We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel with clean rooms”
Review of Grand Plaza Munnar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Plaza Munnar
Ranked #16 of 108 Hotels in Munnar
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I was here for 2 days on 17th and 18th April-2014.

Pros:
1) Rooms and location are clean.
2) Room service is quick and prompt.
3) Staff ,especially reception is very courteous.Not just that ,they kept my luggage on request for 4 hours after checkout which I collected later when I left Munnar.
4) Super hot water all the time in bathroom.

Cons:
1) Furniture in the room and the bathroom(door) are a little old.
2) Dinner option in the restaurant is only limited to buffet that too over priced at Rs 400 per person.No ala carte menu.After whole day sight seeing and eating frequently through the day,I don't think anyone would have capacity to digest the buffet.Ala carte menu would definitely attract more cutomers.


We ventured out on both days for dinner.We had dinner at the restaurant at Archana residency(adjacent to Grand Plaza) and surprisingly the food was delicious(We only had North indian).Next day we went to Hotel Annapoorna(Veg Restaurant) less than a kilometer from Grand Plaza.(Its below the Red Sparrow Hotel)


3) Room Service: Please don't order veg sandwich/club sandwich,they are horrible.Even if you do,don't dare to taste the tomato sauce,Onion pakoda was very tasty though.

4) No daily newspaper

5) Head Massage/Body massage etc are really expensive(Just to give an idea, 15 min Head Massage costs Rs 400).

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashwin_phadke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (990)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 990 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Grand Plaza with 3 families: Parents, Brother’s family & my family. We had booked 3 No.s of Elegance rooms for 1 night, during April second week. The room & bathroom are well maintained, neat & clean. Another hotel was very near to this hotel & there is no great view from our room. Our window opens to the other hotel. But we were in the room only for sleeping, spent most of the time outside only.

The room has coffee maker, mini-bar, complimentary mineral water, etc. But no hair dryer, magnifying mirror, electronic locker, etc. unlike other similar hotels. All the staffs are polite & co-operative.

The complimentary buffet breakfast had enough items (but not lot of variety items). No Masala Dosa or Plain Dosa, which are available at extra cost. The food was tasty.
The hotel is located near to KSRTC bus stand & around 1.5 km away from main Munnar town. If you are going by vehicle, there is no problem of travelling. They arrange parking space for vehicles, just opposite to hotel.

We had booked the hotel directly with staff through mail / phone & got good discount also. Because I had booked just 2 days before travel, they allowed us to pay while check in. The booking was very nice & Mr. Hariharan of Reservation dept. acted very promptly. He even called once to confirm the booking on the check-in date. Both Check-in & Check-out were quite smooth & very fast.

The hotel room has no AC, only ceiling fans are there. The towels provided were OK, not great. Hot water was available 24 hrs.

We did not have food from the hotel other than breakfast, so not much idea about the quality. Overall it was Good option to stay in Hotel

Room Tip: Our Elegance room do not have any view, it open to nearby hotel. Some other room type may have good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RakeshG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

A must visit for all of us who love to see the nature’s gift at its best.
I undertook this journey to Kerala in between 5th April to 9th April 2014, and must say it was enjoyable and memorable right from the word go.
We took a flight to Kochi from Bengaluru a 1 hour flight, by the time you adjust and begin to enjoy the onboard experience you get to know that the decent to destination has already started and what an amazing view from the top with greenery all around.
Palm and coconut trees swaying all around as if to say a warm welcome to Kerala.
We landed at Kochi around 2 pm and immediately a chauffer driven car arranged through Kerala Destinations came to pick us up at the Airport. The driver could communicate in English, Hindi and Malayalam and so it became easy for us.
Our first destination was Munnar which is around 130 kms from Kochi, though the distance looks round the corner it does take a good 4-5 hours to reach the destination. It is a national highway but the climb is almost 60 – 65 kms which is what consumes a lot of time. The Chauffer informed us that if it rains then driving becomes challenging as we have Fog all around . Luckily for us the rain did come but it halted prior to our beginning our climb.
We had our reservations made through Kerala Destinations at Grand Plaza Hotel. We reached around 7:30 pm and were immediately assisted with our luggage to the room. The climate was pleasant and the staff was very courteous. We were informed about the hotel facilities and also about the inclusions in our package at the reception itself.
They have their restaurant at the first floor where Buffet is laid out. It is a decent spread of North Indian and South Indian cuisine as well as some oriental dishes.
The taste of the food was excellent and we all enjoyed the scenic beauty of the place and surroundings which were visible from the restaurant glass windows.
We had a good night sleep and in morning as we got up we realized how beautiful the place actually was, surrounded by a small stream which runs through the back of the hotel, the area where the hotel is located is fully covered by greenery all across. We actually had mist across our room windows. We were informed that finding staff to work at Munnar was pretty difficult and only those who had passion for hospitality were working there and it was truly visible.
The breakfast buffet opens from 7:00 – 7:30 am and you have a spread of both South Indian as well as North Indian dishes. The taste of the breakfast spread was as good as dinner.
Post our breakfast we proceeded for sight seeking, the entire drive across the streets to the various destinations were full of breath taking views and if you are camera enthusiast and you love mountains then this is a place to be and especially if the area has received some rains. We visited the flower garden, the hydel garden and the echo point.
We were told that many movies have been shot throughout tea gardens at Munnar and one of the recent ones which we were able to relate was Chennai Express.
All the places were unique in their own ways, however we enjoyed the most at the speed boat point slightly ahead of the Echo point. The charges were pretty reasonable and we all had a wonderful ride on the speed boat with the boatman capturing the photos for our memories in addition to giving us a wonderful ride.
Each ride is for 15 minutes so you do not have a mad rush to get into the boat unlike many other places.
In the evening at 5pm we reached Thirumeny Cultural Centre to view the amazing Kathakali and Kalaripayattu.
The ticket cost is pretty cheap being INR 200 per person for one hour shown of Kathakali and additional INR 200 per person for one hour of Kalaripayattu
The Malayalam word ‘kalari’ means gymnasium and ‘payattu’ means exercise in weaponry. It is an art form by which an unarmed victim overpowers an armed attacker.
Prior to beginning of the show the show hosts explained us what different expressions were pertaining to Kathakali and the artiste was able to converse exceptionally well with the audience through his eye and body movements.
The Kalaripayattu is a must watch for all those who want to see action, amazing body movements, and controls at a short distance.
These artiste are trained from the age of 6 – 7 and when they are leaping in the air or fighting each other with the swords one can see sparks coming out when two swords clash against each other. They also have a performance where an exponent of the art jumps through a burning ring.
Both the events begin with traditional Puja and each performance is done only after folding hands in front of the weapons and bowing in front of the performance arena.
After a tiring day when you return to hotel it is the time to go in for a traditional Kerala oil massage, which the hotel offers at reasonable prices.
On day three after checking out early we visited the Spice garden and tea garden on our way to Alleppey or Alapuzha.

Room Tip: All rooms are great however one facing the back side give you the view of mountains and small water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gsubramaniyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We went as a family, Me, wife and 7 year old son. We were greeted and checked in very promptly. This is a clean hotel and has very courteous staff. The food choices in the evening are limited to a buffet dinner only.
The hotel is situated near to the town center (walking 10 min).
The noise levels from other rooms can be a problem. We had an issue where a drunk guest made a lot of noise and he had to be checked out. This was handled by the staff very well.
There is no BAR in the hotel by the way.

Room Tip: Does not have any such preference tips
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RahulNene1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I have always stayed at 4* or 5* properties when i travel with my family. But after getting a positive review from my close relative i thought of giving a try at Grand Plaza. The hotel does not have a very big open spaces or garden outside and the parking of the hotel is also in an adjoining property, however this does not take away the positive aspects of the hotel. The staff is very Friendly, helpful and pleasant. Right from the moment i made the booking over the phone to the moment i checked out they were very eager and friendly. I reached the hotel just after their check in time of 1 'o' clock. I had booked two rooms in the hotel. My 6 month old son was getting a bit cranky due to the long travel. The room which i had booked was not ready, but the Duty Manager informed me that my room was upgraded to suite room which was a very pleasant gesture from the hotel staff.
The rooms were pretty good,spacious and had decent interiors. The balcony attached to the room gave a beautiful view of backwater lake. Since we were pure vegetarians we did not eat in the hotel restaurant. The location of the hotel is such that its just a stone throw away from Pure Vegetarian restaurants.
It has a great spot for morning stroll if you head east from the hotel. We ended up walking along the lush green tea estates on one side and beautiful river on the other side. You will feel like never leaving this place

Room Tip: Ask for suite room with view to the backwaters
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinikiniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Had a lovely stay for my honeymoon! The room and decor were lovely and a real treat. The hotel is nicely situated within walking distance of the town.The food and restaurant staff were wonderful and we felt well looked after. The staff at the front desk were very knowledgable and helpful about the surrounding area and were very proactive in keeping us informed of the conditions (weather, traffic etc) which was great.


Look forward to coming back and would definitely reccomend!

With Warm Regards,
Jain & Anjaly.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAIN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Nice architecture of building good ventilation & reception area is nice food & breakfast is very good,neat & clean. Well trained staff. Food serving is very fast.Jain food is available. Hotel room charge is reasonable. Peaceful in lobby and nice plantation.
I stayed in this hotel for 2 days and I found it really nice. Rooms, ambiance, location, room service, house keeping, food court etc. everything was so nice. Food was very tasty and there were lot of options as well. Hotel staff too was very co-operative and supportive. Really nice place and recommendable to friends too!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side is good for Sun light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dharmesh121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0 mi away
Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts
3.4 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 15 in Chithirapuram
1,075 reviews
3 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
547 reviews
2.8 mi away
Misty Mountain Resort
Misty Mountain Resort
#4 of 9 in Pallivasal
984 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Fog Resort & Spa
The Fog Resort & Spa
#1 of 15 in Chithirapuram
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Plaza Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Munnar

Address: MSA Road, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Munnar
#9 Spa Hotel in Munnar
#11 Romantic Hotel in Munnar
Price Range: $58 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Plaza Munnar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Plaza Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza Munnar Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing