We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Garden, Services, Room Cleanliness are good than expected.”
Review of Royal Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Retreat
Ranked #73 of 98 Hotels in Munnar
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
“Location, Garden, Services, Room Cleanliness are good than expected.”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Garden View in front of room is the best part along with small kids rides.

Restaurant's Food was nice.

Good Services.
Mattress Provided is good then expected.
Room interior was fine.
Bathrooms are well cleaned.

Room Services are better than expected. Hotel staff stays on commitment.
No false commitment.

One Problem was there of TV cable. That was not working properly.
Please check that. So, that it can be converted into best place.

All over good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rishugoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalRetreatMunnar, Manager at Royal Retreat, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
dear guest,

we are happy to know that, you had very comfortable, pleasant stay and good dining at our hotel. we would sincerely thank you for having chosen our hotel for your stay and also for having taken your precious time and the time to post your review in Trip Advisor.

the problem you pointed out was with local cable operator and we had worked together to clear problem with cable tv signals down-link to hotel. now its working perfectly good.

We look forward to meeting you again in the near future.
with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
27
29
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Surat, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Royal Retreat is just near to KSRTC Bus Stand and it has a beautiful garden where we can spend the wonderful evenings with the family. Its quite a big garden, We stayed here for three days during Diwali Vacation 2013. The view from our room was excellent. The sunrise in the morning, The fog that covered the grass and the flowers in the garden. we loved to walk in the morning.

During our stay we had a wonderful experience. The restaurant is quit good, the food that is served is very nice. Service is also good. Rooms are well accomodated with all the facilities and it faces the Garden front side.

The hotel is around Two kilometers from the town but the roads are not good ,
Shopping in the evening is quit plesant here and we loved to roam about.

All in all i can say that this is a beautiful place to stay in.
We really enjoyed our stay at Royal Retreat.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardson_kunju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalRetreatMunnar, Manager at Royal Retreat, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
dear guest,
We thank you for your overview of our hotel with pros and cons posted in the Trip Advisor.

We honestly believe that it is our customers' feedback that helps us to improvise on our services and really welcome your feedback. While taking your positive feedback on board, we reiterate that we would consistently continue to strive hard in our commitment and dedication towards our customers’ satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three nights and would surely like to be back another time. Rooms were comfortable and food was good too. they have a nice garden and kids loved to be there. The hotel is only around two kilometers from town but reaching the hotel was difficult due to damaged highway roads.Sightseeing in munnar is difficult and had to be in vehicle for hours.
spending time in the garden was our favourite. Service was good though slow. it would have been better if some more entertainment facilities were there to spend time with. There is a beautiful river behind the hotel and a park in walkable distance . On the whole we loved our trip to Munnar

Room Tip: 'Rooms with garden view '
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neeraj2444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalRetreatMunnar, Manager at Royal Retreat, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
dear guest
thank you very much for your kind interested to review our property with extreme appreciations. we will keep our services in a high standard for all our customers
thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Since Royal Retreat is walking distance from Zina Cottage, where I stayed during my visit in Munnar, my friends and I decided to go for an early dinner to Royal Retreat.

We were the only patrons when we walked into Royal Retreat's restaurant for dinner at 6 PM. Regardless of being the only ones there, our food took quite a while to arrive.

The beef fry and chicken curry were tasty and worth the wait. However they didn't have any fish, which was disappointing and I sent back the vegetarian dish I had ordered because it looked nothing like it should have.

Our server was courteous; the food - good beef, chicken was a little tough and veg dish was horrendous, so overall I'd say OK; prices are cheap-moderate and the place has a pleasing ambiance. All in all, of the restaurant options available close to Munnar's city center, this is one of the better ones.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazel_c719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalRetreatMunnar, Manager at Royal Retreat, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
dear guest,
thank you very much for your interest shown towards our property review in TripAdvisor. We are very much keen about the comments from esteemed guest like you. also we have noted down the suggestions on restaurant and food.
thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I cannot tell you in enough words how disappointed I was upon arriving at this hotel with great expectations after having seen their web site.... True, a picture is worth ten thousand words, and equally true, it can lie royally!!!

Staff: very courteous. Will say yes to everything. "Yes Sir. In two minutes Sir." Go back to the front desk again after half hour to find what happened to your request.. "Sending it to your room in two minutes sir!" This was for towels. After third request I decided to stay at the front desk until I got a towel. Yes, I got one. A wet one! Reason? "Sir it rained whole day yesterday, there was no sun to dry it!"

Noise: Unbelievable. From neighboring rooms, kids playing cricket right outside your door and any number of requests or complaints to the front desk will bring no relief. As if their training is not to say no to anything. ( at the same time you don't have to execute!)

Need to mention other things. Just try some other place and don't be taken away with the pictures on the web...

Room Tip: You might be better off without a room at this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank egleview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalRetreatMunnar, Manager at Royal Retreat, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
dear guest,
first of all sorry for what was happened, We enquired the matter with our housekeeping department and they agreed that the this is only an accident happened on that day. Anyway we feel very much sorry for the trouble you come across due to the wet towel matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munnar hotels

Kolenchery, Kerala, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

this is located in munnar town itself. Its a good hotel. they have a good garden. The staff of the hotel is very helpful especially the manager. Food is ok. I had stayed in a suite room, which is really superb. Its just next to KSRTC stand....

Room Tip: suite rooms are good.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajayjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalRetreatMunnar, Manager at Royal Retreat, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
dear guest,
thank you very much for putting your valuable time to review the hotel. we will always keep our standards according to the guest preferences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed here with my family for 2 nights. This is a few hundred meters from the center of the town and we did not mind it as as we were travelling in our vehicle. The staff were very courteous and helpful and the rooms were also spacious and decent. There was some park/play area in the front with nice flowers and some hammocks. The kids enjoyed playing there. This was located right next to the hydel park which my kids loved visiting in the evenings.

The food in the restaurant was very good and was decently priced and the restaurant staff were courteous and helpful. Overall, Very good value for money and I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Take the rooms facing the park area. I enjoyed taking my morning tea and walking there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalRetreatMunnar, General Manager at Royal Retreat, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear guest, thanks for your feedback about comfortable stay at our hotel. We encourage all types of review which makes us more responsible. thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hillview Munnar
Hillview Munnar
#38 of 98 in Munnar
481 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Emerald Inn
Hotel Emerald Inn
#69 of 98 in Munnar
149 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bellmount Resorts
Bellmount Resorts
#53 of 98 in Munnar
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Poopada Resort
Poopada Resort
#75 of 98 in Munnar
124 reviews
4.8 mi away
Season7, The Nature Resort
Season7, The Nature Resort
#7 of 14 in Chithirapuram
125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Retreat

Property: Royal Retreat
Address: Kannan Devan Hills | AM Road, Near KSRTC Bus Station, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 98 Hotels in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Retreat is a 16 room private hotel built in 1988; it is located at Aluva -Munnar Road, and just a walk away from the Blossom gardens. What makes the hotel unique is its location unlike the hotels near and around Tea gardens, Royal Retreat is built like a set of cottages with an amazing garden in front, all major tourist attractions are only a stone throwaway. The feel is very cozy and personal. The hotel rooms are spacious with large windows, classic hardwood furniture and tasteful colors. Most rooms have temple view across our very popular garden adding to the sense of peace and tranquility you will experience here. The elegantly designed MULTI CUSINE RESTURANT which serves traditional, continental and Chinese cuisines has soothing interiors and a quiet ambiance, allowing you to enjoy your meal in peace and comfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Retreat Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing