We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Munnar
Post
Inbox
Search

“Stay away from this restaurant”
Review of Alibaba & 41dishes

Alibaba & 41dishes
Ranked #43 of 82 Restaurants in Munnar
Price range: $2 - $5
Description: Ali Baba & 41 Dishes is a multi-cuisine restaurant offering Arabic, Chinese, Indian, South-Indian, Tandoori cuisines. It is an ideal place for having a lavish dine-in with family and friends. Alibaba & 41 Dishes, tempted by an unrivalled range of authentic & imaginative traditional Indian foods. Our food is cooked to the highest standards by using the best quality & freshest ingredients.
Restaurant details
Description: Ali Baba & 41 Dishes is a multi-cuisine restaurant offering Arabic, Chinese, Indian, South-Indian, Tandoori cuisines. It is an ideal place for having a lavish dine-in with family and friends. Alibaba & 41 Dishes, tempted by an unrivalled range of authentic & imaginative traditional Indian foods. Our food is cooked to the highest standards by using the best quality & freshest ingredients.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ordered curd rice and asked for a non-spicy meal. The curd rice was very spicy and we asked them to change to plain rice. surprisingly they insisted to charge us for the spicy curd rice.
This is not what you expect when you pay for a meal of 3 persons, more than 1000 INR.
We spoke to them, but they were very greedy, and refused to cancel the curd rice.

It seems that they took adavnr=tage of the fact that we were tourists.

This leaves a bad taste. It seems that this restaurant is an exception, becasue otherwise, nobody else tried to cheat us in Munnar

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Boaz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 57 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2020 via mobile

We all ordered vegan and vegetarian food. When we shared the final part of the vegetable biriani my partner found a large piece chicken mixed in with the rice... when we showed the waiter he just took it away, no apology and then tried to charge us for the full meal. Normally we read reviews prior to visiting a restaurant but as our guide has highly recommended this place we decided to try it. Now after reading all current reviews I would avoid if vegetarian.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank 416donnaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2020 via mobile

Really bad experience let me walk you pass what happened. We sat at a table and one of the staff told us to move to the other side. Then we wanted to order and no one came to our table it took them 15 min to come to our table. When we ordered I precisely asked him to make sure none of the food had peanuts or coconut as my sister has allergies and he replied with none of these food has these ingredients. Long story short my sister got an allergic reaction and we rushed to the ER.

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank 644reemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2019 via mobile

Went here for dinner as a family of 4. The manager tried to seat us at a table of 6 and asked to share the table with 2 strangers which we refused to do so. We were then given a table of 4 after a few minutes. The waiter literally rushed us through placing an order. He stood by the table saying ‘jaldi jaldi’ because apparently they had customers waiting! One starter arrived and then the main course was brought out. We asked why the main course was served before the other 2 starters we ordered had been served. The waiter rudely replied that the main course was ready before the starters so just eat it! He made it sound like he was serving the food for free and that we shouldn’t question anything!! We asked for the remaining starters to be cancelled as they had already served us the main course. The naans were all cold and hard, so when we complained they just warmed the same ones up and brought them out again which made them even more tough! The mutton was inedible. The waiter then brought the starters that we had asked to be cancelled out and said that we needed to have them as we had ordered them! After an argument they eventually agreed to take the starters back. Spoilt what would have been a lovely stay in Munnar.

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank Vidsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2019

Ordered fish tawa fry and mutton dry fry. Both of them were OK kind. Some of the have must items like chicken dum biryani, for that matter coke were missing. Poor management of crowd in waiting. The kids were standing on our head while we were having food. It was so uncomfortable that we had to finish in haste.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Inshad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alibaba & 41dishes also viewed

Munnar, Idukki District
 
Munnar, Idukki District
 

Been to Alibaba & 41dishes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing