We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to spend with family”
Review of Royal Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Retreat
Ranked #74 of 103 Hotels in Munnar
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Our first trip to Munnar has been a blast,thanks to Royal Retreat. Firstly we went there without booking and that too wanted the rooms for a night.The hotel staff were very accomodative and arranged two rooms and that too for a concession.Secondly,the location is amazing.We could go for a lesuirely walk into the tea gardens in the morning.Their lawn too is very well kept and I loved the cleanliness of the rooms and the baths.So much did we like our rooms that we stayed there for two more days.:)

Room Tip: check with the restaurant timings beforehand or you'll have to go great distances for good food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Usha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 78 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

It was my first time to Munnar & my office people have booked this hotel for my travel. There are lots of things due to which one should not stay here:

1. They claim for Internet service: They dont have any internet service working. When I queried on how to get the access, they said my Laptop's Wifi card not compatible with their Net. :-D it was too funny to hear it.

2. Rooms are not Clean: Room that I got was completely messy, It seemed like someone just has vacated it and no room service was done afterwards. After an Hour of Waiting I got the Room, This room also had stinking smell in it. I asked for room freshener which wasnt available with them. I went out and bought for myself.

3. View from Room: Munnar is famous for Views. But if you stay here you will be just able to see the wall of the other building.

4. Restaurant: Poor Quality, Poor Service. They dont even have waiters who could understand english.

5. Support Staff: No one is coperative. For them they are right and Guests are wrong. Once you checkin, You have came to prison :D

Room Tip: Walk on the road and check for better hotel in main town munnar. I had to leave Munnar in 1 day as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SamK557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Terrible food, dirty linen, dirty towels and dirty carpets were the experiences. Understaffed place with very little focus on hygine. Restaurant also very bad. Not recommened at all. Good lawn and reasonable location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karbhari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

The Royal Retreat is well located for exploring the beautifully scenic area all around Munnar and tea country.
The first snag was that even though I had agreed the room rate and type three times before setting off from England, and I had e mailed to confirm, neither the room, nor the agreed rate were honoured and we ended up paying much more than originally agree,d for an inferior room!! Not a good start!!

The staff tried really hard to make our stay as pleasant as possible, and the room was ok, but they are let down by ineffective management.

The restaurant lacks any sort of ambience with dingy, frayed and tatty furniture and bare walls which was like eating inside a prison, but the food was really good and the staff though a bit slow, tried really hard and were very friendly and helpful. A lot of the printed menu was unavailable, even fresh friut which is strange as we wee in the garden of Eden!

Our stay was marred though by the fact that it seemed that a whole coach load of Indan tourists with about 20 children were camped in the next room to ours, and it was so noisy it was ridiculous!!

We very rarely complain when staying anywhere, but there was no chance of getting any sleep at all, so we had to complain twice before any action was taken to quiten things down a bit, but it all started up again really early the next morning.

Thois was a shame as it spoiled our stay there, and you do need your sleep after a tea estate trek!

To sum up. it is a reasonably nice Hotel in a good location, but there are definitely better options within this budget price, and although the staff tried really hard, the management is palpably lacking.

Room Tip: Check whether you are next to a large family as there didnt seem to be any limit on numbers allowed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Its a good place to stay. Value for money but in-house restaurant is horrible.
For everything, they take 1 hour to prepare even if you pre-order 30. min before you land to eat.

Food was average. Expected some local dishes but found none.
We ended up going next door restaurant

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller2012_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We had visited this resort after going through all the reviews on Trip Advisor. The Hotel turned out to be real good. We had taken up a Deluxe room facing the lawn. The rooms were cozy and the lawn was well maintained. The hotel people were also helpful. The food was good and value for money.

Room Tip: Try not choosing a room facing the waste water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prynkray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed in the hotel for two days between 19th and 20th Dec 2011. Hotel has a very good lawn, small garden with enough seating place for spending quality time with family. Location, though little away from town, is good. Rooms were spacious.
The only thing that goes against is the restaurant service, which is very slow. Be prepared to wait for 25-30 minutes for your order to be served.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms facing towards a waste water stream. But those gives warm sun shine in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.0 mi away
Hillview Munnar
Hillview Munnar
#37 of 103 in Munnar
486 reviews
0.6 mi away
Poopada Resort
Poopada Resort
#77 of 103 in Munnar
124 reviews
4.8 mi away
Season7, The Nature Resort
Season7, The Nature Resort
#7 of 15 in Chithirapuram
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bellmount Resorts
Bellmount Resorts
#47 of 103 in Munnar
347 reviews
31.4 mi away
Spice Garden Resort
Spice Garden Resort
#61 of 103 in Munnar
58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Plaza Munnar
Grand Plaza Munnar
#19 of 103 in Munnar
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Retreat

Address: Kannan Devan Hills | AM Road, Near KSRTC Bus Station, Munnar 685612, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 103 Hotels in Munnar
Price Range: $36 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Retreat is a 16 room private hotel built in 1988; it is located at Aluva -Munnar Road, and just a walk away from the Blossom gardens. What makes the hotel unique is its location unlike the hotels near and around Tea gardens, Royal Retreat is built like a set of cottages with an amazing garden in front, all major tourist attractions are only a stone throwaway. The feel is very cozy and personal. The hotel rooms are spacious with large windows, classic hardwood furniture and tasteful colors. Most rooms have temple view across our very popular garden adding to the sense of peace and tranquility you will experience here. The elegantly designed MULTI CUSINE RESTURANT which serves traditional, continental and Chinese cuisines has soothing interiors and a quiet ambiance, allowing you to enjoy your meal in peace and comfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Retreat Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing