We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience of warmth and hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Silver Tips

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Silver Tips
Ranked #18 of 95 Hotels in Munnar
Pune
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good experience of warmth and hospitality”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Very good hotel, an old theater converted to a hotel. the theme of the hotel is films which is something different, one can see nice photographs of actors and actresses even from Hollywood.
The view from the rooms is not so great but that is nowhere in Munnar, the service was good.
The food was excellent in the restaurant the room service is not so great.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MayankPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silvertipsmunnar, General Manager at The Silver Tips, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Dear sir,

thank you very much for staying with us. we are very proud to be a host for you. we will really take extra care to maintain our service standards and cleanliness

regards

T J SINSON
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    250
    65
    21
    18
See reviews for
331
269
11
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trivandrum
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We had a couple of days stay at Silver tips. After our terrible one night experience at Eranakulam, the experience at silver tips was superb. We were welcomed with refreshing welcome drink. The hospitality offered to us was excellant. The room, lobby, dinining and every other corner visible were clean and well maintained. It has got unique movie theme based rooms, each and every item in the room, lobby etc gives us the feeling of being part of movie. We are also very much satisfied with services offered and hotel ambience. Overall enjoyed every moment in silver tips

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank santhosh v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silvertipsmunnar, General Manager at The Silver Tips, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Dear sir,

thank you very much for being with us as our valued guest. we are very happy to understand that you have enjoyed well. please feel free to revert back to me with your suggestions at gm@silvertipsmunnar.com

In the mean time we are working hard to offer you more valuable services during your next visit

with regards

T J SINSON
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

now I am staying at silvertips, we had come with a travel package, as soon as we enter inside the hotel, we met a young lady with a smiling face, she make our check in very fast, as soon we enter inside to my surprise the bed was decorated with flower. and there was a a chocolate cake kept on the coffee table, my wife immediately ask what all these. then the receptionist explained that this was previously arranged by the our agent, actually it was my aunty booked everything so we were not aware of all this, the rooms were decorated with lovely pictures from a romantic movie, and it was suiting to the ambience. the restaurant staff arranged a candle light dinner for me. being everything was on a suprise . we had enjoyed well. last night. what really make me impressed is their aproach and smile.
the restaurant staff done very well. as they prepared special jain menu for my wife,

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashishmumbai_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silvertipsmunnar, General Manager at The Silver Tips, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Dear sir,

we are very happy to know that you have enjoyed well at Silvertips. It is always smile and satisfaction of each and every guest make us satisfied in our job.

now we are trying to add more and more valubale facilities to the guests in coming days

in the mean time feel free to revert back to me with your valued suggestions at gm@silvertipsmunnar.com

we will be defenitely waiting here with a smile and more dedication to make your next visit more memorable

regards

T J SINSON
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

The best thing about this hotel is its cleanliness. The rooms, lobby, dinning area were clean and well-maintained.

Choice of food is however limited and it is better to opt for South Indian food in the buffet.

Nicely decorated with themes of cinema. Two large models of movie camera attract children.

Once you are in Munnar you must visit the Kathakali performance in the cultural centre at Temple Road (ten-minutes walk from the hotel). The show was simply superb. Reach half-an-hour before and see the make-up and dress up. It is an experience itself.

Munnar is not a great hill station for those who has visited Himachal, Kumaon, or Uttranchal. But the road from Kochi to Munnar is what you would enjoy. Stop for a short visit to spice plantations.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back that faces the hills and lots of sun. Ours was on the northern face so not mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peacemusafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silvertipsmunnar, General Manager at The Silver Tips, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Dear sir,

thank you very much for choosing Silvertips Munnar for your stay at Munnar, We be really thankful to you for the comments you have made, we will definitely try to improve on the food choice. We have chefs from the northern India, who make excellent north Indian food . We normally make the buffet menu after considering the No. of guests from each region. Probably on the day you stayed there might be more of South Indian guests. That can be the reason why there was more of South Indian dishes in the buffets. The Ala-carte Menus also available in the restaurant we also arrange the buffet with more Gujarathi and North Indian menus. and we are equipped with experienced staff who can cook all type of menus.
please Understand I am not arguing on this point, we are really sorry that you dont find much of choices in the food variety, we will definitely come up with more added facilities in your next visit as we are always looking forward to offer the guest the best services in the Industry. please free to revert back to me at gm@silvertipsmunnar.com

regards

T J SINSON
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Trust me it took a lot of persuasion , study & feedbacks that made me choose this property.It was a right choice though few goof ups were dere.

Good

- Near to taxi stand & bus station , easy accessibility

- Nice, Big rooms.Fine carpets (Linens), old yet cleaned furniture,Tv, No AC, Table & mid size bathrooms with nice kerala aromatic scent sprayed.

- Good Food taste, specially the chicken curry.They are not overpriced but not cheap either.I guess alacarte is not a good option though.

- Discotheque on upper floor, U won find anyone dere.lol..Nevertheless its quite okay.You see them playing Mallu songs.Its kindda exotic

- Mr. Vinu , the manager , is a smart guy, understands needs of the traveller.The welcome drinks were quite ok though not ‘hard’ drinks

Bad

- The staff which is looking for tips forever.They are just a little slow.

- Some people complained that buffett menu items tasted as if they had been straight out from a fridge.However , what I got was reasonably Ok.

Ugly

- People ( specially from north..excuse me) misbehaving , lighting cigarettes in room , loitering the coffee shops.

- Again the staff , which dint cared how the kids in other travel groups were making life hell for others.

- Lastly the rates charged by hotel are quite high for both rooms & the car for sightseeing.

Advice

1) Never order alacarte , book the buffett breakfast & take meals from local dhabas.

2) No bookings from hotel desk.They ll charge you high rates as they have caught u on spot,Book in advance.

3) I booked the package online frm Antilog Vacations , a bulk travel dealer for kerala packages.Normally these travel agents get huge discounts which they pass to Travellers & one saves cost.If u start doing everything by urself u can end up paying 1.5 times or more.One of our fellow travelers did that.He tried to do a taxi booking & was charged almost double.Non Indians can easily end up paying more than triple.

4) If u have a separate car , u can rock munnar.Sightseeing places are too boring.



My advice – Silver Tips is definitely recommended but make sure you don’t deal with them directly & forgive the little goof ups of staff

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ram a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silvertipsmunnar, General Manager at The Silver Tips, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Dear sir,

Thank you very much for choosing Silvertips Munnar for your stay. We gone through the expressions you have made. You have the full right to comment on anything which you see. But it is not necessary these can be the right things. For example
You are saying that the staff is looking for tips for ever -the reason giving is that they are very slow. This is only an observation of preset mind
Secondly your are saying that some people complained that buffet menu items tasted as if they had been straight out from a fridge. However, what I got was reasonably Ok. Who is this some people. We are only serving hot food in the buffet
Third comment is the rates charged by hotel are quite high for both rooms & the car for sightseeing. At the same time you are saying you have booked through a travel operator. Obviously the standard hotels will have higher room rent and we are only booking taxis from the Munnar taxi stand and they have a Union and fixed rate to each destination.
A traveler who is travelling alone will have to pay more than a traveler who is who is travelling with a group of travelers. This is only a reality, because there are agents who operate bulk groups and there are other travel agent who is operating couple tours. Accordingly there will be differences in the cost. Hotel is not responsible for all these. As these are between the guests whether they want to go for group package or they want to travel alone.
At the hotel we are not operating discotheque. If at all we are providing music programmes to groups on special request it will be exclusively for them only and the choice of music will the from the group members, and if you happen to enter into like these private functions without their permission we are not responsible for this.
To conclude with these observations can only be rated as the expressions of some preset mind and very far from the realities
Thank you very much
Regards

T J SINSON
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
2 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I went on my honeymoon trip and really it has been a great experience staying here.
Although the location is not so good, however It may be because my room was not facing the hill.
I am very much satisfied with rooms quality, the decoration, hotel ambiance and hospitality.
My special thanks to Mr. Bechan Roy who arranged the candle light dinner in the restaurant and arranged another dinner in my room.
There is no overpricing of any stuff I used in the room or ordered for the room service.

Would definitely love visit again.
The hotel really needs an activity room having some facilities like Billiards, Table Tennis etc.

Room Tip: Get a Hill facing room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RahulHundet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silvertipsmunnar, General Manager at The Silver Tips, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Dear sir,

First of all we would like to express our sincere thanks for choosing Silvertips Munnar for your stay. More than anything we are very happy to understand that you have enjoyed your stay here. We have a dedicated team of professionals who is ready to extend all the possible services to our valued guest.
Mr. Bachan is one among them. we are already coming up with our children`s play area, the recreation centre. Big conference room, etc. All will be ready by 1st week of January. In your next visit we will be waiting here with more added facilities and a more dedicated team with smiling faces.
Actually being in the center of town it is easy access to sightseeing places in Munnar. If you are staying in Chinnakkanal or Pothenmedu you have to travel atleast 15 to 20 kilometer to Munnar town and then you should go to sightseeing places which is again another 5 to 25 kilometer long from the town.
We are eagerly waiting for your next visit and please let me know what best we can do for you in the next visit at gm@silvertipsmunnar.com

Regards

T J SINSON
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

People working in this hotel secretly steal your belongings and extort money when you ask them to return your stuff. Be careful living here. The car rental company they recommend for sightseeing is also very unethical. They all work together like a gang and steal your belongings. They lie and harras you and will ask for money when you will ask for your belongings. very wicked people, very dangerous. Better stay away and not get carried away by the look and facility. terrible experience!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank nteag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silvertipsmunnar, General Manager at The Silver Tips, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Dear Sir,

What we understand is that this comment is clearly planted by somebody who want to spoil the reputation of Silvertips Munnar. Honestly I can tell that we do not had any of such incidents at Silvertips, we have even take our initiative to travel up to cochin to deliver the very valuable boss head phone at our expense, please check a previous reviews, but clearly we had certain incidents like customer forgot some at items in the hotel, recently one lady forgot their children`s trolley at the hotel, when her husband called up the hotel we told that we are having this trolley and we had tried to contact them many time. But we could not get them over the phone and we had told him if they bear the expense of transportation of the product we are ready to send it by parcel from Munnar to Punjab, and he agreed.
Next day what happened is like his wife called the hotel and told us that we have to send it free of cost to Punjab. we had clearly told her that we have this item in our lost and found department and we are ready to deliver this at any time, if they wanted to send this as parcel to their place we are also ready for this, but they have to bear the cost of transportation, she disagree on this matter, in our system this will be safely available at hotel`s lost and found department till the guest claim its ownership and take it back. If the transportation is only a smaller amount we might have take our initiative and send it. But since this will require some additional expenses definitely the guest need to bear the cost.

If this is the incident you are talking about we have only one advice to you, we are ready to send this item to you at any point of time. And you should bear the cost of transportation expenses. Do not try to make such kind of wrong stories. Ultimately we have got nothing to do with this kind of misguiding proverbs, but please try to open your eyes and understand that you will not get anything complimentary by these comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
3.5 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
5.4 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 13 in Chithirapuram
421 reviews
4.0 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 13 in Chithirapuram
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Plaza Munnar
Grand Plaza Munnar
#13 of 95 in Munnar
711 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#1 of 13 in Chithirapuram
904 reviews
3.4 mi away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silver Tips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silver Tips

Property: The Silver Tips
Address: | Opposite DTPC Boating river, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 95 Hotels in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Silver Tips 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a total of 60 rooms of which there are 57 rooms in the executive movie-theme and superior movie-theme category and 3 spacious suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Silver Tips reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing