serenity from the busy city of Munnar this is the place for you. Also best place for bird watchers, Book lovers and for people interested in plants and herbs. The rooms gives a very private view to the forest and if you want to enjoy rain you can do that as well in the dedicated balcony. Food is awesome. Pure veg home cooked food. Rooms and bath are clean. Room service is also excellent. Last thing a good place to stay is not good by itself but by the people who run it and the host of this place Harish and Anju can just impress anybody with the hospitality they provide. Overall my best experience in God own's country aka Kerela.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yatindra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

We had been to KAIVALYAM in month of December 2010 during our 8 days tour of Kerala.
We stayed in the resort for 3 days and had a great experience.
The resort is located in midst of beautiful tea gardens with lot off huge plantations nearby.
It was a great experience and one of the most memorable trip of my life.
After our arrival there, we were served with refreshing drink and given warm towels. The drink was great in taste which I has tasted for first time in my life.
The rooms in resort are great with all the facilities in it. One of the most important features of the room is that, it has hot water facilities for 24 hours which is very difficult to get in hill stations like Munnar.
The rooms are very cozy with wooden floorings, matting in the seating area with heater facilities on request.
The view from balcony is beautiful as if we feel that we are in real nature and clouds coming into our room.
The restaurant is nearby the main building which serves great food.
It was shocking to know that the owners, Mr, Harish and Ms. Anju are software engineers who after a very successful IT career in Tokyo, Japan have opted for such a different hospitality business.
I think that KAIVALYAM might be the only place which is managed by such a high profile owners by their own.
They helped us a lot and shared information about different places in KERALA. They have deep knowledge about YOGA and MEDITATION also. Both of them are qualified teachers of YOGA. The resort also has facility of YOGA which was under construction during our visit.
Overall it was a great experience at KAIVALYAM and I would suggest all the people to have a stay here to experience natural beauty, comfortable stay, great hosts and most beautiful food.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RASHMIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
1.4 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 13 in Chithirapuram
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
1.2 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#1 of 13 in Chithirapuram
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#1 of 8 in Pothamedu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
1.1 mi away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaivalyam Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaivalyam Retreat

Property: Kaivalyam Retreat
Address: Opposite Workers Recreation Center | Moolakada, Pallivasal Estate, Munnar 685612, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 180 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaivalyam Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a calm and scenic surroundings, the retreat provides a destination for visitors to indulge in learning experience of holistic lifestyle with traditional Yoga and organic way of living and dining. The place is a fusion of rustic external with smooth internal space creating luxurious facilities and natural environment to enjoy and pamper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaivalyam Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing