We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality room with not very good service”
Review of The Silver Tips

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Silver Tips
Ranked #19 of 98 Hotels in Munnar
Bangalore
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good quality room with not very good service”
Reviewed October 12, 2010

I stayed in Silvertips for 2 days. Rooms are very good and newly built. but I would recommend to stay here only if you are looking only for good room & nothing else. Service is not very good. Another problem is Food. Though quality of food is good, you have only option of buffet which is @ 350 after tax. Menu card is provided in the room but it is useless and you will not get the food as per your choice. There are very good veg restuarants just outside the hotel with gujrathi, rajasthani, mumbai dishes. Another disadvantage is it is in the city so you wont get any views of valley, mountains from your room. And finally even they won't ask for feedback from the guest after checkout. Incase I get chance to visit Munnar again, I would definitely want to try another hotel as i can get better deal & better facilities after spending so much money.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vinay_s13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    256
    65
    21
    15
See reviews for
350
277
12
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Al-Khobar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2010

An excellent hotel. I stayed for a day with my family. The rooms were neat and clean. The location of the hotel as well as the view from the room were very good. The theam f our room was Thenmavin Kompathu. The kids were able have a lot of information about the film personalities from the photos they had arranged across the hotel. The staffs were very friendly. The food was so delicious and the kids enjoyed their FRIED Ice creams.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayCeePee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

I have stayed in this hotel for 3 days in sep,10 and it was good experience... i have enjoyed the bolcony view... photograpy in rooms and around the hotel was very interesting. it was a nice attempt. As this hotel is at the center of the old munnar we can not have a great look around this is one drawback. at the last day i had a bad experience also.... a crowd came from nearby state and they were doing lots of noise in hotel until 12:00 PM which was very bad..... next time when i visit munnar i will prefer a hotel which i can feel the nature around...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bullkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Wonderful place stay and nice food. 2 days i stayed at the hotel. Nice atmosphere and staffs were very friendly. rooms are very neat and clean

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BangaloreHai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2010

myself stayed in silvertips 2nights, i got a good experience till i came to check out, all the staffs and their services are exellent, very neat and cleaned rooms, i had twodays dinner in restaurent mayabazar, all the staffs are very friendly & helpfull. they help us through takingcare our chilldrens when we are having food. all are good exept one thing, when we came for checkout, there was some busy in the resepction, that time only one person was ther in the counter so we need to wait lot of time to get the bill, same time one fat guy may be he is the incharge of frontoffice he was there simply sitting and chatting with somebody using his laptop, if he was helped that counter guy we can save our time, that helpful for you also...... so can you please advice that person, and put one more helpfull person to the recepction.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdmsilvertips, Manager at The Silver Tips, responded to this review, June 26, 2010
sir we will defenitely look into this matter, please feel free to revert back to me at rdm@silvertipsmunnar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Siilvertips for our honeymoon. The hotel is brand new and extremely clean. In April, they let guests check in only on the first floor since some work was still going on in the floors above- but wasn't noisy, at least not enough to irritate us.
The retaurant is decent, and very cheap at least to what you would expect. but you would prefer to eat outside since it is near the town.
The rooms were very clean, and staff prompt. We stayed there for three days and the breakfast has limited choices, so it kinda gets boring. May be coz it is new.
Nevertheless, a clean place, friendly staff, reasonable price and proximity to town made us happy. And dont get too bothered with the "theme" stuff- just a couple of large frames in the room.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnmathew123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdmsilvertips, Manager at The Silver Tips, responded to this review, July 5, 2010
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for choosing Silvertips Munnar for your stay, we are very happy to know that you have enjoyed well during your stay at the hotel, we will defenitely look into all what you pointed,

please feel free to revert back to us at rdm@silvertipsmunnar.com

regards
T J SINSON
ROOM DIVISION MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

Silver Tips is located just outside of the main town which is a short walk up the hill. The hotel is relatively new therefore the rooms are in very good condition.

The rooms are all themed by film genres which is appealing rather than having bland rooms with random pictures. The room features an LCD tv, fridge/mini bar and a bed with a proper mattress !!! The bathroom is clean and modern with a power shower - a rarity in India.

The view from the room was a playing field, yet behind the hotel is where the view lies, tea plantations as far as your eyes can see. Shame the hotel didn't capitalise on this.

The breakfast is included and provides south indian and continental dishes to suit all tastes buds. The restaurant also provides some delicious meals.

Definately would stay again.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nilapatel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Plaza Munnar
Grand Plaza Munnar
#11 of 98 in Munnar
811 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clouds Valley Leisure Hotel
3.5 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Misty Mountain Resort
Misty Mountain Resort
#4 of 9 in Pallivasal
945 reviews
4.0 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#3 of 14 in Chithirapuram
911 reviews
3.4 mi away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silver Tips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silver Tips

Property: The Silver Tips
Address: | Opposite DTPC Boating river, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 98 Hotels in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Silver Tips 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a total of 60 rooms of which there are 57 rooms in the executive movie-theme and superior movie-theme category and 3 spacious suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Silver Tips reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing