We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super accommodation in relaxing, natural environment”
Review of Ambady Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambady Estate
Ranked #2 of 164 Specialty Lodging in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is situated on a beautiful cardamon plantation about 20kms from Munnar. The staff were very friendly and the excellent manager was always in hand to give advice or talk about the area and the plantation.
There are 8 cottages, all set up as semi-detached pairs. The room had high ceilings and was light and airy. They are modern rooms with a separate seating area, good bathroom and comfortable bed, with doors to a small garden area for watching the amazing bird life.
As the resort was full, they prepared a buffet menu each evening - but don't misinterpret that. This was not buffet food that would re-presented at lunch or dinner, it was freshly cooked and the menu changed each evening. The food was delicious using ingredients from the small vegetable garden and of course local spices, which you could taste in the careful preparation. It was really good food.
There is plenty to do in the forest behind the main area and you will be guaranteed to see wonderful bird life - amazing vibrant colours and different varieties. The walk takes you uphill through the cool forest and we were fortunate to see the Indian Giant squirrels in the tall canopies.
While many people had a car and took a day trip to Munnar, etc, we walked from the resort to the local village, which is surrounded by tea plantations. We walked through the rows of tea, and then enjoyed a fantastic Ayurvedic massage at one of the establishments in the village (just 2000 for a 90 min session!). There is also a Fun Forest adventure park for walking amongst the tree canopies etc.
It is a place to relax and unwind, and enjoy nature in such a wonderful setting. We were sad to leave after 2 days and we will certainly return on our next trip to Kerala.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ChrisnDebs08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for Ambady Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 196 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

This was the most expensive hotel we stayed in and we had high expectations. It is posing as a luxurious homestay. It is set in a spice plantation and accomodation is a large bungalow basic furniture but nice. What lets this place down is the poor service. We felt we were a nuisance being there. We are not fussy or demanding and love the kind nature of The Kerelan people however the staff got orders we had to constantly ask for things.The restaurant was grubby with no outside seating There was no information about the estate. I'm sure there were lovely walks. The manger was shocked when I suggested she trained her staff in customer services. We are now on Varkala at the Palm Tree Heritage. These people could teach the Ambady how to treat their guests

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank joan01kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We (my wife and I) stayed there for 2 nights earlier this week. Generally, the place is nice and the garden is flourishing, but no view!!! if you can't see the amazing hills with the tea plantation, so what's the point? The cottage was ok though the bathroom had very bad smell. At first when we arrived the hot water didn't work in our cottage but it was fixed at the end. Breakfast is poor. The poorest we had in India. There is no wi-fi in the rooms, only in the reception and even there it worked only partially. It's a beautiful place but as far as I concern they have a long way to go

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaniM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I was at thius hotel/cottage from 10th Dec.13 to 11th Dec,13.Makemy trip recommended me and my sister this hotel stating that it is of 4 star standard. Please believe me that this is not even 2 star. Their litchen is dirty and filthy. Infrastructure is very very poor, there are no lights around and it becomes pitch dark after 5pm. The place is very sloppy and not advisable for elderly people or children as a little slip and one is down the valley. There is no security and the place is very very deserted and scary. There is no recreation at all in and around and one cannot even come out of the room after 5pm as it is dark, slippery and creepy.

The food is not fresh (one can understand as it is so much on height) and it is over over priced. We were forced to stay there for 2 scary nights (thanks to the poor service of Makemy Trip) and we had to order food from a little far away restaurant - Misty Mountain (which is far better than Ambady estate in terms of tariff, food and facilities). They charge Rs.400 for a small piece of frozen and stale fish, Rs.250 for club sandwich, Rs.50 for water bottle--way to highly priced for their standards.

No facilities at all--just cottages which is only and only good for honeymooners or people who want to be closed in a room. The rooms also does not have ceiling fan but a table fan. So though it is on height, early morning around 6am you start feeling hot and sweaty as the table fan air does not reach the bed and the sunlight come throught the window pane.

Overall really horrible and Makemy Trip really cheaters who have executive who are liars and have no sense or clue as to what is 4 star and 2 star.

Maggie

Room Tip: No comments
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maggievarghese_hs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambadyestatemnr, Owner at Ambady Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Greetings from Ambady Estate !!
Miss Maggie,

First of all I want to apologize to you & your lovely sister for any inconvenience caused during your stay at Ambady Estate

I wish I could make up for the seemingly dark & dreary uneasiness which you have described in your heart breaking comments on Trip Advisor.

My wife and I started Ambady Estate in 2005 which was started purely on the basis of conservation and preservation. We still live in this so called creepy and scary place with our 2 small children aged 5 & 7.

Our USP has always been that we are always available to our guests. You could have at least mentioned to us about how you felt at any time you were here
Ambady Estate is a product of our sweat, blood and tears and we try our best to retain the already dwindling Sahyadri forest without crossing the thin line between conservation & commercialization
About 40% of our guest are elderly couples and almost 60% of our guest are families with small children accompanying them. We have very good security as I believe “security is not expensive, it is priceless” We have 2 security personnel & CCTV monitoring all around the clock.
We are, maybe the only resort in the area to follow the locavore principle as we obtain all our food produces from 10 km radius. We grow our own vegetables according to the seasons & climate and I take objection to your comment “food not fresh”. To top it all you have compared us to a budget hotel which is perplexing to say to the least.
We are at an attitude of 4500 feet above sea level & it is only on request we provide table fans
We also take objection to the way you have dragged a well established and proven company in this entanglement of clear cut miscommunication & misunderstanding with Ambady Estate
Above all I want to cordially invite you back to Ambady Estate without any malice or resentment to truly experience our motto “you complete us “and to show you the true meaning”WE ARE NATURE”.
In the years we have run Ambady Estate I have never had to reply to any comment posted on trip advisor but your choice of words regarding your impression of Ambady Estate has compelled me, however reluctantly, to clarify our position.

With utmost sincerity,
Dr Rajesh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Hotel is on a total 70 acre out of which for resort purpose only 15 acres has been used. We reached there in the evening. No light in the entrance from the main road which caused problem in locating the hotel. From main road you have to go up near about 700 meters to reach the reception and this road should also be made good. Welcome drink was very good but the reception should be more spacious. From the reception itself you can gauge that this is a family run hotel and not by a professional group. Rooms are very spacious and very good. Bathroom is also very big. In this property they have only 8 rooms. It is nestled inside big trees and spice plantation. So the ambiance is very good especially in the morning. But the breakfast is too simple and the restaurant space is also very small. Overall experience was good but considering the value expectations were bit higher. Food quality was good but very costly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAUSIKDAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

nice & beautiful place having calm & peaceful atmosphere. cottages are beautifully made. There needs the concern of safety w.r.t to forest area behind.food quality very good but little costly. Manpower Nos needs increase.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Jitendar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just stayed here for 2 nights with two of my girl friends in Oct 2013. This is one of the beautiful places I've stayed at. We were welcomed by the General Manager and were served delicious spiced tea (made with their own receipe and seasoned with spices and ginger grown on their farm). The cottages are very well built and decorated with quality building materials and the whole property including the cottages and the grounds are well maintained and very clean - very high ceiling, huge size, very comfortable with a big bed and nice sitting area for hanging out. The 360 degrees view at the lookout view point during the sunrise was breathtaking. Very peaceful, comfortable, and extremely refreshing place to stay along with nature. You can sit and listen to the birds while the sun comes up and walk around the ground to see monkeys and beautiful plants and flowers. You can also visit their spice and vegetable gardens in the back part of the property. Miles and miles of the view of rolling hills and tea gardens in the cloud makes you really feel like you are in God's own country indeed! During the evening, the clouds and fog tends to roll in but if you are lucky, you get a clear view during dusk and a clear night sky to see the moon. All the staff is very well trained, very polite, responsive and helpful. The food was DELICIOUS! The breakfast was really good and plentyful. We had dinner for 2 nights and they were our best meals in Kerela - all the ingredients were fresh from their farm including fresh vegetables, spices, and ginger. Very tasty and great service. The General Manager is very kind and even offer us a tour of the main farm house to see where they kept and dried their freshly grown cardamom on the 2nd and 3rd floor of the main farm house - the big storage room was heated by firewoods and it's fun to see how the traditional drying process is like. This place is definitely worth it and I would highly recommend everyone to experience this amazing place!! One of the best places I have stayed at in the world and I've been to many resorts and B&B stay around the world. Refreshing stay for your body, mind, spirit, and soul. 5+ stars!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 111Lovetotravel_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.7 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 14 in Chithirapuram
944 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#2 of 8 in Pothamedu
721 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
539 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#1 of 14 in Chithirapuram
551 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#2 of 14 in Chithirapuram
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambady Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambady Estate

Address: 3rd Mile, Pallivasal P O, Chithirapuram | Pallivasal, Munnar 685565, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 164 Specialty Lodging in Munnar
Price Range: $79 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambady Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Ambady Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing