We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mind blowing experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munnar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mushroom Valley Homestay
Ranked #49 of 213 Munnar B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We planned to stay here only for one day but due to the service provided to us by the hostess we stayed there for three days and it was a great experience.When we came to India i was doubtful whether i will get a good home stay....and by gods grace we got a home stay which met my dream.When we reached munnar it was raining cats and dogs and there fore we were doubtful whether we could see all the places in munnar. Mr.Ajeesh helped us to see all the spices garden around the home stay.we saw the way they cultivate cardamom, black pepper etc...we really had a mind blowing experience. Mr.Monce and Beena gave us homely food and they were so friendly to us.My little kid was so excited to see all this.The resort owners Mr.johney and Biney was also there to welcome us and to provide us all the services.I will definitely refer this home stay to my friends who are planning to come to munnar. Really enjoyed to our core.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 53 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

We are stayed there for two days with fourteen members. Its 13 km away from munnar. They maintained very neat and clean rooms. Hospitality is very nice. You will get phone signal there thatz surprised one because most of the places we didn't get the signals. Especially breakfast(compliment) is superb in the homestay. They have little nice garden for taking snapshot is good there. Worth full for spending your money for this homestay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bvpadhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This homestay is 10-12 km away from Munnar town. It is on the Kunjuthanni road which is off the Munnar-Aluwa highway. It is quite far away and commuting to and fro for sightseeing is quite complicated if you don’t have your own vehicle. Since we only wanted to go bird watching, there was no problem.

A phone call was all it took to book a room. Once we got there, we were given a room which had a view of the road and the traffic. We wanted to switch to another and we were given one of the rooms at the back. This one had a view of the hills and a lot of greenery, so it was much better though we could hear the traffic throughout. The room was clean but the mattress was very hard. Basic toiletries were provided. We were given a welcome drink of fresh orange juice once we settled into the room. The eating area was an open balcony leading from our room and another adjacent room. This is the place to sit and enjoy the greenery. When we were there, it was during the peak Kerala monsoon and we sat in the balcony and watched the skies open up.

Generally with homestays, breakfast, lunch and dinner are included in the tariff but in this case, only breakfast was included. For what was offered, the lunch and dinner were pretty expensive. We had to order the food at least 45 minutes before you needed it. It was decent fare. Fruits could have been provided with every meal.

The experience was unlike what we had at other homestays. There was no interaction with the host at all. We didn’t even know who owned the place. It felt more like a small hotel. Nothing to complain about but nothing to write home about either. Beena and Ajish did what they could to make our stay comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for the back rooms. They are attached to a large porch from which you can look at the distant hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GitaBhukta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Very happy. Rooms are beautiful and clean. Service is excellent. Food is also homely. Its truly a homestay experience. Everything is great except that it is approx. 15 Kms away from Munnar city so be ready to shell out more on commuting.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side have common balcony and good view of the jungle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank furami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The house is big, sunny, airy, spacious, clean as new, with a verdant spice garden, a great back porch and full of peace and quietude. That's the BIG PRO for it.
The cons are :
No wi-fi/ even GPRS/EDGE is unavailable in the area.
Hot water in the tap is a bit slow in coming.
The spice garden is within yards, but the nearest tea garden is about 2.5 km away.
The owner, uncle Johnny is not here most of the time. We didn't see him. The caretaker, Ajesh, is honest and sincere, but very slow and communicating with him may be a big problem. And he cooks tasteless food. You can get much better food at half the price at Anachal market barely 1km from the homestay. If you stay in Munnar at this place, avoid eating here.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but the front rooms are bigger and the one closest to the entrance of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ppronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed there with my family of 4 with 2 grown-up daughters and felt so homely and secure. Johny(the owner) was so nice and friendly. I reached there by own car and it was late in the evening around 8 pm. Johny helped us finding the house and he picked up just 3 kms before the house. The rooms are so clean and newly renovated amidst tall trees and green plants. The food served was nice and less spicy. Overall, I can say it is a fantastic place to stay during family picnic.

Room Tip: Avoid the room facing the road for better privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Well.... the first thing tat cums to my mind is Johny uncle's family who jus made us feel home every minute of our stay..initially we had a plan of jus stayin for a day but the lov n care of that sweet family made us extend our holidays for 3days..
the food at the homestsy was jus yummy n real homemade..... hats off to Aunt:)
n also they provided sightseeing facilities in car wch is a part n parcel of the stay ;-).....

i just wish all good to come to the family wo were just brilliant for their kind n special care for the guests.....

CHEERS!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meerjohny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
2.4 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 15 in Chithirapuram
1,109 reviews
1.7 mi away
Spice Jungle Resort
Spice Jungle Resort
#60 of 213 in Munnar
48 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tea Valley Resort
Tea Valley Resort
#4 of 8 in Pothamedu
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
551 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#2 of 8 in Pothamedu
771 reviews
4.6 mi away
Summit Indriya Resort & Spa
Summit Indriya Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kunjithanny
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mushroom Valley Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mushroom Valley Homestay

Address: Anachal, Munnar 685565, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range: $32 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing