We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, Five Stars”
Review of Royal Mist

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munnar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Mist
Ranked #1 of 181 Munnar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yes, Five Stars”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

My daughter and I just returned from 2 weeks in Kerala. Our Royal Mist home stay with Jeeva and Anil and their sweet helper, Alphonsa, was just lovely. These are truly warm people, folks: welcoming from the soul. I had made an error with my booking dates, but the family still managed to accommodate us with every amenity. The room itself was immaculate and very comfortably appointed, meals were very nice and served on the restful veranda just outside the guest rooms. Attention has been paid to every small detail at this handsome home stay, which is a short walk from a stunning tea plantation and spice farm. Anil walked us all around, giving us the benefit of his extensive knowledge of the history, culture and topography of the area. My daughter was fascinated with the gorgeous flowering plants and fruit trees that Jeeva has planted all around the Royal Mist property. We asked a million questions, and I don't believe Anil ever lost his warm smile, or happy persona for one minute of our interaction. Jeeva was the same, always checking for our comfort and happy to accommodate our wishes any way possible. We had come with a driver and car, so all of Munnar's attractions were very accessible. Being closer to Munnar proper would not have been an advantage, as we would have missed the chance to experience some genuine Kerala hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bkschulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
87
298
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Munnar is my favorite place I have visited during my month long trip in India. Royal Mist definitly made my experience wonderful. I don't know where to start... First of all I have to say Anil and Jeeva (the hosts) are probably the kindest and most genuine people I have met in my life. They always granted our wishes and made sure we felt like we were at home. They were super informative and recommended us activites to do during our stay. We got complimentary tea, water bottles, cookies, fruits, etc. The food was wonderful (choice of vedge or non vedge) and there were always fresh fruits for dessert. We actually ate breakfast and dinner there during our whole stay in Munnar.
The room was neat and comfortable. I loved the outdoors dining area. Perfect place to end the day with a cup of tea.
Do not look elsewhere, Royal Mist is the place to be.
(How poetic am I?)
Definitly go on the long 4h trek in the mountains recommended by Anil. The views are absolutely breathtaking.
I could go on and on and on....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellepham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

This home stay is completely flawless. Anil and Jeeva are incredible, cheery people for whom nothing is ever too much trouble. It felt like staying with friends. After a 5 hour bus ride to the location, they ensured we made it to the location with numerous phone calls back and forth. When we arrived they fed us delicious cookies and the fresh tea was flowing our entire stay. The breakfasts were HUGE - and the dinners requested were always fresh and delicious.Anil took us walking through the tea plantations, and showed us everything from coffee beans to bananas in their natural state. They recommended an excellent tea making tour, and after everything we did they would be waiting with cookies and tea. We would sit around and chat about the day, ourselves and the area of Munnar. The place itself was beautiful and comfortable - from a lovely hot shower to beautiful bed sheets. My partner and I were truly sad to leave this amazing place!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightlingsea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Having stayed in many homestays throughout India this one most definitely ranks as one of the very best. Fantastic food and hospitality made our stay very memorable. The treks in the surrounding countryside is a must. Thank you Anil and Jeeva we will return. ps the mango pickle was a 10 out of 10.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed in Royal Mist for 3 nights during Easter. From the moment we arrived, we were warmly welcomed by Anil & Jeeva. They are without doubt the best hosts I've ever stayed with. The rooms are clean and cozy. The bathrooms and showers are very nice. The food is excellent, and Anil & Jeeva are very flexible with regards to dinner time, special food wishes, level of spicyness etc.
Anil helped us with arranging a very nice hike on the ridge of one of the mountains overlooking Munnar, and he also took us for a short walk around the guesthouse.
I would recommend everyone to stay with Anil & Jeeva. The service is the best I've ever experienced!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I have stayed with Anil and his wife on 3 or 4 occasions, the latest during the fall of 2013. After arriving at the homestay, you are always greeted warmly and Anil will usually chat with you about him and his family and be genuinely interested in your background and experiences as well. There are three rooms in the homestay, all on the upper level with a balcony outside as a common area/dinner area. Most of the times I have been there we have been the only ones at the homestay that night (as we were usually traveling during off-peak tourist season) and had a very relaxing experience.

The food that is prepared by Anil's wife and cook/housekeeper is out of this world. For a small extra fee they will prepare dinner for you (and arrange for beer or wine as well at your cost, but the convenience of not having to worry about it is excellent) and then breakfast is included.

If traveling with friends or as a couple, the balcony can be a great place to just sit and take in nature. We have taken a guitar along in the past and played on the balcony well into the night amidst deep philosophical discussion.

The morning sunrise is something not to be missed as the the light of day infiltrates the tree carpeted valley you overlook. Only in Wayanad (Northern Kerala) and on Diamond Head volcano in Hawaii have I experienced such breathtaking beauty with the morning sunrise.

All in all I would recommend Anil's homestay in a heartbeat and hope that you will consider his homestay in the future as well.

Room Tip: There is one room situated by itself and two rooms that share a common entrance into a small foyer a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josha303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I still talk about Anil and Jeeva 3 months on from our brilliant stay with them. They were the friendliest hosts we've had in our 5.5 months away in Asia and shared such interesting insights into life in Kerala, and India more generally.

The surrounding areas are beautiful and Anil took the time to show us round the nearby tea plantation which was so lovely. Home-cooked food was really nice and we loved our daily chai on the terrace.

We could have stayed longer (actually got lumps in our throats as we left, which we DO not do, how embarrassing) and would gladly welcome them into our own home if they ever came to London.

Best homestay ever.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cheesepls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.1 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#3 of 14 in Chithirapuram
869 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 14 in Chithirapuram
488 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#1 of 14 in Chithirapuram
949 reviews
16.9 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
528 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kaivalyam Retreat
Kaivalyam Retreat
#2 of 181 in Munnar
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mist

Property: Royal Mist
Address: Chithirapuram P.O., Munnar 685565, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10km from Munnar town, down winding hilltop roads with spectacular views, Royal Mist Homestay is owned by Mr. Anil and his family. This particularly close knit family with two children aged 13and 18 are incredibly hospitable, welcoming guests as part of the family, whilst allowing them as much independence as they desire. The separate area of the guests' rooms occupies the top floor of this modern house with an upstairs terrace, which looks out onto the valley and hills extending into the distance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Mist Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing