We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a nice place to stay”
Review of Grand Plaza Munnar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Plaza Munnar
Ranked #26 of 100 Hotels in Munnar
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel is located at the heart of Munnar and has very good view from Eminence Royal Suite. Still we cannot say it a good hotel as its service is pathetic and even their best room lacks proper care. The in-room tea maker was missing. Though they tried to explain that their room service personnel took it to clean them we found no fixed place for it inside the room. Again shaving mirror was not in toilet, nor was the hair drier. Again they tried to convince saying it might have been misplaced. We found their complementary wi-fi non functional. The room also had no facility of safe deposit locker.
The stay at this hotel was full of trouble. The taste of food was average. The menu in the buffet was repetitive. Once during dinner time we found that buffet menu had only one non-veg option and that was Malabar chicken. I had allergy to coconut and requested for a replacement as there was no other options. The restaurant people asked for extra charges forgetting all ethics that they had collected dinner charges in advance at the time of booking and now declining food. Later the problem was sorted out and hotel authority offered alternate dish. But it spoilt the mood.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank gkpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (843)
There are newer reviews for Grand Plaza Munnar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 846 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here in Oct. We were really glad we booked this place. Rooms are very clean. The ambience room has a balcony and the view of plantations was unforgettable. Food was tasty yet not oily. Service was prompt. Location of this hotel is a major advantage as all the important roads to tourist spots are accessible right away.

Room Tip: Go for the ambience room
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayasree1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My experience was very good with this hotel, rooms were clean, services were prompt and fast the staff know their job very well. , sight seeing arrangements were good, food was great also our candle light dinner was memorable. My stay there was fantastic and would love to reccomend this hotel to friends and family .We stayed there for 3 nights and 4 days, and i think the amount i paid for the package was not enough after getting such an acceptable service from hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjathani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Had gone there with family in Oct-. It was an amazingly relaxing experience. We stayed at the Eminence Suite which had a small balcony facing towards the river and the view of the tea plantations a bit far from the hotel. The package which we took gave us unique experience of ayurveda.The elephant safari arranged the hotel was very interesting our 4yr old child enjoyed it a lot.The staff were extremely friendly! Five stars for service. Brilliant food and the food at the buffet was alright and the spread had great variety. Would definitely want to be there again and its totally worth !

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank chithann a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Three good things:

1. Nice,clean(for the first day), compact rooms.( I stayed in Elegance with a balcony)
2. Food was good. In fact I had all my dinners in their restaurant.
3. The taxi and the driver that they gave for local sightseeing were great. Specially the driver , he helped us with numerous couple photos ,which we would have missed otherwise.

The bad ones:
1. Even after telling them to clean my room the second day , they didn't. When I came back from day long sight seeing I found the room in the same state I left it in and that was bad. I called the staff twice or thrice and then they came.
2. For every little thing , like changing the towel in the bathroom and replenishing the soap and shampoo I had to tell them.
3. Neither do they give complementary water(they give only on the first day) nor a newspaper. These two things wont even cost them 50 rs a day and they can always take it in the room tariff if they want. These little things shows that they care for the guests.

All in all an average stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coolshubhendu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The comfortable place for a family vacation. Even though the hotel is very close to the town we never feel that as it offers some wonderful view of tea gardens. We had a very good stay , great food & excellent services by the staffthe hotel is excellent in house-keeping,cleanliness.the reception staff are very cooperative in arranging local tours in time and arranging drop at the Kumarakom..The management is really appreciated to maintain the overall standards

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank morganstanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Only good things about this hotel were room and location. Room was medium size with balcony and view from balcony was awesome.
Service was not good and staff was not efficient. Food was not good at all, no variety in breakfast and it was cold. There was no staff to attend to guests. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anchal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
3.4 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 14 in Chithirapuram
944 reviews
2.8 mi away
Misty Mountain Resort
Misty Mountain Resort
#4 of 9 in Pallivasal
951 reviews
13.8 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clouds Valley Leisure Hotel
3.0 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
3.2 mi away
Rivulet Resort
Rivulet Resort
#9 of 100 in Munnar
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Plaza Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Munnar

Address: MSA Road, Munnar 685612, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Munnar
#11 Spa Hotel in Munnar
#11 Romantic Hotel in Munnar
Price Range: $51 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Grand Plaza Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza Munnar Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing