We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff felt like home.....”
Review of Grand Plaza Munnar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Plaza Munnar
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
2 reviews
“Friendly staff felt like home.....”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

First of all thanks to Kallada Travel House for suggesting us Grand Plaza becuase we were looking for some resorts and the agent suggested about this property since we were with our old parents the downtown hotel was been booked. It was really a surprise for us that the staff behaved so friendly by which we felt being at home. The management are so blessed to have such staff who go beyond their territory to serve guests.The food was really good especially the morning buffet which boasts the south indian varities. The room is not that spacious because the extra bed could be conjusted in it but rest everything very fine. I really recommend this hotel for their great service....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srijilvictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balajiar, Front Office Manager at Grand Plaza Munnar, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Guest
Team Grand Plaza is thankful for your stay. We respect your valuable comment and grateful for sharing your experience. We believe our staff as our strength who are well trained and dedicated to deliver the best. Looking forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    261
    66
    28
    18
See reviews for
392
259
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calcutta
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We made visit to Grand Plaza for the ayurvedic spa because they have the doctor and the experience was awesome. After the massages we made a visit to the restaurant also where they have really delicous dinner buffet...Really enjoyed....great experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freeqtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balajiar, Front Office Manager at Grand Plaza Munnar, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Guest
Team Grand Plaza is thankful for your stay. We are happy to know that you have visited our hotel for the facilities and we like to welcome you for a stay too during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Husband and I stayed one night here on our three day trip to Munnar and 9 day trip to Kerala in March 2012. We read about the hotel on this website..we also checked out a few other options in Munnar town and found this the best amongst the lot..good clean and spacious rooms with a decent view of the mountains..located in an inner road and hence away from the city's bustle..but not very far from the main attractions of Munnar..food and quality of service were excellent...however this is a no frills place and was a good mid range hotel...not a fancy resort kind...but a good place to crash after a day's sightseeing...we also tried the ayurvedic massage centre but found it to be average...

Room Tip: Choose a room after inspecting it yourself..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smitzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balajiar, Front Office Manager at Grand Plaza Munnar, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Guest
Team Grand Plaza is thankful for your stay. We respect your valuable comment and its the inspiration for us to deliver best service for our guests. We wish next time you wont look for another options and welcome you in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I booked this hotel from Make my trip, I am really happy. Staff is Good, easy to transit to town and local site seeing place. Food is good, rooms are clean and free room upgrade provided. Sleep quality is good, Worth of money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepak_meenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balajiar, Front Office Manager at Grand Plaza Munnar, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Guest
Team Grand Plaza is thankful for your stay. We are delighted to receive such valuable comment. Looking forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Me and my family were at Grand Plaza during the mid of april and it was a festival day too...We really had a great stay there and the Krishna shrine specially arranged was somthing quite nice and the front office staff asked us to have a look in the morning. Very friendly and helpful staff..Really good experience in other areas room and food too..Will surely stay at Grand Plaza during our next trip too....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dev79mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balajiar, Front Office Manager at Grand Plaza Munnar, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Guest
Team Grand Plaza is thankful for your stay. We appreciate the review you have made through Trip Advisor. It was the vishu festival when you have been at the hotel. We are happy to welcome you for the next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I booked this hotel based on the ratings on Tripadvisor. But this experience assured that the ratings on tripadvisor are genuine. The hotel is not worth being the best hotel in munnar as the ratings are shown on tripadvisor. The feedback on the hotel are as follows:

1. Highly overrated and expensive. Absolutely not worth what one pays for.
2. Very cramped rooms and a bit of stinking smell.
3. Very noisy neighbourhood
4. Valley view rooms are charged higher and absolutely no views that deserves higher price.
5. Not much of choices in the breakfast menu.
6. Not cooperative staff as i needed some help from the kitechen for my 7 month daughter but not allowed to access the kitchen to explain them as what we needed.
7. Any negative feedback is not taken in the right spirit by the hotel management. At the time of checkout, i gave my feedback to the manager but all sorts of illogical defense was given. My intention was to appraise them so that they can improve. Its very impossible to help one who does not want to be helped. i think they are very complacent.
8. The biggest joke of the stay that bill was not provided to me at the time of checkout and was not provided any reason for the same. I requested to talk to the manager but he was not ready to speak and meet me to tell the reason. I was assured that the bill would be mailed to me within a week but i have not received the bills till date.

Consider this review as genuine and would not recommend this hotel to anyone. There are many better hotels than this at a lower tarriff too.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank pawan1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balajiar, Front Office Manager at Grand Plaza Munnar, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Guest
Team Grand Plaza is thankful for your stay. We totally respect your review . We apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Regarding the points you have mentioned certainly needs the feed back and they are, The valley view rooms as you have said have higher charges becuase as you have said its having the vally, the sound of neighborhood are not because of our self , regarding the smell of the room we are not aware of that though its the smell of the woods in the floor it could be managed by the freshner, we are offering the largest breakfast spread at a reasonable rate and it could be find from other guests reviews, the kitchen is not for the guests during the peak hours though we assisted you with our Chef who prepared food for your child with your guidance,we tried to convince you with such things during the checkout and regarding the bill as you have said we dont have any information because watever the amount you have settled during the checkout as per the final bill the same would be given meanwhile itself. Hope such troubles wont occur during the next trip and we like to welcome you for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I am very happy to find the hotel close to the city which made us to have the easy transit to the town and other sight seeing places. A standard hotel with an excellent care towards the guest thats what I really felt about this simple property...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarcrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balajiar, Front Office Manager at Grand Plaza Munnar, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear Guest
Team Grand Plaza is thankful for your stay.We are very delighted to receive such valuable comments from our guests. We are inspired to deliver much better experience to our guests with such motivating responses. Looking forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
3.4 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#3 of 14 in Chithirapuram
870 reviews
3.0 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
4.8 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 14 in Chithirapuram
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts
0.4 mi away
Hillview Munnar
Hillview Munnar
#37 of 97 in Munnar
475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clouds Valley Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Plaza Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Munnar

Property: Grand Plaza Munnar
Address: MSA Road, Munnar 685612, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Munnar
#8 Spa Hotel in Munnar
#11 Romantic Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Plaza Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza Munnar Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing