We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE STAY BUT REQUIRE SOME IMPROVEMENT”
Review of Ambady Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambady Estate
Ranked #2 of 164 Specialty Lodging in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Hotel is on a total 70 acre out of which for resort purpose only 15 acres has been used. We reached there in the evening. No light in the entrance from the main road which caused problem in locating the hotel. From main road you have to go up near about 700 meters to reach the reception and this road should also be made good. Welcome drink was very good but the reception should be more spacious. From the reception itself you can gauge that this is a family run hotel and not by a professional group. Rooms are very spacious and very good. Bathroom is also very big. In this property they have only 8 rooms. It is nestled inside big trees and spice plantation. So the ambiance is very good especially in the morning. But the breakfast is too simple and the restaurant space is also very small. Overall experience was good but considering the value expectations were bit higher. Food quality was good but very costly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAUSIKDAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for Ambady Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 196 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

nice & beautiful place having calm & peaceful atmosphere. cottages are beautifully made. There needs the concern of safety w.r.t to forest area behind.food quality very good but little costly. Manpower Nos needs increase.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Jitendar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just stayed here for 2 nights with two of my girl friends in Oct 2013. This is one of the beautiful places I've stayed at. We were welcomed by the General Manager and were served delicious spiced tea (made with their own receipe and seasoned with spices and ginger grown on their farm). The cottages are very well built and decorated with quality building materials and the whole property including the cottages and the grounds are well maintained and very clean - very high ceiling, huge size, very comfortable with a big bed and nice sitting area for hanging out. The 360 degrees view at the lookout view point during the sunrise was breathtaking. Very peaceful, comfortable, and extremely refreshing place to stay along with nature. You can sit and listen to the birds while the sun comes up and walk around the ground to see monkeys and beautiful plants and flowers. You can also visit their spice and vegetable gardens in the back part of the property. Miles and miles of the view of rolling hills and tea gardens in the cloud makes you really feel like you are in God's own country indeed! During the evening, the clouds and fog tends to roll in but if you are lucky, you get a clear view during dusk and a clear night sky to see the moon. All the staff is very well trained, very polite, responsive and helpful. The food was DELICIOUS! The breakfast was really good and plentyful. We had dinner for 2 nights and they were our best meals in Kerela - all the ingredients were fresh from their farm including fresh vegetables, spices, and ginger. Very tasty and great service. The General Manager is very kind and even offer us a tour of the main farm house to see where they kept and dried their freshly grown cardamom on the 2nd and 3rd floor of the main farm house - the big storage room was heated by firewoods and it's fun to see how the traditional drying process is like. This place is definitely worth it and I would highly recommend everyone to experience this amazing place!! One of the best places I have stayed at in the world and I've been to many resorts and B&B stay around the world. Refreshing stay for your body, mind, spirit, and soul. 5+ stars!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 111Lovetotravel_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

though I like the location, i feel its little costly and food is too expensive and we don't have any other option expect to order the food from their restaurant. service is average. I really like the food which is tasty(but expensive) and location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Satish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

we, me n my mother went here in last Deevali Vacation... it's so beautiful n peaceful.. cottages were so big a full of all amenities.. we spend 2 days n 3 nights at this place.. staff was really sincere n polite n always try to make us comfortable as we have been out for holidays first time.. food quality was simply amazing.. we enjoyed the walk on the hill.. casual rain was also making our stay more enjoyable... will definitely visit here again for our next Kerala tour...

Room Tip: choose any room.. you will be happy...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SANJAY2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here in Aug 2013 and booked this property because we wanted to stay away from the city. The three days spent here were amazing. The staff is very well trained, polite and super efficient. The cottages are very beautiful and have all the facilities.
We loved the food here, it was fresh, delicious and home cooked. The cardamom plantation visit was the best part of the stay. The plantation is spread over the hill side and it was great fun wondering around the thickly planted estate. The manager Mr. Shyam was very helpful and made sure our stay was most comfortable. I recommended this property to a friend who visited one week after us and had the same experience. I would strongly recommend this place for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Try and get the D or C row rooms, they have better view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Drprasadraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

A charming place, right in nature, where you will feel away from the world. Dr Rajesh, the owner and his family, Mr Shyam, the manager and the staff, everybody is there to make your stay enjoyable. The cottages are spacious and quiet... You will have a wonderful sleep after walking in the hills..Food is excellent and the choice of wines surprising in this place! Perfect for rest and stay with family to discover the full aera!

Room Tip: You can choose any cottage... They are all same, and view mostly same from all...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Indira78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.7 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 14 in Chithirapuram
944 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#2 of 8 in Pothamedu
721 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
539 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#1 of 14 in Chithirapuram
551 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#2 of 14 in Chithirapuram
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambady Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambady Estate

Address: 3rd Mile, Pallivasal P O, Chithirapuram | Pallivasal, Munnar 685565, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 164 Specialty Lodging in Munnar
Price Range: $79 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambady Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Ambady Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing