We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is superb!”
Review of JJ Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munnar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
JJ Cottage
Ranked #4 of 180 Specialty Lodging in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Eric, the guesthouse host, is absolutely amazing, and really is what puts this place ahead of the rest! We were lucky enough to score the top floor suite for two nights which was an amazing value! Beautiful views, clean sheets, hot water... What more do you need? We would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yogigrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 269 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We found jj's great! It was extremely clean. The room was bright and comfortable. Television was not necessary but it was a bonus to be able to watch a movie before bed. Terrific position right near bus station. Owner Eric makes this place- he is so helpful. He helped organise a tea plantation walk for us the day after we arrived (recommended) and advised us regarding buses. There is a great, cheap, authentic Indian restaurant nearby called SN. If you give notice, Eric's family can make you Indian food for dinner- very homely, simple, fresh and tasty.
Price was great. Overall, definitely recommend this place- it is so wonderful having a helpful and friendly manager on hand for advice!
Rachael and Matthew, Australia

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachaelD15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We had three nights at JJ Cottage. We were warmly welcomed by Eric and he arranged two trekking tours for us (with Kumar as guide, great guy!) Our room was big, clean and with a nice bathroom with hot water - perfect! The price is really good. Great location right next to the bus station and a few restaurants and a bakery. And good breakfast at the hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KasperMikkelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Lovely guesthouse with an array of bright, colourful basic rooms with TV. Hot water showers, ideal for cool
munnar mornings. Owner Eric and family were absolutely lovely, went out of their way to help us with all we wanted. Also arranged guide for plantation trek and cheap laundry. No breakfast. 1 min walk from main bus stand, handy for ongoing journies. Great place to stay!!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ClaireDris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed art JJ cottages for two nights (maybe more..;) ) and arrived here after a 2 days trekking with a guide up in the tea plantations and sleeping in a cold, uncomfortable tent for a night. The room was a dream! A beautiful corner room on the second floor with hot shower 24 h, a HUGE double bed with extremely thick madras and flat TV with international movie channels, room service delivery beer, coffe, tea and extremely friendly owners. It's no wonder this guest house got awarded by Trip Advisor 2013 for best hospitality. Make sure u book a room in advance at this place because it's extremely popular. And it's extremely good value for your money! :)

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank My L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We were lucky on arrival: just the Deluxe Top Room was free and it was exactly what we needed: a king-size bed with the best mattress (box spring) we've ever had in India, 24/24 hot water. The family who run this guest-house is so friendly and hospitable without pushing anything. This top room has 2 rooms: 1 bedroom and a sitting area, so it looks more a penthouse. And that all for 900 Rp. The location is very good, quiet area, near the KSRTC busstand, not far from the town centre. There is a good bike parking for just one bike.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The hotel is run by a very hospitable family that greets you and makes you feel very welcome. The rooms were clean and had hot water and fan. The owner and Eric gave us wonderful suggestions for walks in the hills that we would have not found on our own. They made the trip well worth our while!! The scenery is spectacular.

Room Tip: front room has a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan7glenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
1.0 mi away
Woodpecker Resort
Woodpecker Resort
#8 of 8 in Pothamedu
106 reviews
13.9 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
541 reviews
3.3 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 15 in Chithirapuram
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bellmount Resorts
Bellmount Resorts
#47 of 103 in Munnar
347 reviews
0.9 mi away
KTDC Tea County Munnar
KTDC Tea County Munnar
#13 of 103 in Munnar
719 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kaivalyam Retreat
Kaivalyam Retreat
#2 of 198 in Munnar
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JJ Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JJ Cottage

Address: Near Ksrtc Bus Depot, Moolakkada, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 180 Specialty Lodging in Munnar
Price Range: $5 - $12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sweet family at this superb purple place a couple of kilometres south of town(but easy walking distance from the main bus stand)will go out of its way to make sure your stay is comfortable.the varied and uncomplicated rooms are ruthlessly clean,bright,great value and have TV and 24hrs hot water.-(Recommended by the guide book LONELY PLANET) In rooms,24hrs hot and cold water running,24hrs free wifi in the rooms.Cable TV etc.... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jj Cottage Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing