We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrogant and rude staff”
Review of Grand Plaza Munnar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Plaza Munnar
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Arrogant and rude staff”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. Everything seems to be fine until the day of checkout. We did our booking almost 1.5 months back thru travelguru and we did the full payment. But at the time of checkout the hotel asked to pay 50% payment again as it seems they had some problem with travelguru and they might have hold their 50% payment. I asked the hotel to settle this with travelguru but they didn't let us leave. After wasting our 2 hrs we had to finally call up police and then they let us go. I was with 2 small kids and they totally spoiled our vacation. I would suggest never book this hotel as the hotel staff is very rude.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Mittal2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SrijeetT, General Manager at Grand Plaza Munnar, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Dear Mr.Mittal,
Thanks for your valuable review. But we find it extremely difficult to agree with your comments. You made your booking through TRAVEL GURU and you have checked in at the hotel on the 26th of September 2011 with your family. The so called rude staff of Grand Plaza Munnar has checked you in without creating any problems for you. We had a word with TRAVEL GURU regarding the pending payment and they have assured us that the payment will be made before the check-out. Next day morning our front-office manager Mr.Balaji has informed you regarding the pending payment and has given you the name and contact details of the concerned person at TRAVEL GURU. You have made a call to TRAVEL GURU and got an assurance from them that they will do the needful. Unfortunately nothing regarding the same has been mentioned in your comments. As per the company policy there is no any credit facility for TRAVEL GURU. We have told you that we have faced similar issues with TRAVEL GURU in the past. That is the only reason why the front office staff wanted to clear the matter before your check-out. It was only a matter of good will that I intervened and ensured a smooth check-out for you as you are on a vaccation with your family and not because of the intervention of the police. WE ARE THANKFUL TO YOU AS YOU YOURSELF HAS STATED THAT EVERYTHING WAS FINE TILL THE TIME OF CHECK-OUT.
Regards,
Srijeet Teqedat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    261
    66
    28
    18
See reviews for
392
259
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

the sub staff are found informative and helpful to guide us about Munnar. a unique place of one of the best hill station. the service at the hotel is rated as number one. excellent stay. i recomend this hotel for stay to all my friends

Room Tip: all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gattesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

I am working in U.A.E and been to Grand Plaza, Munnar with my Arab colleagues to enjoy our holidays, away from the red hot Abu Dhabi. We have been there for 5 days and it was quite a pleasing experience. It is overall a value for money and excellent environment to be in. Good housekeeping and well set property. Also pleasing staffs giving importance for guest satisfaction. We had a nice time there and will be back there for sure in future too.
Thanks to Trip advisor for helping us to select the property.

Room Tip: Opt rooms facing towards the river to enjoy a better scenic beauty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jyothi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I have spent 2 nights in grand plaza recently and liked the place its very clean and room service & food is very good. Staff are very helpful. will love to comeback.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayaprakash y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondicherry, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

They say Munnar is a great place to visit.But i say it cant be unless you are in a welcoming environment.Thankfully i went to Grand Plaza and my trip became even better.The hotel has everything from great staff to all the amenities expected from a place of this caliber.The view from the restaurant especially in the morning at breakfast is wonderful.Also it is in town so you can take a walk around as and when you please.I thank all the staff there for making my trip memorable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

it was an excellent experience staying in grand plaza..nice service.amazing places....suggestions ..if could improve roads connecting to the hotel ..fodd was excellent , room service was awsome , nice view from the hotel rooms that was amazing

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ANEESH15BANGALORE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

WE have stayed in this hotel for 2 days .

Pros
1) Clean and neat room .
2) Room service is good and fast.
3) Receptionist is very helpfull
4) Food servered are delicious

Cons
1) restaurant service is abit late , as we need to keep remind them on our order . I guess they are short of man power as we are there on ONAM Festival.

Overall : is a Good stays . Bravo for all the Crew

Room Tip: Pick a Room facing to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ashokan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
3.4 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#3 of 14 in Chithirapuram
869 reviews
3.0 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
4.8 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 14 in Chithirapuram
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts
0.4 mi away
Hillview Munnar
Hillview Munnar
#37 of 97 in Munnar
475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clouds Valley Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Plaza Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Munnar

Property: Grand Plaza Munnar
Address: MSA Road, Munnar 685612, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Munnar
#8 Spa Hotel in Munnar
#11 Romantic Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Plaza Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza Munnar Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing