We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fanstic stay with Anil and Jeeva”
Review of Royal Mist

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munnar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Mist
Ranked #1 of 207 Munnar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had a wonderful week in Kerala, but spending time with Anil and Jeeva was a highlight. Our first evening involved Anil's famous evening walk around the neighborhood. He and his son pointed out lots of crops and birds, which made it fascinating. We loved Jeeva's home cooking, and the next evening she patiently hosted us in her kitchen and explained all the steps while she prepared half a dozen dishes. Also a huge pleasure was sitting with the family on the large balcony and chatting about life in Kerala. We had tons of questions about arranged marriages and Anil and Jeeva made it memorable as they showed us the newspaper marriage ads and patiently decoded the acroymns and castes for us.

Anil and Jeeva are a huge pleasure to spend time with. A homestay with them is so much more than a clean room, good meals and helpful service; it is a charming connection with a wonderful family. Their set up with the large shared balcony and chance to eat meals with other guests also made it very easy to get to know another couple who was staying there, and Liam and Charmaine were lovely company. Altogether, this was a really sociable, memorable and warm visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 531 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had an amazing time at royal mist and in Munnar. we wish we had stayed longer.
Anil and his family are amazing, if you get the option to eat at home his wife is a fantastic cook!!!
i would definatly recomend that you stay here, with evening walks through the tea plantations and it is very easy to get around to top station, the main town and national park.
It is around 10km from the main twown, but with the views the rooms offer why would you want to stay any where else.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

What a fantastic place to lay your head,
The rooms all clean and fresh, we had teenage children with us who are hard to please , and they loved it, the curries cooked were something else, and the fruits delicious,
We even had some washing done for us while there, and all done with a smile ,
The balcony is a great place to chill and eat breakfast,They seamed really happy to have visitors to there home, will recomend higlly so much so that we are going back there

Room Tip: all rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smut1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was the first home stay we'd ever stayed at. The setting was lovely (spectacular views from the terrace where we had our meals), the food fantastic (we even had a demonstration!) and the hosts were genuinly friendly, welcoming and attentive, the perfect hosts! Must stay if in the area!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisparks81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We have stayed there 2 nights and if it would have been possible we would have spent much more time there. Room was perfect: very clean, comfortable bed, not huge room but big enough, hot water available... The terrace where meals are served has a very nice view and is an ideal place to cool down after a day of trek or visits.
But the best point of this Homestay is that you feel like home: Anil and Jeeva makes everything in order for you to feel comfortable. From the first second of our stay to the last one they did not stop smiling and not from a fake commercial smile but from a real smile coming from heart. They gave us advice on what to do what not to do, they booked for us rickshaw and taxi to go to Kumily (in both cases they were good and very professional drivers at standard rates), they cooked for us wonderful chicken curry, they bought us the fruits we had taste for, Anil who know very well the surroundings took his time to make a walk in the middle of the tea plantation and explain us about spices, tea, animals...
In conclusion I will definitely recommend this place, I do not see how you could be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had a fantastic time staying in this great homestay. Anil and Jeeva couldn't do enough to help us and really made us feel welcome. They helped us organise an excellent trek into the mountains and were always on hand to offer advice or tips about what to see and do.

Jeeva's cooking was fantastic, and we especially enjoyed our cooking lesson from her. Anil's tour of the area near the house was also great - he knows so much about the area and the spices that grow in it. After busy days it was absolute bliss to while away a few hours each evening watching the sun set over the misty mountains.

A fantastic few days in a beautiful part of the world, made all the better by the warn welcome we received.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SIan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Situated a few kilometres from Munnar town, Royal Mist was a wonderful place to base ourselves whilst visiting the nearby attractions. The rooms were clean and comfortable, with decent wifi and a tv. The veranda where meals were taken was such a beautiful place to sit and relax. That we weren't actually situated in Munnar town was ideal - we went into Munnar town once and it was dirty, noisy and ugly. This does mean that you are quite limited in places to eat, but the food at Royal Mist was so good this was not a problem.

However it was the hosts that made this homestay truly special. Anil and Jeeva and their family were so wonderful that it was an absolute pleasure and privilege to stay with them. Another reviewer commented that they strike the right balance between making you feel at home and not intruding and I couldn't agree more. Prior to arrival I found the booking to be very easy, and any emails were responded to promptly. They arranged a taxi to pick us up from Cochin, and after we got used to the Indian style of driving we realised that our driver (Jopi) was actually very safe. When we arrived and settled into our room and had a cup of tea and some biscuits, Anil and Jeeva came up to help us plan our stay in Munnar. Anil gave us impartial advice as to what he recommended, and organised a tuk-tuk for the day to drive us around the various sites. Jeeva asked us if there was any food we didn't like, how spicy we like our food, whether we wanted veg or non veg, what time we would like it etc. As mentioned above, the food was delicious - after suffering a bout of Delhi Belly whilst in Cochin my appetite returned with a vengeance and luckily there was plenty of amazing food to help sate this! Beer could also be provided at a very reasonable price - they probably needed to restock after our visit though! The sunset walk we did with Anil and his daughter was a highlight - it was a good opportunity to ask lots of questions we had about Indian culture and issues, and Anil was very engaging and was very knowledgeable. Also a special mention should go to the maid Alphonse, who always brought our food or tea up with a smile.

We were so sad to leave, and if we will ever be in South India again then we'll definitely go back there. I'd recommend Royal Mist to anyone who heading to Munnar.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sionos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.1 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 15 in Chithirapuram
1,075 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#3 of 15 in Chithirapuram
681 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#2 of 8 in Pothamedu
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
1.4 mi away
Kaivalyam Retreat
Kaivalyam Retreat
#3 of 207 in Munnar
705 reviews
8.1 mi away
Neelakurunji Luxury Plantation Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mist

Address: Chithirapuram P.O., Munnar 685565, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 207 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range: $94 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10km from Munnar town, down winding hilltop roads with spectacular views, Royal Mist Homestay is owned by Mr. Anil and his family. This particularly close knit family with two children aged 14 and 19 are incredibly hospitable, welcoming guests as part of the family, whilst allowing them as much independence as they desire. The separate area of the guests' rooms occupies the top floor of this modern house with an upstairs terrace, which looks out onto the valley and hills extending into the distance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Mist Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing