We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable stay...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Plaza Munnar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Plaza Munnar
Ranked #16 of 95 Hotels in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence
mumbai
1 review
“Memorable stay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Me and my family were at Grand Plaza during the mid of april and it was a festival day too...We really had a great stay there and the Krishna shrine specially arranged was somthing quite nice and the front office staff asked us to have a look in the morning. Very friendly and helpful staff..Really good experience in other areas room and food too..Will surely stay at Grand Plaza during our next trip too....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dev79mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balajiar, Front Office Manager at Grand Plaza Munnar, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Guest
Team Grand Plaza is thankful for your stay. We appreciate the review you have made through Trip Advisor. It was the vishu festival when you have been at the hotel. We are happy to welcome you for the next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    242
    60
    27
    18
See reviews for
350
231
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

I booked this hotel based on the ratings on Tripadvisor. But this experience assured that the ratings on tripadvisor are genuine. The hotel is not worth being the best hotel in munnar as the ratings are shown on tripadvisor. The feedback on the hotel are as follows:

1. Highly overrated and expensive. Absolutely not worth what one pays for.
2. Very cramped rooms and a bit of stinking smell.
3. Very noisy neighbourhood
4. Valley view rooms are charged higher and absolutely no views that deserves higher price.
5. Not much of choices in the breakfast menu.
6. Not cooperative staff as i needed some help from the kitechen for my 7 month daughter but not allowed to access the kitchen to explain them as what we needed.
7. Any negative feedback is not taken in the right spirit by the hotel management. At the time of checkout, i gave my feedback to the manager but all sorts of illogical defense was given. My intention was to appraise them so that they can improve. Its very impossible to help one who does not want to be helped. i think they are very complacent.
8. The biggest joke of the stay that bill was not provided to me at the time of checkout and was not provided any reason for the same. I requested to talk to the manager but he was not ready to speak and meet me to tell the reason. I was assured that the bill would be mailed to me within a week but i have not received the bills till date.

Consider this review as genuine and would not recommend this hotel to anyone. There are many better hotels than this at a lower tarriff too.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank pawan1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balajiar, Front Office Manager at Grand Plaza Munnar, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Guest
Team Grand Plaza is thankful for your stay. We totally respect your review . We apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Regarding the points you have mentioned certainly needs the feed back and they are, The valley view rooms as you have said have higher charges becuase as you have said its having the vally, the sound of neighborhood are not because of our self , regarding the smell of the room we are not aware of that though its the smell of the woods in the floor it could be managed by the freshner, we are offering the largest breakfast spread at a reasonable rate and it could be find from other guests reviews, the kitchen is not for the guests during the peak hours though we assisted you with our Chef who prepared food for your child with your guidance,we tried to convince you with such things during the checkout and regarding the bill as you have said we dont have any information because watever the amount you have settled during the checkout as per the final bill the same would be given meanwhile itself. Hope such troubles wont occur during the next trip and we like to welcome you for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

I am very happy to find the hotel close to the city which made us to have the easy transit to the town and other sight seeing places. A standard hotel with an excellent care towards the guest thats what I really felt about this simple property...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarcrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balajiar, Front Office Manager at Grand Plaza Munnar, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear Guest
Team Grand Plaza is thankful for your stay.We are very delighted to receive such valuable comments from our guests. We are inspired to deliver much better experience to our guests with such motivating responses. Looking forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

We were staying at a homestay nearby and the food we had was at the Grand Spices restauarant at this hotel. The ambience is really marvellous .The food was extremly superb becuase of which we had our breakfast and dinner buffet at this hotel only...In a very reasonable price good food...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prateeshg151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balajiar, Front Office Manager at Grand Plaza Munnar, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear Guest
Team Grand Plaza is thankful for your visit to our hotel. We appreciate the effort you made to express your satisfactin. We like to welcome you during your next visit for the stay too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Short Review:

Negatives --

1. Food is always served COLD, be it in your room or their restaurant area.
2. The Laundry service sucks.
3. The small park area behind the hotel is unkept and full of dirt from the hotel.
4. The Massage Parlor sucks
5. Money minded can change a service without informing you and will bill you for the same later

Positives --

1. Just before the city starts and currently a peaceful area.
2. The front office staff is good and helpful
3. We were upgraded to a higher category room
4. Room was always neatly cleaned

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnujBhagia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balajiar, Front Office Manager at Grand Plaza Munnar, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear Guest
Team Grand Plaza is thankful for your stay. We respect your valuable comments. We really apologise for the inconvenience caused to your during the stay. We suspect whether you bring the above complaints to any concerned departments. We are unable to find it from the comments card as well though we will look after the matter and will definitely make sure such complaints will not exist again. We are looking forward for your next visit so we could get the opportunity to serve you with a much different manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

I could not have wished for a better experience at this hotel. The staff were courteous and helpful. They made an effort to know us and thus provide a more personalized service. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The restaurant was also good providing a variety of fresh tasty food.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carval05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balajiar, Front Office Manager at Grand Plaza Munnar, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear Guest
Team Grand Plaza is thankful for your stay.We appreciate the effort you have made to help the fellow guests through Trip Advisor. We are inspired throgh such valuable comments from our guests.Looking forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amritsar, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

Though, we were initially booked by our travel agent at Grand Plaza, but we shifted to Sieena Village Resort, 18 kms away from Munnar city.. I enjoy stay in resorts and not the hotels.. This is just a Hotel, in the heart of the city with no lawns and greenery anywhere.. When you to go to Munnar, you want to stay among greens, near to tea gardens, which is not the case in this hotel.. The room was decent and the food was average, very spicy.. We made a distress call to our travel agent to shift us from this hotel, as we wanted to stay where the greens are, near tea gardens and not in Munnar City.. We find thousands of such kinds of hotels in city centre all over in India and abroad which just provide rooms with no greenery at all.. The management refused to refund our money.. They demanded retention fees.. There was no other option but to stay for one night.. If you are a Hotel guy, this hotel is ok but not a resort by any standard.. It has a Dirty Canal at the back of the hotel, where cattles roam around freely.. The food was very spicy, not to our taste..

Room Tip: If you are happy to stay in a just a Hotel, this is for you but not a resort with no lawns and green...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vaneet75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balajiar, Front Office Manager at Grand Plaza Munnar, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear Guest
Team Grand Plaza is thankful for your stay. We respect your valuable comments but we also like to bring some informations to your attenttion. Regarding the lawn we had shown you that at the back side of the hotel and you were not happy with that since you were planning some thing different for your group. The ambience and other higher cateogry rooms really have the good view even the tea plantations view though its not closer and this comments have been made by several other guests through Trip Advisor. Being a down town leisure hotel we have got our own limitations when compare to a Resort which is quite remote to the town. Though we apologise for not convincing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.1 mi away
Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts
0.3 mi away
Hillview Munnar
Hillview Munnar
#18 of 95 in Munnar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
3.4 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Fog Resort & Spa
The Fog Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clouds Valley Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Plaza Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Munnar

Property: Grand Plaza Munnar
Address: MSA Road, Munnar 685612, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Munnar
#7 Best Value Hotel in Munnar
#10 Spa Hotel in Munnar
#11 Romantic Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Plaza Munnar 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Plaza Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza Munnar Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing