We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and peacdeful place, wonderful rejunevation”
Review of Kaivalyam Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kaivalyam Retreat
Ranked #2 of 182 Munnar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing and peacdeful place, wonderful rejunevation”
Reviewed March 28, 2011

I travelled by myself across Kerala for a month and Kaivalyam was the cleanliest place that I’ve ever stayed. The owners, Harsh and Anju go out of their way to make sure that all the guests are happy and well attended to. The other staff members are also super nice and will bent over backwards to make sure that I had a wonderful stay. I am vegetarian and I appreciated that only veggies were allowed in the kitchen.

The rooms are similar to western standard with hot shower, heater, room cleaned everyday, etc.. The view that we got from our room was amazing!! Nothing like waking up and see green vegetation everywhere. There’s wifi in the reception area/dining room.

And the food!! Anju supervises the cooking and it feels like homemade food and they use local and organic veggies/fruits as much as possible. They will cater to your taste if you let them know ahead of time what level of spiciness you want. Goes without saying the masala chai is awesome. They serve a lot of food and breakfast is big with toast, fruits, as well as an Indian breakfast that varies daily and coffee/tea. The Masala Chai is out of this world. They can also pack you a lunch to go if you are thinking of doing a day trip around Munnar.

Make sure to check out their spices plantation that leads to a waterfall- simply breathtaking. Depending on the season, water might or might not be flowing. One of the gardeners can take you there. They have a tour guide, Ramesh who can take you around at reasonable rates. Harsh and Anju are more than happy to make good suggestions on where to go in the area and they can arrange them for you. I also went to the Ayurvedic massage place in town and they made the appointment for me.

I came to Kaivalyam because I was interested in the yoga retreat aspect of the resort. Harsh conducts yoga early in the morning at 6 a.m or later in the afternoon at 4:30ish depending on what guests ask. He’s a great teacher and his classes are suited for beginners as he takes time to explain every posture and its benefits. I’m planning to go back to Kaivalyam once their yoga hall and dormitory are built.

I could go on and on about Kaivalyam and it’s beautiful, peaceful surroundings and the hospitality of the whole team, but I’ll stop here. You just have to go and see for yourself. You can drop in for dinner even if you are not a guest and prices are decent. If you are in Munnar, this is the place to stay!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loveena2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    76
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
228
296
32
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Q Bornes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

You wake up to the sound of birds and sun rising behind the trees, you may go for a walk, do personalised yoga with Harish, have delicious breakfast and meals concocted by Anju, the hosts who make you feel at home and part of their family. The staff is very helpful and wear eternal smiles, which remind us to also smile all the time. I spent 3 memorable days there and will go for a longer period next time. From there you may on tours around Munnar. I'd highly recommend the place especially if you are a solo lady traveller.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foffQBornes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 7 nights at this wonderful retreat during a month long trip to India from Canada. It was the highlight of our travels and we would highly recommend it to anyone going to Kerala. Our room was immaculate, the surroundings beautiful, the food soooo delicious, and our hosts were so hospitable. And the rates were very reasonable. Our only regret is that we arrived just before the yoga sessions were being offered, but that just gives us a reason to do a return trip here.
We would be happy to provide any specific information to anyone looking for details on Kaivalyam; I can't say enough great things about this retreat.

Please email essvpatel@gmail.com if you want to hear more about our experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s4patel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

This retreat is a real gem. The rooms are immaculately clean and more like a plush hotel than a retreat, with fluffy white towels, a great shower with lots of hot water, a tv, plenty of storage space and a sitting area inside with an outdoor terrace overlooking the jungle area.

We had the best food of our whole trip to Kerala staying here. There is a different menu for dinner each afternoon with a choice of various traditional vegetarian dishes which Harish patiently explains to the uninitiated! Breakfast was lovely too, with different Indian dishes each day.

Harish and Anju were so helpful - they arranged for us to do a guided trek in the hills above Munnar one day, down to the river through the plantations another day, and gave us good advice on sightseeing. Although the retreat is out of town, there is a jeep which will run you to the top of the hill and they will arrange for rickshaws to get into town.

We had a beautiful and peaceful stay and thank you Harish and Anju for your hospitality!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank experience_things
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Beautiful retreat and a lovely setting. We are bird watchers and the grounds are excellent for viewing many species of birds - an unexpected bonus to the beautiful area of Munnar.
The most comfortable and luxurious place we stayed in in Kerala.Harish and Anju were very caring hosts.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candjukRiponUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2011

I had stayed here in february and its a very nice stay if you want to gate away form busy city life and realx in nature's lap.

The place is located right in the Munnar valley with beautiful views of valley and forest with large Eucalyptus trees. Resort is littlebit away from main road and a 4WD jeep picks you up from main road till resort (its a short distance though ~700 m.) which is a considerabley steep road with very limited width. The place is excellent, with modern facilities.

The rooms are well-equipped, spacious and very clean, with comfortable beds. Views form the rooms are stunnigly beautiful. Hot water is available 24 Hours.

Owners, Harish & Anju (both are certified yoga teachers) are excellent hosts and make you feel right at home. The staff is very helpful. The food was also good. Other point to note here is there's no continuously fixed menu as such. Every day they have ceratin menu and you will tell them what you will be having out of these. Offcourse Anju does cater to special requests out of the set Menu for the day (My mother in law was having a fast on one day and Anju asked us if we need any particular food for her). The Breakfast was excellent.

If you are looking for place near the town or market (or any central location) where you can just strall around, walk to market etc., then this may not be the place for you. Also I am not sure if you drive to this place in your own car/vehicle then whether you will be able to comfortabely drive it till resort on the narrow steep road (Better to check with them before going).And the food served here is only vegetarian food with no alcohol.
But if you are looking for a nice and comfortable stay in nature's lap, in a scenic environmtnt, away from the busy city life, then I will certaibnly recommend it to you.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mapping_The_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Although we stayed just one night, we wish we had stayed a few more days. The place is absolutely fantastic, with very modern facilities and a great place to simply relax. The food was by far the best we have had in India. This is a must stay place on a trip to Munnar. Make sure to take the 2 hour hike to the river with a plantaion worker.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kinneri1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
1.4 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#3 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.2 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#1 of 13 in Chithirapuram
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#1 of 8 in Pothamedu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
1.1 mi away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaivalyam Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaivalyam Retreat

Property: Kaivalyam Retreat
Address: Opposite Workers Recreation Center | Moolakada, Pallivasal Estate, Munnar 685612, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaivalyam Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a calm and scenic surroundings, the retreat provides a destination for visitors to indulge in learning experience of holistic lifestyle with traditional Yoga and organic way of living and dining. The place is a fusion of rustic external with smooth internal space creating luxurious facilities and natural environment to enjoy and pamper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Kaivalyam Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing