We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Silver Tips

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Silver Tips
Ranked #18 of 95 Hotels in Munnar
IPOH
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Clean room; value for money. Friendly and efficient staff especially in the reception. Had problem with the lighting in the bathroom and was fixed with 15 min. Good breakfast provided in the dining area. Hotel boasts that Director Ang Lee [Life of Pi] and Shah Rhuk Khan stayed in this hotel before.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank AvidTraveller007Ip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    250
    65
    21
    18
See reviews for
331
269
11
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

After reading some many positive reviews on Silvertips, Munnar, I was really looking forward to visiting it and even doled out $131 USD for a night. Sadly, I do not think I received my money's worth. Here is why:

Positives:
1. Well located in the center of the town which makes getting into town and visiting local places easier.
2. Restaurant was pretty good. Veg lunch buffet was well priced ($250/person) while the complimentary breakfast had a lot of tasty options.

Not so good:
1. I had booked my trip through Agoda.com but when I reached the hotel, I was told by the front desk clerk Ashok that they had not confirmed my booking, although I was standing there with a print out of the confirmation from Agoda. He flat out told me that he did not have any rooms and go fend for myself. This is the poorest form of customer service one can provide. He could have easily called his manager, explained my situation and try his best to help a customer who had paid to stay in their hotel. Finally after 30 minutes, and a lot of requesting from my end, and intervention from Agoda's representative, Ashok, with the air of doing me a favor said "Ok I will give you a room, but just for one night". Well, I am thankful that they gave me a room but the whole experience left a bad taste. I would not visit again just due to their poor customer service. Their bell boy provided better service that their front desk.

2. The rooms were okay but there was no hot water for shower. The TV did not work and I called the front desk. The guy said "Ok" but did not do anything to help me.

3. The movie theme is fine, but kind of overhyped. The hallways are very dark limiting walking around to look at the movie pictures.

4. The location of the hotel (although good from a commute standpoint), does not provide any scenic views of Munnar. You can hear the busy street noise late into the night and even early in the morning.

Overall, this is an okay place to stay if you are paying about Rs 2000 or Rs 3000 per night, not the $131 USD (Rs 8000) that I paid. Just don't fall for the hype. Set realistic expectations and you will be fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sidharth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

very good hotel with very good ambiance and interior adding each room paintings to be a much like biography and pictures of the film name might it be hollywood or bollywood and not only that the name of the room is also the name of the film.....

Apart from that food taste pretty good....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruchiragrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunilTS, General Manager at The Silver Tips, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Greetings From Asia's First Fully Movie Theme Resort !!!!!,

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your valuable comments and looking forward to have your visit again

Regards

Sunil

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We spent three nights at this superb Movie theme hotel to celebrate the Deewali.

We had booked a superior movie theme room for our stay. However, we were given a chance to pick our preference from different movie themed rooms at the time of check-in. Surprisingly, I came to know that Shah Rukh Khan stayed in their property for the shooting of Chennai Express! Since I am a huge fan of SRK, I requested the same room. Our request greeted with a smile and the front office team upgraded our booking into an amazingly luxurious suite where King Khan stayed!!.

We can recommend this hotel to everyone, especially to people appreciating very good service!. Absolutely everything is done in perfection to make you feel at home. They take care about each of your requests, howsoever minor.

They have unique dining experiences with personalized service on the roof top restaurant. We did really enjoy the finest Kerala food!!.

I don't want to write too much about the arrival & stay as it will spoil all of the little surprises for future guests. You will definitely leave the place feeling like a Star! Well worth the money!!!

Thanks to all staff and the front office team in special for arranging the late check-out also.

Sharing Diwali with them all was amazing and very special!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10neerajkumar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunilTS, General Manager at The Silver Tips, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Greetings From Asia's First Fully Movie Theme Resort !!!!1

Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and it is nice to notice that you had a great stay with us . Your perceptions are very good about our theme , ambiance , service , quality of food etc...Such a detailed comments will help others also to choose the better one . Once again thank you , and have a great day

Regards

Sunil

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patna, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights in Munnar at silvertips and it was a memorable one.
Good location, on main road,a bit separated from narrow roads & traffic of Munnar but easily approachable.
We found many other good hotels ,but almost all are away from main city ,apart from silvertips.
Good clean & spacious room ,good reception & quick room service.Ample parking space.
Rooms are with movie theme interiors which makes it quite interesting.
Excellent restaurant, Tasty food and most important, not overpriced.
Good breakfast spread. Even welcome drink was quite good.
I recommend silvertips & will definitely visit again on my next trip.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ALOK_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunilTS, General Manager at The Silver Tips, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Greetings From Asia's First Fully Movie Theme Resort !!!!!!!

Dear Guest ,

Your declaration is really out standing !!!!!!! " Best Property In Munnar " !!!!! - Thank you very much for giving such a great caption . Noticed that you had a fantastic stay with your family and looking forward to have your visit again

Regards

Sunil

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Excellent services and care from the entire crew. The hotel has unique ambiance with different movie themes in its rooms. They served a wide variety of north-Indian and south-Indian, Chinese cuisines and continental dishes. We had enjoyed every moment we spend in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank likhin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunilTS, General Manager at The Silver Tips, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Greetings From Asia's First Fully Movie Theme Resort !!!!

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your valuable feed back ....... We are happy to notice that the service provided by us was acceptable . ... Your comments are really outstanding and the same will help us to improve our service in a better way .

Regards

Sunil

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel is located in the heart of the city and is ideal for the active travelers who likes to visit other tourist attractions in Munnar.

Most interesting part about this hotel is its theme. The hotel has a good collection pictures from classic movies. The rooms are labeled with the movie names and there is a good display of photos in each room.

The rooms are very spacious and the services are good. Check in/ checkout procedures were simple and quick.

The breakfast was also good with lots of variety and choices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manoj N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunilTS, General Manager at The Silver Tips, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Greetings From Asia's First Fully Movie Theme Resort !!!!!!!

Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. Looking forward to have your visit again to Silver Tips !!!!

With warm regards

Sunil

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
3.5 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
5.4 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 13 in Chithirapuram
421 reviews
4.0 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 13 in Chithirapuram
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Plaza Munnar
Grand Plaza Munnar
#13 of 95 in Munnar
711 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#1 of 13 in Chithirapuram
904 reviews
3.4 mi away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silver Tips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silver Tips

Property: The Silver Tips
Address: | Opposite DTPC Boating river, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 95 Hotels in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Silver Tips 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a total of 60 rooms of which there are 57 rooms in the executive movie-theme and superior movie-theme category and 3 spacious suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Silver Tips reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing