We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked away from a possible view”
Review of Ambady Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambady Estate
Ranked #3 of 197 Specialty Lodging in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2012

This is a beautiful part of the world! High up and away from the permeating smoke coal fires of India.It was a death defying drive to get up there. Thick traffic both ways vying for space in the one and a half to two lanes of connected blind curves going around the mountain. This used to be a cardamon farm. It was disappointing to me that there was no view of the tea estates cascading down the mountain. Unhappily recorded and drumming sounds from another resort came up the mountain disrupting the peace. The room was clean and fine but had no style. It seemed sort of Danish modern when a bit of colonial English might have been nice. The food was good. Getting out into the area was quite wonderful. I didn't see a wild elephant.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SageParsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 206 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

The place was in a lovely location a 10mim drive from the centre, away from everything so you will need a driver. Rooms were large and clean, bathroom was fine and we are fussy on this aspect. Nice small restaurant provided lovely food great fish, however note the serving times are slow and better to place your order 45 mins ahead of time. There is nothing to do here except the scenery and tranquility of the plantation. Overall lovely stay for a short break.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SV195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Very beautiful surroundings, spacious and comfortable rooms,excellent service and food. It's a place where you would like to stay on and on.The manager and staff were very friendly and co operative. I will highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ariframpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We stayed here at the end of November and found the rooms to be clean, well appointed and had everything we needed. Of course the water pressure could have been better in the shower but this is something we experienced throughout our stay in India, so not only this place. The staff couldn't do enough for us and the manager even helped us through the very extensive menu, as there were lots of unfamiliar things there. The food was excellent, and even when we opted for the familiar eggs at breakfast we were offered some traditional food to try as well which we really appreciated, must have the crispy fried veg as an entree, it was REALLY good !!We were a bit sorry we didn't have time to explore more of the surroundings but it would be great if we could get back there soon.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Being in the same industry at Australia,I like the concept followed at this property.The room are massive and spacious.the service provided was also great.The walking tracks and the activities are amazing.Exploring the plantation was the highlight of our stay.the food was also good.we will come back for sure and highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aswinkn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I had great expectations of this place but we were all rather disappointed. The rooms were rather shabby (the curtain fell down in the bathroom when I drew it) and there were cobwebs in the shower. The keyrings were made of the thinnest wire imaginable, my key fell off and luckily I saw it. My friends were not so lucky and it turned out there was no spare key. After searching in the dark for half an hour, the staff broke in through the window. One of my fellow travellers (who is a chief health inspector) saw the kitchen and was not happy with the standard of cleanliness.
On the upside, the gardens were very nice and the food was quite nice too (quite nice but not fantastic). Not the highlight of our trip and I wouldn't bother to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julietyjuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Carefully mantained small homestay. Cozy, clean, new cabins, nicly furnitured with beautiful view over the valley. Very friendly owners and staff look after your comfort. Indian and Continental breakfast. The cabins are located in the beautifule, quiet nature in the tea plantations of Munnar.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s_butti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.7 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 15 in Chithirapuram
1,071 reviews
17.1 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
547 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#2 of 8 in Pothamedu
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
0.9 mi away
The Panoramic Getaway
The Panoramic Getaway
#5 of 15 in Chithirapuram
422 reviews
2.8 mi away
Abad Copper Castle Hill Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambady Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambady Estate

Address: 3rd Mile, Pallivasal P O, Chithirapuram | Pallivasal, Munnar 685565, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 197 Specialty Lodging in Munnar
Price Range: $139 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambady Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambady Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing